computer

SSL for custom domains and Woocommerce Coming soon

SSL for custom domains hosted by WordPress.com is good news. Another good news item is that e-commerce improvements are in the works.

SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) certificates are an integral part of website security. A site’s SSL certificate enables you to encrypt the data you send, such as credit card information, names, addresses and other sensitive personal information so it can’t be accessed by hackers and phishers. Why use HTTPS.

Last year SSL security when was implemented the visible change to blogs on .wordpress.com subdomains was the change to the https:// URL prefix rather than the http:// prefix.

This year the same SSL connection encryption is being rolled out for blogs on custom domains.

This week 3 WordPress.COM e-commerce options for sites with Business upgrades were retired.

We are working on integrating a superior e-commerce option for our users, but the timetable for that implementation is uncertain.

WooCommerce is a WordPress plugin that lets site owners turn their self-hosted WordPress website into an online store. In May of 2015 WordPress.com founder, Matt Mullenweg announced that Automattic bought the WooCommerce plugin to power ecommerce.

17 thoughts on “SSL for custom domains and Woocommerce Coming soon

  1. Interesting and good for us .com users.

    As for WooCommerce, that’s good for bloggers who need it and have the right theme.

    I suspect this is response by wordpress.com to get into same marketplace as existing e-commerce platforms for give theme choices, database-like capability for product display, searching, reserving and payment….such as D-Square and Shopify (latter is Canadian. Yay! which has headquarters in Ottawa). I’ve watched my partner install and use it to manage his son’s butcher and sandwich shop in Toronto. Dearie manages online book keeping in Vancouver… hooks up to Quicken, Turbo Tax. Does satistical/financial reports. It’s great…and yes, it helps that one is already wordpress user/blogging software with the concept of widgets (now in a lot of software).

    What do you think of this latest wordpress.com theme? I’m using it too. I tried toujours theme, but realized I would have to re-size all my featured header slide photos…just a drag.

  2. Thank you for sharing this good news Timethief. :)

    I may not use custom domains, but I have recommended that they use SSL for custom domains in the past; and so it is good that they are finally following that advice, and helping to improve security and privacy on the internet. 👍

    Also it is good that you made a post again, I was starting to wonder because it has been a while, and I see that you are experimenting with a new theme and a few other changes that make your blog look more modern and the text is easier to read (except for in the Archives and Categories widgets where the font and background are very light (faded) and hard to read for me maybe because of the colors used, but I am not sure but maybe the text in those widgets could be made darker to avoid them blending with the background color). ;)

    Keep up the good work,
    -John Jr

    1. Thanks for the feedback on the new theme. I do appreciate it.

      P.S. I’m sorry I left this comment unanswered before I began a digital detox. I have just returned to being online and will be offline again starting tomorrow for another 3 days.

  3. Thank you for this – there is lots I wouldn’t have seen otherwise.

    The potential for WP.com sites running Woocommerce is huge, and a disruptive force for good.

    1. Hi there David,
      We are in agreement. It will be interesting to see how this develops. Once the e-commerce option is in place I expect to see more migration to this platform. Thanks for commenting and the pingback too.

Comments are closed.