up and down escalator in mall

WordPress.COM and WordPress.ORG integration

It would seem there are plans aiming to integrate self hosted WordPress.ORG installs with WordPress.COM hosted blogs, as if they are hosted by WordPress.COM, when they aren’t.

Wouldn’t you WordPress.COM hosted bloggers just love to see the WordPress.COM Editors retire the Freshly Pressed posts page,  replace it with the Discover page and include the selections from tens (maybe hundreds)  of thousands sites that are not hosted by WordPress.COM?

I’m sure those with posts on self hosted WordPress.ORG sites would just love to gain traffic from the high SEO WordPress.COM  Staff selection Discovery page promotion but how about you as a WordPress.COM blogger? In terms of increased competition for traffic do you love ❤️ that idea?

Wouldn’t you WordPress.COM hosted bloggers just love to be faced with your posts competing for traffic with posts published on tens (maybe hundreds)  of thousands self hosted WordPress.ORG installs not only on the WordPress.COM Discovery page but also on the WordPress.COM Category and Tags pages?

I’m sure those with posts on self hosted WordPress.ORG sites would just love traffic from the high SEO wordpress.COM Categories and Tags pages but how about you as a WordPress.COM hosted blogger? In terms of increased competition for traffic do you love ❤️ that idea?

I do not love ❤️ either one.

I think that it would be unfair to WordPress.COM hosted bloggers for Staff to include any posts on the WordPress.COM Discovery page and WordPress.COM  Categories and Tags pages that are not published on sites hosted by WordPress.COM.

If you think that increased competition for traffic from sites that are not even hosted by WordPress.COM would be unfair, like I do, then prepare yourself for the worst because here it comes!

Here comes your 19th nervous break down.

timethief
November 26, 2015 at 5:00 pm comment on Discover: The Best Content Across WordPress
@Ben
Are you kidding me?
Why should we wordpress.COM hosted bloggers have to compete for traffic with posts on any self-hosted wordpress.ORG installs that are not hosted here? That’s not fair at all.
I sincerely hope that notion will be tossed where it belongs ie. directly into the rubbish bin.
I also sincerely hope that we wordpress.COM hosted bloggers won’t also be faced with having the posts from self hosted wordpress.ORG installs appearing on the wordpress.COM Category and Tags pages either because that wouldn’t be fair either.

designsimply
Staff
Oct 26, 2015, 1:24 PM

WordPress.com and WordPress.org are easy to mix up! If you want to be listed on WordPress.com, then you do need to be hosted on WordPress.com and it’s possible to setup hosting elsewhere. We’d like to include all Jetpack sites more inclusively in the Reader in the future too—we’re working toward that.

  • Be sure to read the rest of the thread.

There’s no doubt in my mind that many WordPress.com bloggers will not respond to any such integration by expressing appreciation for the additional competition for traffic with posts published on sites that are not hosted by wordpress.COM.

So after reading all the way to the end of that support forum thread let me know when you are scheduling your 19th nervous breakdown.

Interesting related reads:

Dance to Calypso

Note the WordPress.COM blogger feedback here WordPress.COM Editor Feedback and at new editor feedback and editor feedback.

How do you think about investing in feature development for WordPress.com, and how it affects WordPress as well?

When Matt considers where he wants to invest Automattic developer and designer time, he says he thinks of WordPress as a whole first, before considering specifics for WordPress.com. He’d rather see WordPress.com as a gateway to a self-hosted install. And whether someone stays on .com or moves to a self-hosted install, he wants to help ensure that their problems are solved.
Read the full article Interview with Automattic CEO, Matt Mullenweg, on Calypso and more

UPDATE: Now that I vented and I’ve sung a few ♫ Alleluia ♫ choruses at the very top of my range (I’m a mezzo-sporano) I am feeling much better. I’ve devoted a year to relearning everything I forgot about singing and it’s lifting my spirits. Also my passion for stand-up comedy has been re-ignited.

My favorite mezzo-sprano who has crossed over to pop recordings and folk songs and classical vocals from operatic arias is Sissel Kyrkjebø. And, yes I can hit all of the high notes you hear here.

For opera lovers ❤️

For those who do not love ❤️ opera

re: future wordpress projects

I’d love to see a WordPress Opera created and to have Robyn Okrant’s comedic brilliance featured in it.

23 thoughts on “WordPress.COM and WordPress.ORG integration

  1. Pretty much off topic here, but I’m so glad I stumbled in here somehow. I had previously followed you and enjoyed the information and explanations you provided. Then somehow you fell off of my follow list. Not sure how that happened. Did not recognize your new gravatar and the theme was different, but I’m sure glad I found you again.

    It took awhile to figure out how to get emails when you post, but finally found the little checkmark. The more obvious one was to sign up to get you in Reader, but I very rarely visit that. I’m wondering what happened to the “Follow” button that used to be up near the header.

    Anyway… it’s good to have you back (so to speak). I’ve been reading back in previous posts. I suspect I lucked out and missed much of the kerfuffle over the new Editor. Did hit some annoying glitches, but I seem to have gotten used to the new one at this point (other than not finding that “Follow” button maybe)? I think I could actually get to like the new Editor, or is that sacrilege? ;)

    1. You are never off-topic when posting here Gunta. I have only been publishing without obligation lately. I don’t publish by-weekly as I did for years anymore. :)

  2. Lovely to hear of your music. I love to listen to Choirs. I attend a Chroral mass every week and it is an hour of joy. No screens just listening to the Choir. On the subject of screens those new changes sound potentially disastrous. I don’t ❤️the sound of it at all. I am sick of PC and everything being framed so no one gets hurt feelings. I think we should start with “with respect” and then just say what we mean. PC is used too often as a tool to silence people. I think I will go listen to some music. I do ❤️that.

    1. Thanks so much for clicking through and learning a little more about me. I gave up many things when I fell down the blogging rabbit hole
      https://onecoolsite.wordpress.com/2014/07/14/for-the-love-of-blogging/
      but since the paramedics worked their magic on me https://onecoolsite.wordpress.com/2014/08/22/birthday-weekend/comment-page-1/
      I have once again taken up what I left behind.

      I’m so glad you like choral music. I sing in 3 choirs now and I love ❤ every minute of it. Nothing else lifts my spirit like singing does.

      I am sick of PC and everything being framed so no one gets hurt feelings. I think we should start with “with respect” and then just say what we mean. PC is used too often as a tool to silence people.

      I am with you on that. I can spot a passive aggressive who excels in manipulation of others under the guise of PC “niceness” anywhere. It’s amazing how many gutless wonders delude themselves about what they are really up to.

      I think I will go listen to some music. I do ❤️that.

      Good idea and I intend to do the same.

  3. I’d love to understand your concerns more fully, so I can pass them onto the team!

    From my perspective, it’s less about “integration”, and more about recognizing that, in the end, all WordPress bloggers are part of the same family.

    1. I think I have stated what the issue is from my point of view quite clearly. Lest I failed to do that I have edited this post over and over to provide more clarity, Chris.

      I do not now nor have I ever considered WordPress.COM and WordPress.ORG bloggers to be members of a single family.

      We WordPress.COM bloggers have always had to compete for traffic with self hosting WordPress.ORG bloggers and other sites hosted elsewhere in social networks but that’s not the issue.

      It’s my opinion that being compelled to compete for traffic with any posts that are not published on sites hosted by WordPress.COM on the WordPress.COM Discover page and/or on the WordPress.COM Categories and Tags pages goes beyond the pale.

      Why?

      I dare say that the majority of WordPress.com hosted bloggers are like me. They never attend any WordCamps and have no desire to attend them. They have not bonded and have not drank the company koolaid (no insult intended but don’t miss the message please). They do not feel like they are a part of one big WordPress family. Only those who have both WordPress.com and WordPress.org sites are likely to share that feeling. From: https://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/my-posts-do-not-show-up-in-reader-1?replies=19#post-2488349

      1. Thanks for your reply. I think I have a clearer understanding of your concerns, and that thread you linked is especially helpful.

        Including self-hosted WordPress posts en masse isn’t going to happen overnight, if at all, and it’s definitely something we want to be mindful of. Part of it has to do with what you say about preserving and respecting the community, and part is just to maintain and improve the reading experience.

        The central purpose behind things like Discover is to connect readers with bloggers, directing readers to work they might like but haven’t yet discovered, and helping to provide bloggers with a readership.

        My own suspicion is that we might expect more folks to *read* material using WordPress.com and our apps, as more and more great work is surfaced, so I wouldn’t expect folks to lose readership. The intention is to help increase exposure.

        But I do want to be clear, the feedback you’ve raised is super useful, and we have a team in place to monitor and address any such possible issues.

        1. Hi again Chris,

          I am glad you think my feedback is useful, rather than dissing it as just bitchy venting. I rarely vent but the course of the last two years of seemingly never ending changes coupled with the promotional blather about improving my blogging experience when they made my PC desktop blogging experience less pleasurable riled me up.

          The one big family spiel does not reflect my experience or how I feel at all.

          I’m heavily invested in the WordPress.COM community and I do love it. I did not feel invested in any community when self hosting WordPress.ORG install because I did not attend wordcamps and did not drink the corporate koolaid (no offence intended).

          Increasing exposure to more readers sounds so good for those who are seeking traffic, as I once did prior to last year. However, having my web host’s Staff feature and promote posts published on sites that are not also hosted here is not what I expected and I do not love ❤ it.

          Including self-hosted WordPress posts en masse isn’t going to happen overnight, if at all

          I know I ought not to be fixated on outcomes but for now I’ll hang my hat on the “if at all”. If the worst case scenario presents and posts from self hosted sites begin to appear on the WordPress.COM Categories and Tags pages, then I won’t develop the blog you reclaimed for me or the other private blogs I have material for. Instead I’ll delete them all and quietly leave.

  4. If they do that, the least they can do to help level the field some is to allow wordpress.com users to upload our own plug-ins. At least we can enter the ring with both hands free.

    1. I have no interest in running any additional plugins. The ones we have now are all I need. More to the point is that I have self hosted wordpress I know that most who post to the wordpress.com support forums and think they are being deprived of the ability to upload plugins don’t have a clue what they are on about.

      Blogger installed plugin capability does not exist on WordPress.COM blogs and there is no upgrade you can purchase here that changes that reality. For that type of functionality you’d need a free standing self-hosted WordPress.ORG software install running on a paid web hosting service. http://en.support.wordpress.com/ftp-access/

      Note the built-in plugins http://en.support.wordpress.com/plugins/ Well, Jetpack is a plugin used by WordPress.ORG bloggers to achieve parity with what we already have built in to WordPress.COM blogs.

      What’s essential is understanding that wordpress.com is a multi-user blogging platform. Here our blogs share a common architecture ans if bloggers here could install plugins all of our sites would be at risk. One bad plugin, and believe me when I say that there are many bad ones, could bring down many sites. In contrast self hosted wordpress.ORG installs are free standing so one bad plugin can only bring down one site.

      That is why there is no FTP access and no blogger installed plugin capability here at wordpress.COM.

          1. I’m glad you now understand what the risk factor on a multiuser site like wordpress.com would be if blogger installed plugin capability was provided. As I said above, most people posting to the support forums requesting that capability do not have a clue what the risk factor would be. Note that I have answered questions there for nearly 10 years and I began when there was only 1 support staff member and no support docs at all.

            We can request specific plugins be added in the Ideas Forum https://en.forums.wordpress.com/forum/ideas#postform and when we do that Staff will examine each plugin for both stability and security issues before they make a decision. That’s a good thing because both are key factors when it comes to keeping our wordpress.com sites up and running.

        1. To be crystal clear, I don’t respect any viewpoint on any issue that is not factually based and that’s what I was referring to ie. in the main those bloggers requesting blogger installed plugin capability in the wp.com support forums do not have a clue what the risks are.

          Blogger installed plugin capability on any multiuser blogging platform is not on the radar because due to stability issues and security issues and the propensity for a single bad plugin bringing down many sites.

          And, if you don’t think stating truth by providing relevant information to the uninformed trumps spouting phony baloney politically correct “niceness” then we are not on the same page at all.

      1. Fairness in the context of blogger installed plugin capability!

        Are you unaware of the stability and security risks?

        Install a single bad plugin in a single free standing self hosted wordpress.org site and only one site goes down ie. only one site will be at risk for stability and security issues.

        Install a single bad plugin in a single wordpress.com hosted blog on this multi-user blogging platform where all the sites share a common architecture where tens of thousands blog and many sites will be at risk for security and stability issues.

        There is no comparison one can make between the two that places them on level ground from the get go.

        Please also read this related post for a greater understanding of the risks https://onecoolsite.wordpress.com/2007/10/08/why-javascript-is-a-security-risk/

  5. I’ve long since given up on thinking WordPress is interested in having people actually read what most of us little people write. They gave us a ‘reader’ that lets people push a like button without even having to read our posts. They gave us ‘followers’ who rarely ever read anything either. For my site, I think about 2% of my followers are real people who actually do read my blog. (But if I want to remove them, apparently I can go to ‘My Sites – People – Followers and at least remove the names that are highly offensive.)

    I think WordPress, like many other internet products, isn’t about reading – it is simply about statistics.

    “There are 100 million blogs in the world, and it’s part of my job as the co-founder of WordPress to help many more people start blogging.”
    Matt Mullenweg

    1. Hey there,
      I’m begging forgiveness as I have to rush off to a music rehearsal. I will provide a reasoned response to your comment tomorrow. But now I have a ferry to catch.

    2. As a longtime blogger who blogged long before social networks and buttons to click as replacements for submitting meaningful comments were birthed, we are on the same page.

      Without doubt, Matt and his Staff have done a great job when it comes to encouraging people to blog here at WordPress.COM. It seems Matt and his Staff view WordPress.COM blogging as a stepping stone to self hosted WordPress.ORG blogging and I don’t share that point of view.

Comments are closed.