Featured Image -- 25012

Google Fonts: Free Typefaces for Your Site

I have not been inclined to purchase custom design upgrades for my blogs and the requirement for CSS editing upgrades has always annoyed me. However, I’m having a great time now trying out new font selections for each blog. If you haven’t tried out this new free feature for WordPress.com blogs, why not head over to the customizer and give it a whirl?

WordPress.com News

We’re really happy to announce that we’ve added over 30 free Google Fonts to your Theme Customizer. Even better, you don’t need any upgrades to access them; these fonts are free for everyone.

Go to WordPress.com → Customize to see the new Fonts section in the sidebar. From there you can browse and preview typefaces like Gentium Book Basic, Libre Baskerville, Merriweather, and Ubuntu. When you select a font, you’ll immediately see your site in the preview with that font applied. For most font choices, you can also change the size and style of the text.

Have you always wanted your headers to be rendered in Fondamento italic? How about Cinzel bold? Now they’re just a few clicks away, for every site on WordPress.com.

If you are still looking for that perfect typeface and Google Fonts aren’t for you, all the Typekit commercial fonts are still…

View original post 51 more words

22 thoughts on “Google Fonts: Free Typefaces for Your Site

  1. Thanks for posting timethief. I have the Adelle theme. I went into appearance, customize, fonts and chose Tekton Pro for my headers. It showed the preview but when I clicked on save and publish, the fonts didn’t carry over. I logged out and rebooted my computer, but for some reason it didn’t work for me. It did say the Adobe Typekit fonts are a premium plan for purchase.

  2. Kids in a candy shop with all the fonts!
    Curious. there’s been talk recently how fonts with serifs are perceived as more authoritative and factual/truthful than some of the modern ones like arial. What do you think?
    I would agree if the font was bubble letters with hearts dotting the “i’s”, but simple clean fonts always seem easier to read to me.

      1. Current research is inconclusive, but you have to wonder if results depend on generation of cohorts…do those who have never been without a computer feel font reading different than those who grew up with print textbooks, classic lit in print form? Or is it the spacing/space shapes between letters.
        In any case, fonts are great fun to play with and to use to fit purpose.

  3. hi Timechief thank you for your wonderful page ! I know this is really off topic , but going through your older posts , i checked my blog through http://ismyblogworking.com/harapanbaruwargaemas.wordpress.com ( I’m running a nursing home for the elderly ) and really shocked by the results “Your blog is broken” . My wife and I would really appreciate if you could kindly review the results and offer advice and tips to the above . is the results from “ismyblogworking” common for newly created blogs as mine is barely a week. Hope to hear from you soon, and thank you once again for your wonderful page and kindness !

  4. Thank you for sharing this with us timethief! I have really struggled with the fonts in my theme lately and even thought about changing it but now I don’t have to, thanks.

  5. Bit of a struggle (screen on my netbook kept freezing) and I wasn’t sure whether to treat it in ‘desktop’ view or ‘tablet’ or ‘mobile’ view – but it was all worth it. I feel that the presentation of the text now looks much less naff. Thank you!
    Evangeline

  6. I am just bracing myself to give this a go, as the standard free typeface is far from visually appealing! You are very clever with all this knowledge. Thank you.
    Evangeline

Comments are closed.