The Blogger’s A, B, C List

leisure6 Define your purpose: If you can’t describe in a few sentences why you are blogging, what your purpose for the blog is, and who target audience is, then don’t be surprised if you don’t attract subscribers.

In almost all cases, when I first go to visit the blog in question, I can’t immediately figure out why the blog exists. Can Your Blog Explain Its Purpose In One Second?

Authority

leisure3Domain Authority is a competitive metric against other sites as opposed to a historic measure of your internal SEO efforts.  And, domain authority is Moz’s calculated metric for how well a given domain is likely to rank in Google’s search results. Domain Authority measures the predictive ranking strength of entire domains or subdomains, Page Authority measures the strength of individual page. Read the article and watch the video What is Domain Authority?

Backlinks Will Become Less Important: Matt Cutts,Google’s head of search spam, Matt Cutts lets us know in his video that that backlinks in the Google ranking algorithm still have many years left in them. However, over time they will become a little less important. Here are three more advanced link building strategies you can use to get people to share images or content and help drive backlinks without any link requests. WordPress.com bloggers please read sponsored posts.

Better Blogging

glasses headerWe are drowning in a sea of content.The Better Blogger focuses on what his or her readers needs to know and avoids saying more about the subject than they have to. It’s important to provide background but where less important information can be left out, that’s the better way to go. Make sure you are focused on employing 12 Better Blogging Practices for Up-and-Coming Publishers. Warning! Never purchase traffic.

Connectivity and community building

leisure5Everything you do with your blog should be authentic.

Authenticity is critical when it comes to achieving authority any niche. Connection with your audience is vital and for successful blog promotion and growth.

Be yourself, tell your story, and blog the way you talk.  Read 7 Tips for an Authentic and Productive Writing Process.

Related posts found in this blog:
Top 5 Site Title Tag Tips
Creating an effective blog tagline
Why About Pages are Essential
Creating an Effective Blog Description
Do I Need a Domain?
Understanding Backlinks
Understanding Reciprocal and Non-Reciprocal Links
How to Identify Your Blog’s Target Audience
7 Common Sense Social Networking Tips
Social Networking Blunders

Related articles

15 thoughts on “The Blogger’s A, B, C List

  1. There’s been a few blogs I’ve been to where they looked disorganized, almost like they could be several separate blogs. I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one that gets disoriented by this. Great tips as always. Specifically, the information about Moz and Domain Authority. I didn’t know this kind of analysis existed. Of course I’m 1/00, but now that I know it’s out there I can work on improving.

  2. Define your purpose: If you can’t describe in a few sentences why you are blogging, what your purpose for the blog is, and who target audience is, then don’t be surprised if you don’t attract subscribers.
    COMPLETELY AGREE WITH YOU, I THINK THIS IS THE MAIN REASON, WHICH MAKE OR BREAK THE LIFE OF BLOG, NO DOUBT, INITIALLY, MANY OF US MAY NOT HAVE PERFECT CLARITY BUT AS TIME GOES ON IT MUST BE THERE, WHICH SOLVES OUR MANY PROBLEMS, ISN’T ?
    WISHING YOU ALL THE BEST…………….

  3. I used to try to be a straight A, but now I go for the C’s. If I didn’t have community I would have stopped blogging a long time ago. I liked the link to 7 Tips for an Authentic and Productive Writing Process. His tip to read the post out loud has helped me avoid run on and confusing sentences. I also sometimes write as if I am writing just for one particular reader.
    Hope you are having a good summer.

    1. I’m having a wonderful summer, Jamie Ray. I hope you Gracie and Donna are too. I’m back to my first love, which is singing and I’m feeling great.

      It’s been so good to see the way you have grown you blogging community. Your writing is authentic and focused. Your language is simple and clear, and you take care to provide definitions and/or links for clarification. All of those elements are essential to creating reader engagement, and they are fundamental to building long term relationships (online and off line).

      Blog on!

  4. Great tips. One can never be to clear or too concise in stating their objective. Your post made me realize my about page doesn’t mention THE WHY as to my blogging. LOL! Will change that.
    it is FABULOUS to hear from you as always although I still visit you over at your archives and my saved data.
    XXXXXXX
    I have a question.
    If I take an existing page (how to knit a simple square) and put it as a child page of (free amigurumi patterns) will I create any 404 errors? Also if I change my (free amigurumi patterns) to (free patterns) will that create any 404 error pages? i want to add a new menu along that top.
    Thank you in advance.
    Sharon.

    1. Hi there,
      It’s always good to hear from you.

      Any time you change a URL for a post or a page those who use the original URL will experience a 404 page not found. I would not create static subppages and would delete the static page you have now and replace it with dynamic category page.

      So if you assign a free amigurumi patterns category to each of the relevant posts first, then create a custom menu and add that dynamic category page into it they will all appear under it.

      You have two choices on any blog
      (1) All posts on the front page.
      (2) A static front page http://en.support.wordpress.com/pages/front-page/ and all posts on a different page.

      By default the front page of a blog displays all published posts in reverse chronological order with the most recently published post on top. When we publish a post on WordPress software the software automatically creates the same entry in the Archives, and on the dynamic (automatically updating) Categories and Tags pages in accord with the Categories and Tags we assign to that post.

      So when we create custom menu and add the dynamic (automatically updating) category pages to that custom menu we create the appearance (not the reality) of posting to more than one page.

      You need to be aware that:

      1. There are differences between posts and pages described here
      https://en.support.wordpress.com/post-vs-page/

      2. There are differences between static pages we bloggers create https://en.support.wordpress.com/pages/ that will not automatically update, and dynamic category pages created by the software when you publish a post which will automatically update https://en.support.wordpress.com/category-pages/.

      3. We organize posts by category assignment prior to publication. http://en.support.wordpress.com/posts/categories/ and when we publish posts the dynamic category pages they automatically display on are determined by the categories we assign to them.

      So the process you need to use is:

      1. Thank you for your help. I am enjoying myself so much and so excited to be adding my spinning. Great news re your singing. My son sings and I have always enjoyed listening to voice music. Nourishment for the soul. <3

  5. Hello timethief, An informative post with very useful links. You’ve helped me shift my focus to the wider context, rather than simply fixating on my next post. As with most things, strategy is important.Thanks.

Comments are closed.