Political News, Social Media and Cell Phones

Highlights of the Pew Internet Project’s research related to social networking reveal some interesting facts about registered voters who follow political candidates and their campaigns on social media.

I was not surprised to read that As of January 2014, 74% of online adults use social networking sites, fully 40% of cell phone owners use a social networking site on their phone, and 28% do so on a typical day. I was surprised to read what a strong reliance on getting political news via social media sites there is.

Digital politics also goes hand in hand with other types of campaign engagement. In particular, the 16% of registered voters who follow political figures on social media participate in various traditional campaign activities at high rates—from volunteering and donating money, to encouraging others to get out and support their preferred candidates and causes.

This report is based on a national survey conducted October 15-20 among 2,003 adults (including 1,494 registered voters). Read Cell Phones, Social Media and Campaign 2014

Discussion

Are you following the current political campaigns via social media?

4 thoughts on “Political News, Social Media and Cell Phones

  1. It’s long after election day, but I’ll weigh in anyways. I don’t follow politics on social media and try to stay out of the exchanges on Facebook. It’s irritating enough to get the robo calls and junk mail. I do read about them in the newspaper … and, sometimes, in online news articles.

  2. Maybe it’s embarrassing to see the lack of comments here or maybe not. I live in a small place that has the highest voter turnout in the polls at 43% of any other place in our region. Some of those other places are large cities. Here we do our politics up close and personal and our news gathering face to face.

  3. I guess that my kind is on its way out. Actually I know it. I call it anti social media. I prefer to listen on the radio, read newspapers, both hard copy and online and of different persuasions and make up my own mind.

Comments are closed.