Time to Say Good-Bye

me on chairI’m considering saying good bye to blogging and moving on. It’s been a great run and a long one but I’m feeling like “I’ve said that before” every day now. And, I am feeling the same way about answering support forum questions day in and day out too.

Update: September 24th, 2014
I have to eliminate sources of stress from my life now due to a heart condition and adult onset asthma. I had a reality check when I could not breathe and was sent to hospital less than a month ago. I have just reached age 65 and I’m not ready to go yet, so I’m changing my priorities and placing my own health and happiness at the top of my list.

I believe I am addicted to providing support and that I have been viewing this blog as my baby. Neither one healthy and I’m going to change both. I’ve had a long run and a good one but my decision has been made. I will be closing this blog to comments soon and stepping back from answering so many support questions.

My heartfelt thanks to every Reader, Commenter and Staff member who contributed to making this blog a success. I won’t forget you and I’ll keep in touch from time to time. May you all be and stay well and happy.

Related posts:
Birthday Weekend
Another update
Quick update
Keeping in touch
For the Love of Blogging

224 thoughts on “Time to Say Good-Bye

  1. I learned so much from your updates and want to thank you for all your excellent ideas on blogging. Take care and I wish you the best in everything you do.

  2. I’m sad to hear the news – your blog has been and continues to be an invaluable resource to me. I wish you the best in your search for balance and happiness in your life.

  3. I’m sorry to hear that you’re leaving – I’ve seen your name since I started blogging, and you’ve helped me out on several occasions. Take good care of yourself, and if you ever decide to return to blogging, I’ll tag along for the ride. Good luck, take care, and … thank you.

  4. Sad to see you leave but I agree, it is time to move on to other things. Its time you have impact on you own life and true its not time to leave yet; 65 is too young :D. God bless you.

  5. timethief,

    I’ve only recently become acquainted with you through the WP support forums, and I’ve always been impressed with the breadth of your knowledge and your willingness to help. I’m sorry to see you go. But I understand and agree with your decision. Your health is paramount. Besides that, there’s so much more to life than this. Go out and enjoy all those other parts of life.

    Cheers,
    -Brian

  6. I’ve only just seen this, TT, as I was away. Many people will miss your blogging and all your help with WordPress. I hope you can look back fondly on all your achievements. Warm wishes for your health and happiness, and thank you so much for everything.

    1. Hi Carol,
      Thanks for your send off message. I am already looking back on this blogging chapter of my life with fondness. I had two successful blogs. I made many friendships with wonderful people and when it was time to go I made the decision to so with grace.

  7. Thank you for your immense contributions. Your health has to be your number 1 priority, and I hope that you now have the time and energy to enjoy yourself. Best wishes :-)

    1. Hi Paul,
      I started volunteering as a child and the most volunteer hours I have ever logged anywhere have been here because I love WordPress, but it’s time now for that to come to an end. I’m giving up all contracted work which will be a loss of income but my health trumps that. I will only be backing my hubby up in our business when he travels from here on out. That means I can get the rest I need and I will still have the time to enjoy some of the activities I was into but gave up for the love of blogging. Thank you so much for your kind words and well wishes too.

  8. Sorry to see you go. It sounds like you are making the best decision for yourself. You’ve helped a lot of people, that’s something to be proud of. Enjoy the rest of your life!

    1. I am happy with the contribution I have made as a WordPress.com Volunteer. A true Volunteer never expects gain or reward for helping others and I freely admit being a part of the WordPress.com community has benefited me on a personal level. Those who provide support anywhere are those who are drawn to serve others and their reward is the thanks they receive. It’s been very hard to reply to these comments because they are full of gratitude and that moves me so deeply that I’m weeping as I type them. Thanks for the send off message. It’s appreciated.

  9. Hi Timethief,

    I just want to say thank you so much for all your help throughout the years in our Forums. You were here years before I ever was, and your presence is something that will never be forgotten. I learned so much from you and while you will be truly missed, your health is more important than anything else. :). I wish you all the very best.

    Best,
    Grace

    1. Dear Grace,
      Serving with you and other Staff members on the Support forums has been wonderful. I have learned much from all of you. In particular, your personality sparkles like a diamond. My health issues are manageable, provided I cut back on where I spend my time and how I spend it. I need to shut these blogs down to eliminate self-imposed stress and do what brings me the most happiness. Thanks for understanding that and thanks so much for wishing me well here.

  10. It’s sad, indeed. I’m a newcomer as follower of your blog, just 2 or 3 weeks, I think. Since the day I found this site I was reading one by one your posts in ‘Basic Blogging’, and they are being a great help for me. Thank you,

    1. Hi Rich,
      Happiness is at the top of my list these days. I intend to celebrate every day I’m still breathing. :) I will definitely keep in touch with you.

      1. Glad to hear Happiness is at the top of your list. Always put yourself, your desires and your health first. I’m so pleased to see you following this path.

  11. Hi TT – I found your blog today in a search for how to put a table into a post. It must be satisfying to know that your work is done in a space and that it is time to move on. I like the look of your blog and intend to spend some time here to read more of your work. All the best decision – this sounds like a big ‘YES or NO’

  12. TT,

    This saddens me, but I totally agree that you need to prioritize your health. Through your sacrifice, people like me grew significantly in their knowledge of WP.com – now I’m living the dream of working for Automattic and will always be grateful for you assisting me in accomplishing that feat. I hope in the end, you do what’s best for you, your health, and your family. Best of luck to you, no matter what you choose.

    1. It’s so good to hear from you. I love helping people and have always had voluntary ways to do that. Over the years I have been able to accurately predict which Volunteers who do apply will be hired. :) You rocked as a support Volunteer and I knew you would be hired as WordPress.com Happiness Engineer.

      It will take me some time to back away from answering support forums questions but I’m already cutting way back because I need time to learn my music and practice. Yes, after an 8 year hiatus I’m singing gospel, blues and jazz again, Darnell. I’m a mezzo and I’m singing in two choirs now. In one I sing in the soprano section and in the other I sing in the alto section.

      I must have been crazy to give up what I loved doing. Music heals and without doubt it’s my medicine. Singing always has been and always will be my first passion but I allowed blogging and answering support questions to consume too much of my time – time that I alone was and am in control of.

      (I know you sing gospel too so when I sing I’ll think of you.)

      Thanks so much for your well wishes.

Comments are closed.