Maintaining Your Site’s Ranking

Google search magnifying glassNewer domains and websites pass older sites all the time. How can an older site maintain its ranking over time? Matt Cutts, of Google answered that question in January 2014. Tune in, listen and learn.

 

How can an older site maintain its ranking over time?

“The advice that I’d give to you as the owner of a site that’s been around for fourteen years is to take a fresh look at your site. … well-established site, I wouldn’t just coast on your laurels.”

Principles of PageRank
Principles of PageRank (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The takeaway from Matt’s video is that ranking is fluid and we ought to be focused on creating and maintaining a site with high value for visitors. It’s important to keep your site’s appearance and content fresh, and the structure properly maintained, because if you don’t, newer sites can and will overtake stale sites in the rankings.

Newcomers need to be able to find your popular posts and tutorials, so make sure they are readily accessible. Returning visitors are looking for interesting new content so provide them with what they are looking for, regularly. Blog visitors are visual people so don’t buy into the notion of using the same header and graphics now and forevermore. Don’t hang onto an outdated theme that lacks expected features. Set up a schedule for regular website maintenance tasks like repairing broken links and updating articles.

Bridget Sandorford is a freelance blog and culinary writer who provides here advice in How to Maintain Your Page Rank During a Design Change.

My tips are found in these related posts:
6 Ways to Make Google Your Blog’s Best Friend
Spring Favorites: Refresh Your Blog
Freshen Your Theme with Seasonal Touches
4 Ways to Refresh Your Blog

19 thoughts on “Maintaining Your Site’s Ranking

  1. Thanks for the reminder. Time to refresh my blog look. Clicked on your Spring Favorites link and got a frightening looking warning not to proceed. Thought you’d want to know.

      1. It says: This is probably not the site you are looking for. You attempted to reach onecoolsitebloggingtips.com, but instead you actually reached a server identifying itself as *.wordpress.com. This may be caused by a misconfiguration on the server or something more serious. . . . . . .
        I was warned not to proceed.
        I turned off the wifi switch on my phone and went back in using the secure data on the phone and got the same result. ??

  2. Thank you again. I may master it all if I reach a hundred. Still every bit of information helps.

  3. At the risk of sounding like one of those guys who wind up in my spam filters on a daily basis…I like the new look. You had me do a bit of a double-take when I was looking for an article here yesterday ;-)

    1. LOL :D I change themes from time to time. I only use responsive layout themes and this time I removed at sticky posts and chose not to feature any articles.

  4. A very sensible idea to set aside time for maintainance. When I changed to a newer Look, many of the old posts did not take to the change well. Slowly I am going back and fixing the more popular ones. Have a great day!

  5. This is really useful, I read through a number of your related posted. As a new blogger there is a wealth of information to absorb. Big learning curve, but fun! Thanks

  6. Interesting, as usual. I never thought of a blog’s age as being a variable in page ranking. Hmmm.

    [And on a completely different note: love your new header. So fresh and inviting.]

    1. Domain age has always been a ranking factor but now those who have failed to update are paying the price. Thanks re: the header compliment. There will be more to come.

  7. Um. You’ve gone back to 2011. Outdated theme? Looks really nice, to me. So clean.

    I’m still looking for a new theme but haven’t found one I like enough, may just tinker with 2011, your new look is quite inspirational. But not for now. Negotiating another project. Well actually negotiating T&Cs :D so blog revamp may be waiting. Oh, and wretched physio. Aaagh.

    I’m thinking about reusing older posts/photos though, mainly as I’m not exactly up to skipping around with a camera and posting exciting new posts. Although as the Little Rat Snowy is coming up approx to first birthday ie a few days before he was dumped in the rubbish bin, he may get precedence. :)

    1. I have always like Twenty Eleven and you know me, I’m fickel when it comes to themes as I am so viusal that I bore very easily.

      I busy with changes to our business. I’m doing as much contracted work as I can and saving my pennies so I have spending money when my friends visit. Hopefully, I’ll be fully mobile again by then. Right now I’m not and I need to get lots of rest to reduce swelling and pain. Anyhoo … I refuse to let my health issues get me down. If I weven begin to dwell on them I can become depressed so I avoid that kind of thinking.

      Wow! I can’t believe it’s been a whole year that you have had Snowy.

      1. Well, it helps the rest of us when you try new themes, saves us doing it. Actually when I saw this with the soft background and tael colouring highlight, I thought it was TTTP as it would suit that too.

        We sound to be in the same boat so many miles apart! Not mobile, yet working from home. And at least that is the good thing, we can work while trying to recover. If I was in an office job, I’d be sacked by now. Luckily I’m finishing editing one novel, and have another one to start immediately. Nice when it works like that.

        We took Snowy in August, we couldn’t take him straightaway because… um… I’d sprained my ankle and was flat bound until I could limp around. We’d asked our vet if he knew of any unwanted dogs and Rocío emailed us pretty much after she’d found him and agreed to look after him until we could get to Spain. I think he was prob around four weeks old when we took him. He’s a tough little thing :D I did him a birthday post on roughseas, really to highlight the cruelty the breed suffers as much as anything else, but also because people sometimes like to see animal pix. So it gave me an excuse on both fronts :)

        Look after yourself. Sending you some good karma.

Comments are closed.