Beep Beep Boop

man pulling hair outUnexpected changes can throw us for a loop. We can log in to our WordPress.com blogs and find the way we formerly did things is not exactly as it was before. There are updates being added to this post.

We may say it’s how we respond to change that counts but what does count for? The future, of course. WordPress.com is on continuous roll-out. There will always be changes made to the software. There is no announcement yet but changes are being made at  New Post.

beep beep boop

A new post editor has been rolled out for WordPress.com as part of the ongoing process of creating a multiple mobile device friendly site. At present there isn’t an Add Media button on the new editor. While the gallery function there works, for multiple image uploading it’s easier to edit and add images through your Dashboard > Posts > Add New.

If you are a long time WordPress.com blogger like I am it’s likely that you already create your posts at > Dashboard > Posts > Add New  and the changing iterations of the post editor at New Post. will have no affect on your blogging.

However, if you are a new WordPress.com blogger who was hooked on what was the previous iteration of the post editor at New Post then beep beep boop may make you unhappy. You will not know that the full post editor with all of the features is at Dashboard. > Posts > Add New.

Learning how to use it may take a little extra time, but when you do then you will know how to blog using the full features of the post editor on your own WordPress.com blog’s dashboard .

August 13, 2014 update

To create a new Post:

When you go to the drop-down menu on the left of the grey Admin bar, and you get to NEW, instead of opening up the drop down menu options Page, Post, etc, just click the word New. Gets you straight to the fully featured dashboard editor.

To Edit a published Post:

Go to Dashboard > Posts > All Posts and go to the particular post, and click Edit. That gives you the full-featured editor.

August 15, 2014 Update

There’s now a new option found under Screen Options to bring back the inner scrollbar to the post editor. While editing or creating a post, click on the Screen Options tab on the top right of the page. On the slide down screen, uncheck the box beside “Expand the editor to match the window height.”

Some caveats:

 For now, unchecking the option isn’t remembered. You would have to uncheck it again after reloading the post either by saving or publishing it.

The content box may need to be adjusted to your desired height by clicking and dragging the bottom-right corner of it. Again, this needs to be repeated after the post is published or saved.

August 15, 2014 Update 2

See the sticky post at the top of the support forums New Post Editor Improvements.

August 18, 2014 Update

@gracejiyoung –

Going forward, when the New Dash Post Editor is complete, will community members still have access to the fully functional Classic Post Editor?

If so, will users be able to make the Classic Post Editor their default editor?

http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/beep-beep-boop-screen-is-a-joke-is-this-a-glitch/page/27?replies=797#post-2002509

@justjennifer

Going forward, when the New Dash Post Editor is complete, will community members still have access to the fully functional Classic Post Editor?

 

Unfortunately, I don’t know the answer to this as nothing is set in stone as we move forward. We are taking all this feedback into consideration to improve the new editor, but whether it will fully replace and permanently remove the Classic editor is unknown at this moment.

http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/beep-beep-boop-screen-is-a-joke-is-this-a-glitch/page/27?replies=803#post-2002620

86 thoughts on “Beep Beep Boop

  1. Hi Timethief, I’m so sorry to learn of your health difficulties. I wish you a speedy recovery and wish you well.

    Thank you too for all your input and assistance during this beep beep boop saga. I’ve switched to the classic editor for now, but I keep going back to try out the new editor so that I know how to handle it when (if) the old editor disappears.

    One thing I just discovered, which I’m VERY pleased and relieved about, is that the new editor now saves drafts to the dashboard, i.e. it’s “in the cloud” and not just on the server. That wasn’t the case just a couple of days ago.

    I hope all our other wishes for the new editor will be fulfilled as easily.

    1. I’m not ready either, Jacqui. I’m so distracted by my health issues and the associated appointments that I just can’t cope with adapting to using a new editor right now.

  2. I am so excited to have found your post about the Translator! I know it was an older post, but it definitely helped me now! I am thrilled! You explanations were great, the code wonderful, and I followed it step-by-step (with a few stumbles along the way). I am absolutely thrilled that I now have it on my blog, and I want to thank you so very much!! As you know, many of our blogs are read around the world — each time I look at my stats I am surprised to see the many different countries listed.

    Thank you again! I absolutely appreciate the time and clarity you used to convey this information. I am very grateful. :)

    Sincerely,
    Sharon Tenney

  3. Hi timethief,
    Thanks, as always for reading and liking my post. This was such a great post from you and the picture is on point! It is exactly how I felt when I saw the changes and tried to put a post up. :)

    But, figuring out was pretty simple and I think I kinda like it better than the classic. I hope you are feeling and getting better these days and I shall continue to keep you in my prayers. Have a good week!
    Cheryl

Comments are closed.