When Enough was Enough

Read Blog Abandonment is not your only Choice first please and comment there.

I have given up on a blog and deleted it. The environmental/political blog I deleted in 2007 was successful, but a year after founding it I no longer wanted to deal with comments from legions of climate change deniers. I’m not referring to troll comments, which were even more numerous – those I simply deleted.

None of the climate change deniers, who submitted verbose comments day in and day out, believed that human activity on the planet contributed to global warming. None were climatologists, yet all professed that the scientific consensus of those who are and were qualified in that field, was wrong. None were scientists, and none seemed to have respect for the scientific process. All used junk science as the source for their opinions.

I believed then and still do now that it’s of critical importance that we examine all sides of any issue that impacts the environment we rely of for life itself. I was not inclined to assign any credence to opinions that were not grounded in science then and that hasn’t changed.

Congress held its first hearing on the landmark IPCC report on climate change in 2007. That report concluded that global warming is “unequivocal” and human activity is the main driver, “very likely” causing most of the rise in temperatures since 1950. Yet Rohrabacher’s belief that global warming may be caused by dinosaur farts was repeated in so many comments that dealing with them did me in. I was so tired of presenting the results of scientific consensus on the subject matter, and reading asinine comments in response, that my passion for maintaining the blog evaporated. I thought blog abandonment or deletion were my only choices, and I deleted the blog.

In retrospect, I wish I had only deleted the content and retained the URL.