IE Browser Exploit Discovered

UPDATE: Microsoft issued a security patch at 1 p.m. ET Thursday to fix a serious bug in Internet Explorer http://blogs.technet.com/b/msrc/archive/2014/05/01/out-of-band-release-to-address-microsoft-security-advisory-2963983.aspx 

Microsoft discontinued support for 12 year old Windows XP on April 8th warning that security flaws would not be patched. Now an IE browser vulnerability with the potential to give hackers the same user rights as the current user that affects all versions of Internet Explorer from 6 to 11 has been discovered.

Internet Explorer is one of the most widely used web browsers, attaining a peak of about 95% usage share during 2002 and 2003. Its usage share has since declined with the launch of Safari (2003), Firefox (2004), and Google Chrome (2008), each of which now have significant market share. Estimates for Internet Explorer’s overall market share range from 16.7% to 32.31%, as of May 2012 (browser market share is notoriously difficult to calculate).

According to Net MarketShare, Windows XP accounts for nearly 28 percent of all online PCs worldwide and that’s more than Windows 8, 8.1, Vista, OS X 10.9, and Linux users combined.

Microsoft’s CEO, Satya Nadella is under pressure to patch the IE bug for Windows XP users. But buying a new PC is the way to go as the operating system will be preinstalled and Microsoft is offering $100 discounts on new hardware for customers upgrading from older PCs running Windows XP. Alternatively, Microsoft advises downloading and installing the Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit (EMET) 4.1.

The New Windows: More Security

I was a long time Windows XP desktop user who upgraded to the Windows 7 OS. However, Firefox has long been my preferred browser.  Are you running an IE Browser?

The new release of Firefox happened today.

What’s new in Firefox?

Related posts found in this blog:
How to Keep Your Blog Safe
WordPress.com Username Accounts, Logins and More
Keep Your Passwords Safe
10 Ways to Protect Against Email Spam
Disaster Planning: Backups for Bloggers

Enhanced by Zemanta

20 thoughts on “IE Browser Exploit Discovered

  1. I’ve never used IE, but after reading this, the very thought of doing so makes me cry: “Aiyieee!!”– which, of course, is pronounced “I.E.” : )

  2. Uninstalled IE8 from my XP backup computer yesterday. It’s completely gone and now I feel safer about files and pictures that I keep on this old friend. Public libraries in my area all have Windows XP running on their computers. I don’t they are going to upgrade any time soon due to monetary constraints.

  3. Faced the inevitable early April and bought a new laptop with Win 7. Dragged myself kicking and screaming away from XP. The old laptop still runs XP and is used for older software, but it is not networked. For browsing I use Firefox on both and have for a few years, love it. I test my websites against IE (and Chrome) to see if they look OK, but that is the extent of it.
    How come MS, with all it’s brains and power, doesn’t seem to have got it’s head round the browser concept ?

  4. I left IE years ago, even before I switched to a MacBook for most of my work. I went to Firefox, then to Chrome because my son, an IT professional, uses and recommended it. I still use Firefox as my second browser, when I need to see how something looks on a different browser, or for the occasional video or webcam that Chrome can’t run (it’s a 32-bit browser and can’t run Java).

  5. Can’t remember when I last used IE (likely when I switched to the Mac). I’ve been running Chrome, but thought I’d give Firefox another look (used it way back when – don’t remember why I quit… perhaps Chrome offered some bells and whistles I liked?)

    Thing is I’m having problems with (w) over at Firefox. First off couldn’t get the ‘like’ button to work at someone’s blog and then there’s always the learning curve to cope with. I haven’t given up yet. I have been annoyed that I had to go to Safari (which I’m not wild about) in order to stream movies from Netflix… Chrome wouldn’t load some program it required.

    sigh

      1. That’s interesting. As far as I know, it seems that the only IE users left are government departments, because of usurious contracts with Microsoft, and older people who still use dial-up and are online for an hour or two a month (like my parents). Maybe that’s the 10%!

  6. Thanks for the news, timethief. I still have XP running on an older computer on my Home network. Thankfully, I use only Google or Firefox on all of them. I gave up on I.E. a while back, but still have it on all of them.

    1. I`m the same, Joseph. I gave up on using IE eons ago when the version was IE6 – the worst browser ever! That`s when I started using Firefox and then years later I started running Chrome too.

  7. Gave up on IE years ago, use Firefox the last few years. I heard a report yesterday that the U.S. Government has came out with a blanket “do not use IE” until it is patched.

    1. I haven`t used IE for years except when answering support forums questions. I have always found it mind boggling when bloggers seeking help there insist on running IE and refuse to change to a reliable browser. My jaw hits the ground when some profess to love IE, making me wonder what planet they are from. Bottom line: I won`t be using IE at all now.

      Thousands of websites still hosted on Windows XP. 6,000 websites in Netcraft’s April 2014 Web Server Survey are still running it. http://news.netcraft.com/archives/2014/04/02/april-2014-web-server-survey.html

      The US and UK gov`t announcements are interesting in light of the fact that many gov`t departments are still running XP. Notably, there are 14 US government websites still running on Windows XP, including a webmail system used by the State of Utah. Granted the replacement of computers is a taxpayer expense and we all want those expenses to be low but false economy could lead to a major security breach and it`s gov`ts that have our personal data. http://www.theregister.co.uk/2014/04/27/oops_we_did_it_again_microsoft_warns_of_ie_zero_day/

      Symantec warned “with the looming end-of-life for Windows XP slated for April 8, 2014, the banking industry is facing a serious risk of cyberattacks aimed at their ATM fleet.” http://www.washingtonpost.com/posttv/national/atms-may-be-at-risk-from-lack-of-windows-xp-support/2014/04/07/18497232-be7e-11e3-9ee7-02c1e10a03f0_video.html

Comments are closed.