Spring Favorites: Refresh Your Blog

To attract an audience and keep it we bloggers need to do more than publishing fresh content. We also need to repair and replace what`s broken, refresh our theme and breath new life into our content. And what better time is there than spring to do this?

All Rights Reserved – Any content reblogged from one cool site must adhere to the terms of © Copyright

“To look backward for a while is to refresh the eye, to restore it, and to render it the more fit for its prime function of looking forward”– Margaret Fairless Barber

spring bouquetRepair and Replace

Broken links and bad links imply you don’t care enough to manage your blog well. Search engines favor the highest quality results and may penalize sites with many broken links. Use some free tools to maintain and track your links. Check for broken links and bad neighborhood links and repair or replace them with links to the most relevant posts on the most authoritative blogs found when you do keyword searches.

Reduce and Declutter

When it comes to gadgets and widgets less is more because viewers have to wait for gadgets and widgets to load before they can interact with your blog. Too many widgets will:

  1. increase page loading time and provoke potential visitors to click out before the blog loads,
  2. spoil the theme design giving the blog an amateurish appearance;
  3. distract readers from focusing on your content.

My best advice is “strip that blog!”. If you have a a lot of distracting widget content such as badges, awards and other decorative items you may want to create a page and display them on it instead.

Reduce Page Loading Time

  1. Do a Pingdom Website Speed Test to determine how long it takes your blog to load.
  2. Edit posts and insert “the more tag” so only excerpts appear on the front page. Keep these 5 points in mind to avoid the “more tag” woes. Alternatively,  switch to using a theme that automatically displays front page excerpts.
  3. Reduce the number of posts appearing on the front page here > Settings > Reading – Blog pages show at most _ posts.
  4. Reduce the number of images and or media embeds displayed and/or make them smaller. As for videos be aware that you do not need to embed them. The alternative is to provide the URL and let your visitors click to watch if they so desire.
  5. Reduce the number of widgets in the sidebar and footer areas and use widget visibility settings to display relevant widgets only on each page.
  6. Replace your blogroll with a page of relevant resource links to related sites.

crocusFreshen Up

Is your blog looking fresh and lively? Evaluating your theme by seeing your blog through the eyes of your audience is the next step. Changing themes or freshening up the theme you are currently using will breathe some new life into your blog.

You can quickly and easily change themes to another one and no data will be lost or negatively affected by the change. The only time you may have to do some work is if you are changing to a dramatically different theme and have done any CSS editing.

Provided you are logged in as Admin under the same username account that registered the blog go to Dashboard > Appearance > Themes and browse themes until you find one you like and click “activate” or type in the name of the theme you want to use and click the “Activate” link when it appears. After you change your theme all you need to do is go here Dashboard > Appearance > Widgets > Inactive Widgets and re-install them where you want them to appear. The widget contents and settings will be the same as they were prior to changing themes.

You cannot build or use your own custom theme built from scratch, you cannot upload third-party themes, and you cannot edit themes at WordPress.com. However, there are ways to customize themes built-in such as custom header images, custom backgrounds and featured images. Use the Video Tutorial – Customizing Your Theme.

Pixabay.com  is a repository for the outstanding public domain images used in this post. There are many sources of free images for your blog so why not visit them and see which free images you can use to freshen up your blog and posts?

Some themes have color customizable options. Try experimenting with a different color scheme and ensure your colors choices are the right choices for your readers. There is an exciting new color palette feature addition that WordPress.com bloggers using eight free themes will enjoy. Eight free themes, including Superhero, Writr, Spun, Panel, Zoren, Fontfolio, Twenty Thirteen, and Typo,  now offer free color palettes you can apply. If you want to go further and do some custom designing of an existing theme you can use CSS editing for freshening your WordPress.com theme.

Custom Colors

Mobile Friendly Theme or Responsive Width Theme?

The mobile explosion has yet to crest but visitors are accessing our blogs via mobiles and tablets is on the rise and affecting on blog design. Laptops, smartphones and tablets are performing tasks that used to be the desktop computer territory. Our blogging future will feature responsive width themes, infinite scroll and effective use of custom menus, page templates and post formats.

cherry blossomsWordPress.com bloggers can choose to use these responsive width themes free or paid for their blogs. Responsive layout themes automatically adjust the layout depending on the size of the device being used to view your site. When responsive width themes are viewed on mobiles sidebars appear below the posts in order to provide as much space as possible for reading. If you choose a responsive width theme disable the mobile theme, which is a completely different theme,  at > Dashboard > Appearance > Mobile.

Revisit and Refocus

Once you achieve one goal, you should be looking forward to trying to build onto the next thing, and not just getting comfortable with what you’re doing. – LL Cool J

Is your blog representing you, your purpose and your passions?

Spring is a good time to revisit your purpose for your blog and the vision you have for its growth.

  1. Has your audience expanded? Do you want it to grow?
  2. Is it time to alter or modify your blog’s purpose?
  3. Is it time to change or improve on how you reach your audience?

A vision board is a collage representing your blogging focus (topics) and new things you want to see happening in your blog. Use your vision board as a springboard for updating your goals. Carry through by updating your Tagline, About page and blog description. Don’t forget to freshen and optimize your profile pages on social networks too.

spring-flowersWriting for the Web

Eye tracking studies reveal we typically scan blogs in an “F” shaped pattern similar to two horizontal strips and one vertical strip which form a shape resembling the letter “F”. Eye tracking studies advice: Understand the F principle, write eye-catching, concise headlines and display crisp images. The title and first two paragraphs must be attention grabbing. Use sub-headings, bullet points, and paragraphs to keep the reader focused when scanning down the left side of the eye tracking pattern.

Write while the heat is in you. The writer who postpones the recording of his thoughts uses an iron which has cooled to burn a hole with. He cannot inflame the minds of his audience. — Henry David Thoreau

Try out a different style. Take a new approach. Blog to inform. Blog to persuade. Blog something controversial. Use comedy to address serious topic. Or get personal and go deep. A thought-provoking post that engages readers in discussion can attract new readers like nothing else can.

Need more ideas? Spring-Clean Your Blog in Five Easy Steps

Discussion

Are you ready to refresh your blog? Or have you already done your spring blog cleaning?

 

Related posts:

Blog Colors on Different Browsers and Monitors
Changing Your Blog? Start With the Colors
Blog Design: Which colors do you use and why

76 thoughts on “Spring Favorites: Refresh Your Blog

  1. As always, lots of great advice! I’m going to have to take some time and check out all the things I need to adjust. I have no problem changing themes – so many to choose from. I have the CSS upgrade, so it is usually fairly easy to change anything that I really don’t like about a theme. The one limitation I can’t change, and it can guide what theme I choose – I like the comments icon to be at the bottom of the post, not the top if I am using a theme that shows full posts on the home page.

    1. Hi there,
      I’ve noticed your artistic theme changes and updates. CSS editing can be used to make a dramatic change to any theme. You sure have changed the appearance of Spirit. I recall it looking like a Christmas card and now it looks like Spring. I hear you when it comes to comment icons but where they are placed is not a deal breaker for me. Thanks for the visit and chat.

      1. Spirit was pretty easy to change with CSS. It has a number of Christmas/snow background images that I just had to ‘make go away’.

        1. Yes, now we are officially enjoying Spring the little Christmas trees peeking through the background would certainly be a disconcerting sight.

  2. I know the best reason for me to switch themes is to get one that automatically reformats posts for mobile devices. Thanks for the kick in the pants– I needed that! : )

    1. Hi Mark,
      Do be aware that the Mobile theme is a completely different theme. Responsive width themes automatically adjust the layout depending on the size of the device being used to view your site. When responsive width themes are viewed on mobiles sidebars appear below the posts in order to provide as much space as possible for reading. See here http://theme.wordpress.com/themes/features/responsive-layout/
      If you choose a responsive width theme disable the mobile theme at > Appearance > Mobile

      1. Many thanks, TT. You’d think by now I’d have a grasp of the proper terminology, but– apparently not!! : (

        I meant to say I need to get current and switch to a responsive-width theme, but I fluffed my techno-grammar! Thanks for clarifying, as well as the additional info. As always, I appreciate your kindness and thoroughness. : )

    1. Hi Judy,
      Your blog seems to be very tidy to me but then I haven’t probed it very deeply and I’m sure you are glad I haven’t, right? Just kidding … lol :D

      1. Timethief, if you could only see beyond the virtual world to my office space, you might rethink that comment. ;-) My office does need to be tidied up. I did take your advice about deleting links that no longer did. Plus, if any photos or videos were no longer viable, I deleted those references. One of the photos, regrettably, was for a UFO/X-Files reference, “I Want to Believe.” (boo-hoo).

  3. I always learn so much from your posts. Thank you! I went ahead and checked my blog for any broken links, and while there are some changes I would like to make, I was under the impression that whenever you update a post, it is sent out to all your followers. Is this true, and if so, is there any other way to make changes to older posts without this happening?

    1. No that’s not true. When we first publish a post it goes out to all subscribers. When we edit there is no update sent. I edit older posts continually.

    1. Hi Sandra,
      Thanks so much for letting me know how you feel about my blog. I may be generous when it comes to advice but as you have noted I’m short on time and I’m often running behind when it comes to responding to comments.

      The Petite Melodies theme suits your content so well. I love the treatment of your images. What do you use to create this appearance? Is whatever you use available for desktop use or online use? I’m asking because I’d love to try it out. http://squareonenotes.com/2014/04/28/strawberry-thats-my-jam/

      1. Hi! Thank you so much for your feedback. You inspired me to try new things and I’m enjoying the results, so thank you! I love playing with my iphone photo apps. For this post that you are referring to I used an app called Pic Grunger. I’m not sure if it’s available online. I found it in the app store. A lot of people also like SnapSeed I hear, but it seems fiddly to me. Or maybe I’m just not bright enough to figure it out? ;)

        1. Hi Sandra,
          I don’t own a camera, iphone or ipad but my hubby has them. I’ll check into both of those apps you mention and see if I can find something I can use on my desktop or online. Thanks and I hope you have a great new week.

  4. I always find your posts to be so enlightening. They also spur into doing “something” about what I can change! Thanks for all you offer.

    1. Dear Adelaide,
      Thanks so much for letting me know that you find my posts to be valuable. I appreciate how patient you have been while waiting for me to reply. I adore your artistic presentation and customization of the Sweet Life theme almost as much as I love your paintings.

  5. Must be something in the air. Spring, perhaps. I’ve whiled away a number of hours this weekend browsing new themes, tweaking some things, etc.

    1. It’s been so long since I approved this comment that you have purchased the Opti theme and customized it to suit. It looks sharp! And I do like it better than The Morning After theme which had too much sidebar stuff going on to suit my taste.

  6. Thanks for pingdom link -even though WordPress keeps trying to change it to kingdom as I am typing my comments.
    I’m still using 2012 theme. I’m used to it, and I like that it is simple. If I updated, it would be to something similar. You did get me thinking about changing what is in my side columns and modifying my about page – maybe that will be my spring cleaning.

    1. Hi Jamie Ray,
      As you can see I’m making the time to catch up on responding to comments I haven’t had the time to respond to earlier this month. It’s been a heavy work month for me and I anticipate that May may be the same … sigh .

      Pingdom’s website speed test tool is a terrific free one. Your website is faster than 75% of all tested websites – congrats!

      I like the Twenty Twelve theme on your blog. I like the fact that your Categories are few in number and so well defined. As for your Archives widget though, I wonder why you don’t choose the drop-down display to make it more compact.

  7. It took so much effort to set up my theme exactly how I wanted it I’m not game now to change it in case I muck it up. I will spend some time though checking links etc.

    I use picmonkey to edit my photos and make them as user friendly as possible by reducing the size right down. It doesn’t affect their appearance on the computer but it means they load much faster and they are completely unusable for anyone else.

    I really like these posts of yours because they give me a reminder and a refresher all in one! Thanks.

    1. Thanks so much for waiting so long for me to create w window of opportunity in my work schedule so I could reply to you. I do treasure comments but my work schedule is demanding and answering support forum questions consumes hours of my time.

      I think it’s quite common to get a theme done up to where you like it and become reluctant to change it or anything your personalized or customized on it. I’m the fickle and more adventurous type when it comes to themes. I try every new free theme out in my test blogs.

      Your image handling approach is a good one. I use picmonkey from time to time and other free online image editing programs too. I blogged my approach to images in this post http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2012/03/26/cropper-or-proper-image-preparation/

  8. As ever a useful post. Beautiful photos. Anyway, as I hate slow loading because I am too impatient I checked a couple of mine out. I suspected roughseas might be slow because it’s usually got photos (downsized) and sometimes videos. I wonder if the performance I got reflected the last but one post where I did a music feature and included some YT vids? Don’t know. Understood their scoring but the analysis escaped me. Clouds (usually text-based) scored highly. As you know, my sidebar is minimal on my blogs so that isn’t the issue.

    I’ll check out the broken links issue later.

    I know you like to change themes and try out new ones. When I find something that I think reflects my blog well enough, I see no reason to change, although I have sampled a few from time to time, but I didn’t think they worked as well as the current ones for what I’m trying to project.

    I have been thinking about tidying up my pages though. I think I have too many (on roughseas), so they are due for a revamp when I have the time. Nice reminder for yet another thing I need to do :D

    Spring? It already feels like summer here!

    1. Hi there,
      Yes, roughseas is slow loading. Your website is faster than 39% of all tested websites http://tools.pingdom.com/fpt/#!/cc8pzk/http://roughseasinthemed.wordpress.com/ I primarily attribute that to the fact that you choose to display full posts on the front page. If you inserted the more tag and also enabled infinite scroll I believe it would load more quickly. That sounds counter-intuitive I know, but I have tested this. Moreover, I answer questions almost every day on the support forums so I visit many blogs and have experienced many slow loading ones.

      I still like Twenty Eleven and especially like reading posts on their own page where there is no distracting sidebar content. Pages are useful ways to create indices to categories or other groupings of content, but I notice that when they are many in number visitors don’t use them as much as when there are just a few.

      P.S. in the evenings and at night I’m slogging through the rewrite of my presumably finished project which began again. I like the new approach and remarkably it was the approach I recommended in the first place, but I’m not going to be bitter and dwell on “I told you so” type thinking as it’s not helpful.

      1. I found that a really useful tool to test out the loading even if I didn’t understand it.

        I’ll take your word for it. I tend to set out my blogs like I like to read others. Given that Clouds is 2010 and similar to RS (minimal sidebar), the only difference I can see is that RS is heavy on pix. Clouds is the reverse of RS ie it’s 70+ % faster than all tested websites blah blah. RS also has more posts, and far more comments. But I’ll give it a go and see if it works. Even though I don’t like the more tag :D

        I agree with you about the pages, which is why I want to tidy them up. A bit like the sidebar, it will look cleaner. I think people looked at them when I first set them up, but otherwise I suspect they are unused – although I use the recipe one!

        Thanks for your advice, much appreciated as I know you try and direct us all to the support forums so it’s very good of you to provide it on here. Thank you.

        Tell me about projects ….. I’m just going to have to say. No. I am not going to do more within the agreed price.

        1. I loved reading your editing advice but because my work is all under non-disclosure contracts I can’t say anything at all about the projects I undertake. Do clients pay me big time for extra last minute after deadline rewrites?. Oh yes they do – you can count on me charging double payment because I won’t work for less.

          1. People think they can write. Maybe they can. (Usually they can’t). They need to know there is more to it than that. Simple.

            I am actually in the midst of recommending a woman to self-publish her story. It’s a good autobio. I like it, and it is well written.

            I do try and be charitable with my reviews, and offer initial advice for free, after that the money kicks in.

            I’ve been discussing the extras with Partner tonight. He wanted to go for more than me so your advice is very very timely. I haven’t replied yet. I’ve also been paid for the full job, so I’ve nothing to lose now, except future work. But there is a limit to working for peanuts and someone asking for extra outside T&Cs. Goodwill doesn’t pay the bills.

          2. I am a paralegal with a background as a legal librarian. I have been a self-employed low income earner working outside the establishment since the mid-1980’s. I strongly believe that clearly stated contracts are the foundation of all good business relationships.

            Business is business and I do nothing – nada – free of charge.

            One has to have contractual clauses that make it clear clients cannot just up and change their minds in mid-stream, thereby requiring hours of additional work, sometimes twice as much work, without paying for those hours.

            I insist that every potential client tenders a draft of what they want in writing first. Then I look over what they have for me to work on very quickly just to get the gist of the project. Then we meet and I keep the social chatter down to a bare minimum. Why? Because it’s my experience that the mouthy tend to be flighty, are frequently the least likely to be clear about what they want, are the most likely to go off on tangents, and are the least likely to want to pay for the true value of the work. If you think that sounds harsh then know I learned all of that the hard way.

            Thereafter, we contract. The time clock starts ticking and nothing – nada – is done outside of the terms of contract.

            Your partner may be correct about you undercharging but the real important part is clarity. Never ever waver when it comes to the value of your time and skills. Verbal contracts are trash. Make sure you hire a lawyer to produce a basic contract with optional clauses that you can use as a precedent to create a unique contract for each project. Contract wisely and don’t let anyone bully or manipulate you into changing anything after the fact by means of “verbal contract”. Moreover, know that written contracts can only be amended in writing under the signatures of all parties who originally contracted.

          3. Thanks for that. Don’t forget I run two businesses, well three actually.

            One is his decorating business.

            The second is my writing/editing business.

            The third is the block management company.

            The scale of work is not big enough to warrant a solicitor’s input.

            Here in Gib, a lot of us in construction do money up front for materials, and stage payments. Or a basic 50% up front, or they don’t do the work.

            I don’t do verbal for any of those businesses.

            All my (written) prices include T&Cs, and that includes some payment up front. There are too many people getting ripped off to take the risk of working for nothing.

            We priced a decorating job recently and she eventually accepted the estimate. Presumably after she’d tried to find a cheaper one. So I told her to send me her acceptance of my T&Cs in writing. I’m still waiting.

            Conversely I had someone wanting a job before Christmas, we agreed everything up front, he added on extra work which he paid for, he paid on the nail, and sent us a thank you mail saying how pleased he was with the job.

            No accept in writing? No get job done.

            The reason I will offer to read a few pages for free is because I am mainly internet-based. I can’t meet people and have a face to face discussion. I can understand there is some reluctance to employ people over the internet, so I’m happy to prove what I can do. No one has yet sent me anything without a mistake in it, and that includes books that have been through publishing houses and other editors.

            But when I start work on editing/writing I want 50% up front.

            Horses for courses I suppose. Now I need to sort out that wretched more tag whiich I loathe, and see if it improves RS :D

          4. I’m running two and that’s enough for me. re: “The reason I will offer to read a few pages for free” – understood and that’s make perfect sense to me as does the 50% up front.

          5. Any business involves some work up front ie you can’t price without looking at something. Decorating involves a visit to a job, working out a price, and then writing up the estimate. I’ve started just telling people a price and saying if they want the job doing, they can have a full estimate then, plus T&Cs, and the inevitable acceptance in writing.

            I priced one large (decorating) job, wrote up a two page spec, plus T&Cs, and they promptly nicked it and gave it to someone else and told them to undercut my price (I was the cheapest). A lesson learned. I got my revenge though. :) In a perfectly legal way, before you worry.

            Talking to a publisher yesterday who asked me what my rates were for proofing/editing/reviewing. I price per job. You can read a 500 page book with few errors and a 150 page one with loads that needs substantial editing too. All I could do was give an example of a recent project I’d done.

            I’d like to charge for reading a book to give a price. I’d like to charge for visiting somewhere and providing an estimate. But the world is competitive, and the truth is, I wouldn’t be prepared to pay to get a price for something that I didn’t like. The only annoying thing is that people don’t respect the time you put in to even getting work in the first place. But I’m not telling you anything you don’t know :D

    1. Hi Sara,
      I choose to separate my blogging life from my work life deliberately. When I began blogging the rampant commercialism and money grubbing had yet to rear their ugly heads. I pay for No-Ads upgrades for both blogs because I want to contribute to the best things in blogging and in life being free. I simply share what I learn without pretending to be an expert.

      I admire your dedication to personal blogging – accountability style so much. Your self-honest focus on being accountable for your health in your blog means it’s a model of a healthy personal blog. Blog on!

  9. Wow, thank you for this, timethief. You just answered one of the questions nagging me for some time now (about the “and more tag”) and given me a lot to think about. I’ve been wanting to revamp the blog a little for a fresher, cleaner look and I think your tips are a great place for me to start. Thanks and have a happy spring!

    1. Hi Ngan,
      I hope you didn’t give up on me replying to this comment. I work and sometimes I’ve got so much in front of me I have to choose work over my passion ie. blogging. We are at month’s end now and I’m making time today during the day to answer blog comments while working at night to meet my new deadline.

      Years ago there were debates over full articles or excerpts on the front page and in a few corners they still exist. As for me, I will never go back to placing full posts on the front page. I strongly prefer magazine style themes as excerpts allow a variety of choices for visitors. I tend to use themes with automatic front page excerpts but if they aren’t included in the design then I insert the more tag into each post. On that note, I think your blog looks great in Twenty Twelve.

      1. Thanks, timethief. I appreciate your reply and comments. I understand bloggers are busy and I don’t always expect a reply, unless I have a specific question. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on excerpts with me. I have started using the more tag as I don’t think Twenty Twelve has a front page excerpt format (at least not that I can find). I have been looking at other magazine style themes, but am still dedicated to Twenty Twelve. I’m a minimalist and the theme works for me. Good luck with your deadline!

        1. Hi Ngan
          I appreciate your patience re: delayed responses to comments. Sometimes I get so down about how far behind I am that I feel like closing comments but that doesn’t last for long as blogs are all about commenting.
          http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2014/01/02/blogs-are-about-comments-and-commenting/

          I don’t think any of the other free magazine style themes would present your fabulous food creations that Twenty Twelve does, but who knows which new themes that might do that when they are introduced in the future? I keep my eyes open when it comes to new free themes.
          http://en.wordpress.com/themes/filter/minimal/type/free/

          1. I took some time to go through the comments articles yesterday and found them very helpful. I enjoy interacting and getting to know readers through comments and think leaving thoughtful comments and inviting discussions are great ways to do this. Thank you again for all this info! Have a great day!

          2. Hi Ngan,
            I’m so happy to read that you went through that posts and liked what you found my articles on comments and commenting. You made my day. I hope your day is a great one too.

  10. Well at least I can change the background colour. I’ve been looking at different blog themes. Right now, I’m resistant to change because everything I’ve seen so far…I still like the scrolling slide header…and I’m looking for free themes. More and more the new ones are 80% fee-based. argggh.

    1. I like seeing Sight on your blog. I think it’s a good choice for showcasing your content, Jean. You are right about the new themes. It seems many are premium themes and like you I’m not prepared to pay for a theme.

  11. Thank you for this very useful post. I can get on board with a Spring Cleaning . . . . unfortunately when I start tinkering with my blog I get into “other theme envy.” I just love playing around previewing other themes. Hope all is well in your island in the woods . . . xxoo sue

    1. I know what you mean by other theme envy. I’m so fickle when it comes to themes. If there’s a new free minimalist theme you can count of me to be trying it out in my test blog.

  12. The great thing about this post is how much of what’s advised, I’ve already done. And that, of course, is a direct result of following your advice over the years. One by one, I’ve done the imporant things: limiting the number of posts on the front page, getting rid of the blogrolls, simplifying widgets, decreasing the size of photos and so on.

    Thanks so much for the refresher course. The next rainy day, it’s link-checking time! (And YouTube videos, too. Those things disappear far more often than I realized.)

    1. Thanks for your patience re: waiting for a response. Some months are more hectic for me than others are and this one was among theme. No sooner than I had completed a project than I got the news that it had to be redone from beginning to end and in short order too.

      I haven’t had any of my followers tell me that any youtubes have disappeared from this blog and I haven’t spotted any when updating posts. My fingers are crossed.

  13. Autumn’s a good time to spring clean as well and I’ve been thinking about either entering the read more button or changing themes – your post has given me simple, straight forward instructions; couldn’t be more timely. Thanks!

    1. Hi there,
      I’m so sorry it took me a long time to reply to your comment. I work and have been up to my eyeballs in writing to get a job done only to find I had to do it all again.

      I also think autumn is a great time to freshen up a blog. CSS editing provides a means of personalizing a blog that goes beyond the simple change we can make to headers, background. etc. and I like the customization you have done on the fonts of your theme.

      As a technical writer simplicity, clarity and brevity are what I aim for. And, I’m so glad to know you find my writing to be informative and easily understood.

      Happy blogging!

      1. Thanks. I know that the selection of fonts can get very technical. And not being technical I went with what, to my eye, was pleasing – aiming for something that might match my content. I still have to look into CSS editing – that’s a whole new learning curve.

  14. Thank you timethief again for some fab tips. I will look at that collage and I need to re tag some posts. On one of my blogs I’ve nearly used all my !media content allowance which is a real bummer I guess the only option is buying additional storage? X

      1. wow how do you hotlink? You mean get the image URL from the other blog and press control C on the blog you want it to go on, on the post? Not sure if I got that right hehe xx

        1. Oh my! I’m going to be caught out now giving sneaky instructions. If you upload images into one blog you can then hotlink to them in your other blog.

          Here’s an example of hotlinking to an image my latest blog post on my personal blog: train tracks

          All I did was copy and paste the code but I can’t illustrate that code here in a comment box as the software won’t let me.

  15. Thanks for the shout out on twitter. I was just reading over your blog! I have so much to learn about protecting my page and copyrights. I need to add a disclaimer or two myself to my blog. I am definitely working on it. I love your blog. What I love most is that you seem to know everything. You are an awesome resource. You should write a book, if you haven’t already.

    1. Oh my! I missed replying to this comment. I am so sorry. I’ve been caught up in meeting a deadline only to find a complete rewrite was required. http://thistimethisspace.com/2014/04/25/starting-over/

      Thanks so much for the kind words. It’s so good to know you benefit from what I share. I don’t know everything about WordPress blogging but I do answer many support forum questions that that gives me some insight into what bloggers need help with. Truth be told I have so much on my plate I can’t even imagine adding anything else to my to do list let alone writing a book. :)

    1. I think we all need to reconsider where we have been so we can chart the course for where we will go next. Thanks for letting me know I inspired you to take afresh look at your blog.

Comments are closed.