WordPress-3-9: Keep Calm and Carry On

Many WordPress.com users don’t know their sites are guinea pig sites that new WordPress software upgrades are tested on. The upgrades are done by Staff and introduced about a month before the developers fix the breakage and tweak the code and make the upgrade available to WordPress.org users for their self hosted sites.

All the new improvements we’re introducing today are part of the WordPress 3.9 release, which WordPress.com users test out first. These and other updates will be coming to all self-hosted WordPress sites in April. Meanwhile, you can already help test the second beta. From: Introducing Smoother Editing and New Playlists

keep calmIf you are noticing issues cropping up then see here please Changes to the Visual Editor, including Images and Paste from Word

I’ve been at WordPress.com for 8 years and I no longer sweat this stuff. I choose to simply wait it out and when the dust settles I learn which new hoops we have to jump through to accomplish what we were able to do before.

I no longer post into support forums threads reporting issues due to the changes and sharing what the “contributors” uncover because life is too short to spend it skipping rope in time with someone else calling the tune. I just remain calm and carry on by clicking into the next support forum thread where I can help someone.

 

40 thoughts on “WordPress-3-9: Keep Calm and Carry On

  1. You’ve helped me out of a few scrapes in the past. I don’t blame you for abandoning the ‘Help Line.” I make audio books for people to freely use on YouTube without any monetization. But one never knows when a sociopathic lawyer is going to come along and throw a monkey wrench into things. Lots of people are generous with their time and efforts. There are probably more who would be, if not for the sad fact that–

    The hard-core capitalists ruin everything.

    1. I just posted this, and I notice on my screen where I wrote “audio books” there is an advertisement to a retail seller of them. That came out of the blue. I have no association with these people, at. all. And I think it just goes to prove one of the evils of capitalism, as implemented by sociopaths.

      1. If the ads you see are found at the end of blog posts then provided you see this small About These Ads link http://en.wordpress.com/about-these-ads/ what you are seeing is WordPress.com generated advertising. Lastly, note to eliminate all advertising on our free hosted WordPress.com blogs we can purchase an annually renewable No-Ads upgrade. http://en.support.wordpress.com/no-ads/

        WordPress.com does not use text enhance or text link ads or pop-up ads or links in post text or comments. If you are seeing those then that’s a browser-ad-on issue, or in some cases, it’s embedded into free games downloaded from the internet.

        These sites have further explanation and suggestions for eliminating the ads: http://www.littletechiethings.com/2012/06/how-to-remove-ads-not-by-this-site.html http://blog.wikimedia.org/2012/05/14/ads-on-wikipedia-your-computer-infected-malware/ http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2012/09/14/bloggers-beware-of-adware/

        If you use the information at the sites I linked to and still see ads please post screenshot http://en.support.wordpress.com/make-a-screenshot/ Upload it to your Media Library, and start a thread in the support forums http://en.forums.wordpress.com/?new=1 to provide the file name so Staff can examine it. Then type modlook into the sidebar.

        1. Thank you so much, Timethief
          I didn’t even know I had a malware problem. Very kind of you to point me in the right direction like that. :)
          I have my computer back to normal.

  2. Where was this post 2-3 years ago when I freaked at every little thing? I literally laughed aloud as I read this. GREAT post – thank you so much. (YOU, by the way, have been generous with your time, knowledge and kindness, “holding my hand” through more than a few of the aforementioned freak-outs.)

    Also loved the comments – agree that the Reader is a hot mess for me to actually try to “read.” I “follow” only to support a fellow blogger, especially those who “follow” my own blogging efforts.

    SPEAKING OF WHICH — it is past time for me to pay a visit to your blog to like, follow, and leave a comment with a sincere thank you. (AND, if I may be vapid for a moment, tell you that I LOVE your hair!)

    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    1. Hi there Madelyn,
      Thanks for the kind words about the support I provide and my blog too. It’s always good to hear from an enthusiastic blogger.

      P.S. My hair is considerably longer now and I get rid of the Veronica Lake look by pinning it back on one side. :)

        1. I wasn’t too happy to see the white skunk streak happening at first but after my hubby and friends told me how cool they thought it was I decided I liked it. lol :D I won’t be cutting my hair any time soon. I just got the first haircut I have had in 2 years. It’s below my shoulders now and I started growing it out from a Audrey Hepburn style cap cut.

          1. My hair is fine, very thick and very strong. Fortunately my hair stylist and I have known each other for a couple of decades and there are never any “errors” when it comes to haircuts. All I got done was a trim on the ends and that’s all I wanted to get done. Truth be told the shorter Veronica Lake look suited be better but I want long hair again.

  3. Thanks for letting us know. I see things change often. Things that worked or were there yesterday are not there anymore or look different.

    I guess it makes sense for them to use the freeloaders as victims, I mean guinea pigs, lab rats…

  4. I see your responses on the wordpress support forum and you seem so knowledgeable that I thought I would try to contact you. I am new to blogging and picked wordpress because it advertised ease of use and availability to support; however, I have not been able to find support. Every post I have placed on the forum asking for help has received NO responses. My latest post: http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/new-post-email-notification-1?replies=1#post-1723289 is what I am most concerned about now. My followers are no longer receiving email notifications when I add a new post. I’ve searched for solutions. Nothing I have tried works. I have several other concerns that I haven’t had answered as well. Can you please point me in the right direction to how I can get support? I’m considering giving up because I can’t learn how to do this unless I can find the answers. Thank you: youngearthart.com (youngearthart@yahoo.com)

  5. I knew that we were guinea pigs but that comes from reading the forums which seem to be mainly run by helpful people like you and raincoaster.

    As for changes to the visual editor, never use the wretched thing, I like to be able to control the coding. Nor do I use Word. So fingers crossed, the latest round of glitches may avoid me :)

  6. Well, I have another question . . . I decided, based in part to your recent posts on reblogging, that I want to put all my fiction behind a password. I already have a different wordpress blog that has all my entries (right now it’s private) up to early last year.

    Other than exporting the whole file, reading it into the other blog and then delete extra stuff, is there any way to move only specific posts from one blog to another.

    Actually, this is where reblogging might come handy, but then I would still have to clean those up.

    I think if I reblog what I have in one blog to another blog I will have to rebuild links, and do more work.

    Any advice?

    1. Reblogs are excerpts – not whole posts.
      You will have to go with exporting and importing.
      Create a unique category then edit the posts in question and assign that category only to the posts you want to export and import. Then you will be able to move those posts only.

      1. Thanks. I did not realize I could export by category (I already have them in “fiction”).

        Actually, it looks like I can add passwords to individual posts. That might be easier for readers as they don’t have to go to another site..

        But, more and more I’m thinking I should just spend the money for my own site (non WP). I’ll lose the built-in audience, and in the short run I’ll have more headaches, but I should gain more control . . . decisions, decisions.

        Anyway, thanks again.

  7. The Paste from Word option is still a shambles in Firefox – all formatting stripped out. Chrome is somewhat better but not perfect. Windows Live Writer seems currently the best option, though that’s not saying a lot, as it is still as buggy as it ever was. I still prefer to write in Word – I’ve been using it for 15 years, I’m used to it – and paste into Writer, which then introduces random unwanted formatting – great slabs of italicised text, for example, and worse.

    I’ve always known we were the test-bed for the paying customers, but this current fiasco is way beyond what is acceptable – there has been no attempt by WP to ensure that Paste from Word is even remotely ready for use. It’s not a debugging exercise – we’re having to make it work from the ground up, and that is not our job – it’s what the staff are paid for.. Happiness Engineers my backside!

    Angry, me? Damn right I am!

    I’m constantly exhorted to “Go Premium” – but if I were to do so, would I, as I suspect, wind up both paying and still being saddled with this frequently dysfunctional platform?

  8. We will get what ever the staff decides to stuff down our blog – resistance is futile – they finally did add back in image resize in a coherent manner that lets an image be sized to a pixel count – but the staff does not seem to be on the ball enough to point that out – and when staff said percentage scaling was not coming back – they did not point out the other ways to scale an image.

    the loss of the ability to pad the side of an image without html is stupid, but what the heck – they will just declare victory and keep smiling – the staff like their jobs too much to not keep the company line in the forum and other public areas –

    the pixel level size is back and I really do need that so I guess I should be happy – the stretch and whatever was something I don’t think I ever used, same with the % sizing – Oh well

    1. You are right resistance is futile and there’s no indication that we users will ever be consulted prior to sweeping changes like these have been.

    1. There has no been a response as yet but the thread is not dead. I believe the answer will be that unless a person actually clicks into a blog there will be no page view stat created. if that’s the case and I’m pretty sure it is then I’m doing the right thing and have always been doing the right thing. I never ever read posts in the Reader.

      1. I never read posts in the Reader either. Want to help bloggers stats. Plus, I like to have my posts come via email. What can I say? I’m old fashioned.

        Hugs from Ecuador,
        Kathy

  9. I’m with you. Changes will be made. We will get no warning. Things will be quirky. Then things settle back down. And we figure out how to make things work.

    It’s a blog – not supposed to be a major stress source…there’s enough of those, so just hang on and roll with it.

    (8 years. Whew! Well done)

  10. You’re awesome as always! Question (this is totally off topic) here. Can one switch their current WordPress URL to a new one and keep all content and followers? You can email me if you like.
    Thanks!

          1. I read the links you gave me and girl, it looks confusing. I bet I’ll blow up my Blog….LOL

Comments are closed.