Reblogging Questions Remain Unanswered

Reblogging is a controversial issue that always brings lots of comments.  Staff have published a post providing some reblogging etiquette tips that I do recommend reading. But I`m not looking for comments as much as I am looking for answers from Staff, who have my comment in moderation.

All Rights Reserved – Any content reblogged from one cool site must adhere to the terms of © Copyright

Our content does not belong to WordPress.com but under the Terms of Service we’ve still given WordPress.com the right to use it and that’s where reblogging comes in.

When all is said and done about reblogging etiquette, the fact that remains is that any WordPress.com blogger can reblog your post and no permission is required. They can ignore any and all copyright notices regarding reblogging. They can tell you to slam it in your ear if you choose to ask them not to reblog your content and/or to please remove your reblogged content from their blogs. Or they can ignore you scroll down and read the comment here.

In fact, as authors of the content we bloggers have no control over how much of our  text is reblogged, and/or which images if any are included in the reblog. Staff made the decisions for us and provided no rationale for the decisions that were made.

When I published Worrisome (or not) WordPress.com Reader Developments I was worried. I am no longer worried. I want answers and I want to know why the answers are not found in the support documentation.

I have posted comments on the Staff post I directed you readers to above in my second sentence. What’s below remains in “moderation”,  despite the fact the other other less meaty comments I submitted were automatically approved and posted there.

real

1. I want the ability to control exactly how many words are reblogged as per my copyright policy. Why do users not have that ability now?

2. I want the ability to select exactly which image if any at all will appear in the reblog and appear in my Media Library. Why do users not have that ability now?

3. I want the ability to disable the reblog link in the Reader as well as the like link and the sharing links. Why do users not have that ability now?

4. I want a clear answer from Staff about reblogs and stats. When a reblog link, which I cannot disable from displaying in the Reader, is clicked does that create page view stat on the blog it was reblogged from? Why is that not made clear to us in the support documentation on reblogs and stats entries?

Here are my Off-site Activity and Stats questions that I want unequivocal  Staff answers to. Please be sure to bookmark that support forum thread.

Addendum: Please understand that I love WordPress and I respect WordPress Staff but I’m deeply concerned about how how much distance there seems to be between the decisions makers and the end users they make decisions on behalf of. We aren’t consulted before decisions are made as that would be too cumbersome to do given that we number in the millions and I accept that.  I’m more concerned that we aren’t fully informed of all the facts, and that no rationale is ever presented for the decisions that have been made.

 

Related posts:

WordPress Followers, Likes and Stats
Blogging, Bean Counting and Social Networking
WordPress.com Follower Management
WordPress.com: Who Follows Who?
Thumbs Down on WordPress Reblogging

93 thoughts on “Reblogging Questions Remain Unanswered

  1. Hi Timethief!
    Question, when and if someone does “reblog” your content or a blog post you’ve written, what do you do? Do you notify them that you have a copyright? Or do you let it go as a compliment? Someone following my blog wants to constantly reblog my stuff.
    Thanks

    1. There is no way to prevent reblogging.
      http://en.support.wordpress.com/reblogs/
      http://en.support.wordpress.com/reblogs/#are-there-any-restrictions-on-who-can-reblog-posts

      I choose not to display the reblog button at all with the sharing icons.
      http://en.support.wordpress.com/sharing/

      I also choose not to approve any pingbacks from those who choose to reblog my posts.

      Yes, there are people who reblog every post some bloggers publish. I report them to Terms of Service Staff by going to the front of the blog in question clicking the report this content link. Then I click the report as spam link and complete the form insisting such parasite blogs be made private.

  2. Hi timethief.
    I’ve been having a conversation with a WordPress support person about 2 of my posts that were reblogged by a ‘person’ who reblogs between 700 and 900 posts a month. This person also used all my images from those posts, and most of my words.

    In addition to removing the posts, I also asked WordPress to make sure that my photos were removed from the rebloggers Media library. The support person said they would try to do that. However, I was also told that the WordPress legal team says copyright law only applies to the public display of copyrighted materials. A blogger’s Media Library is not publicly viewable and images contained therein, that are not attached to a blog post, are not on public display.

    I take that to mean that WordPress justifies putting those images in a rebloggers Media Library because it is not on public display. They haven’t told me yet how they can guarantee me that those images have not, and will not be used for publication in another post.

    1. 700 and 900 reblogged posts a month! That’s insane and makes me wonder what the mental state of that cyber hoarder is. I do understand the legal part about the Media Library being private but I don’t think the feature ought to exist at all. IMNHO it’s long past time for WordPress.com to bury the reblogging feature where the sun don’t shine. It’s been 4 long years since it was implemented and it has caused grief. The fact that WordPress.com provides that feature legitimatizes its use in the manner you describe and that chokes me. If they got rid of it then we could make DMCA complaints and drive the cyber hoarders right off this platform for good.

      1. I have now been informed that WordPress cannot look at the rebloggers Media library because that would be a breach of their privacy. It is now my responsibility to monitor the internet to see if my photos pop up without attribution or permission, and then I can file a DMCA notice.

  3. Since I left my original comment I’ve read through most of the comments here. I’ve been blogging for a little under a year, but I just about never read about blogging itself, and so did not know much about reblogging nor that it is controversial. The fact that a significant number of people do not like reblogging would certainly make me have second and third thoughts were I ever considering doing it. (Plus in general, I have an aesthetic preference for my blog’s content being my own writings).

    As to why WordPress has set things up like this and seems unwilling to engage in dialogue about this issue…. I tend to have a fairly cynical outlook, especially when it comes to corporations, but I’m guessing that, presumably WordPress has an interest in people using their product, and with the reblogging feature they are providing users with a way of generating posts with a minimum of time/effort (i.e., no need to come up with original content, just hit a button and use someone else’s). So basically they have found a way to make the content that’s been posted to various WordPress blogs “go further” through (potentially limitless?) reuse, leading to…what? More clicks on WordPress sites; WordPress sites occupying a larger chunk of the internet; more time and energy spent on WordPress as opposed to other parts of the internet?

    Or is there another way of looking at things?

Comments are closed.