How to Keep Your Blog Safe

computer abstractUpdated February 25th, 2015. Hacking attempts aimed to corrupt or destroy online data and/or embed viruses or malware in sites are common. You’ve invested more than time and effort into your blog and you don’t want to lose your content or see it corrupted, so it’s important to ensure your data is as safe as it can be.

English: A candidate icon for Portal:Computer ...
English: A candidate icon for Portal:Computer security (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

© Any content reblogged from one cool site must adhere to the terms of © Copyright All Rights Reserved

If any person or any bot is posting anything to your blog or deleting anything from it then odds are that you have provided them with the ability to do so,

by adding them as official users,

and/or by allowing them access to your login information,

or by posting content that makes it easy for them to guess what your log-in information is.

It doesn’t take much effort to hack into a blog when security protocols aren’t followed. Here are some tips from How to Prevent and React to a WordPress Hack Attack.

  1. Be the only Admin on your blog and restrict users to the minimal level of access required.
  2. Guard your login information. Do not share log-in information with anyone or leave it where anyone can locate it.
  3. Do not remain logged in so anyone can come along and access your blog through your computer, mobile or tablet.
  4. Never use the same password on multiple accounts. Set strong unique passwords for every account and do not your passwords or PINs with others.
  5. Use the secure https:// login.
  6. To add another layer of home security set up two step authentication a second step to the log-in process that no one but you can access.
  7. If you don’t use them then: Disable post by email and Disable post by voice.
  8. If you do use another computer, delete your “Temporary Internet Files” or “Cache” and clear your “History” after you log out of your account.

Discussion

Has your blog ever been hacked?

Related posts:

WordPress.com Username Accounts, Logins and More
Keep Your Passwords Safe
10 Ways to Protect Against Email Spam
Disaster Planning: Backups for Bloggers

45 thoughts on “How to Keep Your Blog Safe

  1. Thanks as always for the support help! I was wondering, if you had a chance, will the fact that I had that post up for 6 hours be held against my blog? Do you know that kind of stuff? Again thanks for the speedy help!

    -OM

  2. Excellent advice as always timethief – I remember a concern I had when I first started my blog. Thanks for the reminder! I’m glad my blog is safe :)

  3. I was Phished a couple of weeks ago when enrolling in a class through my phone. I was contacted through WordPress that Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers wanted to change my password. WP stopped the hackers but I changed my password to one with a capital letter along with longer numbers.
    Thanks for the reminder and tips!

  4. Fortunately I observe all those points, to the point where my login password was randomly generated by a special security program and stored in a separate secure program. Actually if that program dies, so would my blog as I would not be able to log back in. I’m surprised at the lack of security steps some people take, like using password as their password.

    1. We are on the same safety conscious page. It’s astounding but there are not only those who use password as a password but those who use look at the top line of letters on the keyboard and use qwertyuiop.

  5. Thanks time thief for sharing valuable information through this post. I think it is very important not to remain logged in. I have done it and I will check myself in future. Using different passwords and those too unique ones can surely help. I have not been targeted yet but I need to be more careful. Thanks once again for talking about a very important issue that effects us all. Take care and God bless.

    1. I’m so happy to read that you will be more careful about not remaining logged in. It would be such a shame to find your content has been corrupted or deleted.

  6. Great post.

    I didn’t know about https-only access to admin. I just hadn’t looked at the personal settings on my profile page. I wonder how many people do?

    1. Hi David,
      I think https-only admin access is probably something most bloggers aren’t aware of. I wouldn’t be aware of it if I wasn’t answering support forums questions and seeing what arises there.

  7. thank you for the safety tips. I have implemented your suggestions. I haven’t been hacked but I have had some dodgy comments get past spam and made me pleased wordpress has the option for me to approve before they land out in public.

    1. It’s good to know you acted on my tips. :) Comment moderation is a fabulous feature. Without it our blogs would be covered with spam.

  8. Good advice, many thanks.Such a pity that the very fertile minds of the crooks are not directed to competent entrepreneurship.

  9. [ Smiles ] Nice pointers on keeping one’s blog safe.

    And, to answer your question: I have never had my blog hacked.

  10. If you want your blog to be public, disclose only what you want everyone on the Internet to know. Otherwise, keep your blog private.

Comments are closed.