Blogs are About Comments and Commenting

As we are entering the season when traffic reaches its lowest ebb this may be a good time to focus on Comments and commenting. The links to featured content below provide a quick means of finding posts of interest in that Category.  To enter discussion please scroll to the bottom of this post.

© All Rights Reserved – Any content reblogged from one cool site must adhere to the terms of © Copyright

comment bubble1. WordPress.com Comments and Discussion Settings – Not every blog requires comments but most are created by bloggers who are eager to enter discussion and are aimed at community building. The ease or difficulty readers experience when commenting on a blog will influence whether or not they return to will comment again.

2. Why blog comment moderation is a good thing – A question I am frequently asked by frustrated new bloggers is how to attract more visitors to their blog. Some believe that allowing anonymous commenting will result in more comments. Maybe so but how but how many will be authentic?…

3. Dealing with Annoying Subscribers – We all blog for validation and that means we want subscribers. The vast majority of subscribers will be great people you want to have following you but there may be exceptions. The exceptions could someone you are connected to like an ex-partner, a relative or a business associate, or they could be an internet troll…

comment bubble4. Encouraging blog readers to comment – Create a welcoming space. Choose a blog design and color scheme that creates a relaxing environment so readers will be inclined to read your posts and consider the contents. Be sure the design you choose has a clearly-identifiable spot for comments, and make any instructions easy to understand and follow. Do…

5. Blogging: Comment Baiting – There are many ways that you can encourage your readers to comment. The way you structure your posts can have the effect of drawing out comments. This can be achieved by using a question in the title and/or question(s) at the end of the posts as well. You can also make reference to being interested…

6. Crafting Quality Blog Comments – Comments are powerful. We all love to receive quality comments that are specific and personalized; timely and on-topic. They provide the necessary fuel for discussion and include ideas for future posts. The truth is that comments are NOT a real measure of how good your posts are. According to Michael Dick’s Rules of Engagement, 75%…

comments7. A comment policy for your blog – Creating a new blog can be an exciting and joy-filled process. Waiting for your first comments to appear can be charged with eager anticipation and emotionality. It can also be a downer if you receive one or more troll comments. Some bloggers fear that if they restrict commenters, they’ll lose readership. I prefer to shun…

8. Your Comments: Who Owns Them? – We all ought to own up to comments we make but who owns your comments? Some places allow editing and deletion of your own comments and some don’t. Have you ever submitted a comment to another blogger’s blog and then wanted to edit or even delete it and discovered it’s captive? …

9. Mark Only Spam as Spam – Spam! There is no single accepted definition, but I think most bloggers will agree, spam is unwanted commercially motivated electronic communication (not limited to email), that’s a likely a source of malware. I think most bloggers will also agree on what isn’t spam. No commenter should be shut out of discussion on your blog because…

comments quotes10. Keeping your blogging cool – Comments are very powerful and can be benefit your blog. Regardless of your niche or your intent when publishing a post sometimes discussions can give rise to unexpected controversy and it’s important to keep a safe environment for discussion on your blog. Knowing how to deal effectively with spammers, annoying subscribers, negative comments and trolls…

11. Blogger Under Attack – No matter how thick skinned you may think you are any personal attack hurts. One that defames your personal reputation or your brand is bound to trigger anger. However, reacting emotionally rather than responding intelligently is extremely unwise. Take your time to consider the actions you can take before you respond …

12. Article Writing and Commenting Increase Backlinks to Blogs – m My earlier article 16 Different Link Building Strategies is a good introduction to this one so I recommend at least skim reading it. This article highlights two methods of increasing targeted traffic to your blog and links as well. The value of a website from search engines point of view varies according the number of…

comment bubble13. Six free comment tracking services for bloggers – If you have ever posted comments or questions on blogs or websites and then forgot to bookmark them, then you may be happy to learn that there are free blogging tools and services that will do the remembering for you. This post will introduce you to some of free comment tracking tools and services you…

14. Crazymaking Blogger Comment Settings – Commenting is a key element of blogging and nothing is more frustrating than composing a comment only to discover that the software won’t accept it. Invalid URL! …

Special mention: eurello, our Happiness Engineer published Making Conversation: How to Think Up Good Comments that’s good to consult when you can’t think of anything to say.

Discussion

To some freedom of expression is what blogging is all about, so comments may not necessarily be desired or required if all one wants to do is broadcast their own points of view. However, to most bloggers discussion is what blogging is all about so comments are encouraged. I treasure comments and blog from that point of view and I’m betting my readers do too. What say you?

91 thoughts on “Blogs are About Comments and Commenting

  1. Sorry about the off topic comment but this blog is like TV Tropes. I come to read one article a 30 minutes later I’ve gone down the rabbit hole. Not that that’s a bad thing. :)

    1. Peter,
      I am aware of the site you provided the link for as I used to follow it. It’s hilarious but Don hasn’t posted since 2012 so I hope he’s still with us.

  2. I love comments although I don’t get them as often as I would like. I also have a FB page for my blog and often get more comments there about a post than on the actual post. Not exactly sure why that is but I’ll take what I can get. The only reason I can think of is that non-bloggers are more familiar with FB than commenting on blogs.

  3. Hi TT :D

    It’s been many moons since I last visited One Cool Site. I saw your like on another blog so I thought I would pop over and say “hi”. And the first post is this one. Fantastic !!

    My posts are totally geared for comments, where we all have a lot of fun. I just love comments and the interaction between bloggers.

    I have read through your replies on this post and you interact well with variety and knowledge. Love it !!

    Bloggers that don’t reply or just say a simple thanks don’t get a return visit from me. Yet, others with brilliant posts hardly get a like, shame really, so I do comment.

    I hope your cold clears up soon and have a great 2014 TT. Ralph xox :D

    1. Hi there Ralph,
      You are right. It’s been a long time since we connected and it’s good to see your image here. I’m happy to know you appreciated this post and the comments. My Readers are gold. I love theme dearly and I’m so pleased they continue to discuss what I post in comments.

      Best wishes with your blog.

      P.S. I have explained that and what I have been up to here > http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2014/01/05/blog-challenges-for-blog-improvement/ and you may be interested in joining too.

      1. I agree. Readers and commenters are gold. Some of them becoming friends enough to visit me in real life. I am grateful to WP for that. :D

  4. Thank you for this information, I was just wondering what happened with usual traffic. I hope next month will be better :) . Also I have one question: my blog topic is specific and I am writing in my mother tongue in a country where WordPress is not very popular, so what to do to connect more with the people? I was searching for a blogs with a similar content but there are not any. Thank you in advance! :-D

    1. I’m sory I cannot speak your language. I used Google trnslate here http://translate.google.com/translate?sl=auto&tl=en&js=n&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&u=volimteotoce.com&act=url to determine what you blog is about.

      If you provide translation that may bring your more readers.

      We do not have FTP access and we bloggers cannot install any plugins, we cannot use Microsoft or Google translation widgets or any others, as they are JavaScript and it’s stripped out to preserve security on this multiuser blogging platform. http://en.support.wordpress.com/code/
      http://en.support.wordpress.com/code/#javascript

      However, I have translation on my WordPress.com blogs. There are two workarounds and you will find them here > http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2011/02/14/translation-widget-for-wordpress-com-blogs/
      Note: You can copy and paste the code on my Translations page and then replace every occurrence of my blog’s URL in the code with your own blog’s URL.

      To locate similar blogs this may help
      http://www.similarsitesearch.com/alternatives-to/volimteotoce.com

    1. Thank you for the compliment. Feel free to use my index pages at the top and or the Categories widget in the sidebar to locate what you need and best wishes with your blog.

  5. I love your blog! So informative and awesome tips for a newbie as myself. I’ve been following Zenhabits for a few years now, Leo is fabulous!

      1. Great to meet you!! Leo taught me everything I know about minimalism and I drive my family nuts with it…lol

          1. I`m happy to know you are having fun. I was all set to have fun by creating a new post for each on my three blogs today but I made the colossal error of entering the support forums and starting to help folks. I`m still there answering questions, while coughing my head off and wishing this cold would go away.

          2. Sorry to hear you’re dealing with a cold. I know how it is when you get on forums. I’ve been in social media for years and Facebook was my second home. I gave it all up almost a year ago to focus on family and face to face relationships. Guess it’s still in my blood as here I am..LOL Get better soon!

  6. Excellent advice on how to attract comments and to exercise patience in waiting for “real” comments to your blog. Slow and steady might not be exciting, but it can win the race. Or, at least, it did for the turtle (but not the hare). ;-)

    1. Thanks and ummm … yes and no, Judy. It was actually the tortoise and not the turtle who won the race. I appreciate your compliment and thank you for allowing me to be somewhat cheeky in this response. :D

      1. This is why I love commenting with people who are witty, humorous, thoughtful and well-read. Technically, you’re right. It was the “Tortoise and the Hare.” BUT, the tortoise is a turtle. ;-)

        1. Okay, okay. So Tortoises and Turtles are both reptiles from the family of Testudines, the major difference being that the land dwelling ones are called Tortoises and water dwelling ones are called Turtles. Turtles, of course, don’t race on land and I don’t think Hares are good swimmers. ;) lol

  7. I don’t think I would blog if people didn’t comment at all. I used to think it was all very superficial and engineered but now I appreciate all the comments I get and am delighted when people re-appear who I haven’t heard from in a while. It is very comforting if you are low in mood to know that someone has taken the time to say hello across the void and is listening even if only for the minute it takes them to scan the page.

    1. Dear Joanna,
      I’m surprised that you think that way. You are a conversational type and I like reading the discussion between you and your readers, who seem to be accomplished cooks. I’m an accomplished scullery maid married to a guy who feeds me so I keep a low profile on your blog. I have nothing meaningful to add to cooking conversations so I collect links that I place on sticky notes near hubby’s computer as subtle suggestions for future food adventures. Yes comments are to be treasured but I recall blogging for ages without getting any comments or followers. I suppose I am the kind of personality who could blog in my new blog without having comments open but I don’t think I’ll close them.

      P.S. I launched into what should have been a post that you may or may not want to read down here http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2014/01/02/blogs-are-about-comments-and-commenting/#comment-89223

      Love you

      1. Morning to you dearheart! I don’t quite understand what you mean, but my fault for maybe not giving the backstory. I will try to explain, not sure if it is of interest though…

        I came to blogging from a forum which I loved where I had many online friends, the forum was closed and I missed it terribly, so a friend from there suggested a blog instead, hence my focus was always on conversation and sharing and giving back in the way that my old forum mentors did for me.

        I have a couple of other blogs, a poetry one and a private one, I rarely post to either and don’t link them to my main blog. I had comments from the start from my bread forum friends who already had blogs (and understood the value and importance of welcoming people to the community with comments and encouragement) and from their friends, a very supportive and nurturing group of people, so I guess I started in a different place and have a very different experience of how I came into WordPress and how it works.

        I could start a blog cold turkey under a new username etc and see what happens and how many months it but I am not sure that I have the energy and time (or even a reason?) to do that right now. love to you !

        1. Dear Joanna,
          Thanks so much for sharing your backstory. Yes it was important for me to read as it puts things in perspective. You had such a great start online. You entered blogging from a happy and supportive forum after it closed. You started blogging with some support from friends and that’s so wonderful, despite the fact it led to high expectations.

          Contrast that with my backstory. I didn’t feel respected and supported where I was. I felt like I was being judged for initiation into some kind of club and the whole episode resembled introducing a new hen into the henhouse. I could write far better than the hens who worked me over. Yet, I felt like I was under the gun to comment on their posts which I found to be uninteresting, maudlin and self pitying.

          I’m not the shy type of introvert. I’m a self confident non-conformist. So it wasn’t a case of having nothing to say, Joanna. It was a case of having nothing meaningful to say that would be graciously accepted if I said it.

          In the end I decided the investment of time and energy it would have taken to respond in a meaningful way to self absorbed nonsense published by women, who were determined to wear victim T-Shirts their whole lives long just wasn’t worth the effort. Like any teenager (adolescent blogger), who felt unable to say what she really thought, I rebelled against the pressure to conform and marched right out the door.

      2. PS… I feel I have climbed into a small hole here and am scrabbling to explain properly. …. I just read your reply again and maybe I am still misunderstanding. I hope you know that I didn’t mean you personally. I don’t expect comments from the majority of the silent readers who pass through or indeed anyone in particular on my blog, I have personal friends and family who read it (or so they tell me!) and rarely comment if ever. I am always pleased and touched to get comments and I accept them with a loving heart and a smile.

        1. I love your authenticity and I did not assume you were judging me. I’m so self confident (read that as ego-driven) that I assumed you did not have any expectations re: comments from me. :) I wanted to express that I’d hate to see you give up blogging because I like you and your blog so much.

  8. Happy New Year TiTi and hope you are feeling much better soon!
    Commenting is such a funny business – some of my favorite blogs get very few comments and it can feel a little lonely, if not stalkerish, being the one always there with the lonely comment which is why I appreciate the “like” button. Some bloggers seem more than happy to slip a post under the door then slip away, mostly men. These same people never visit my blog, not that I know of anyway, and that is also fine with me. I like their work so much and find it inspiring. Having said that, I am so grateful for the comments I get on my blog!

    1. Hi Patti,
      As you already know I love your images and visit your blog frequently but I rarely comment. Well all I can say is I suffer from not having anything meaningful to say that doesn’t resemble – excellent post! That’s why I do appreciate having a like button I can click. What I appreciate even more is that you do draw me into discussion in comment boxes on my blog and I’m not clear how you do that. I’m just grateful that it happens.
      Love you

  9. I like comments on my blog too. expecially the ones that are true and they comment accordantly on the post itself.happy new year and i hope you will be, on a quick recovery soon

    1. Dear one,
      Sincere and on topic comments are to be treasured for sure. Thanks so much for the get well soon wish. No one dies of a cold they just feel like they might. lol :D

  10. @timethief I agree with you,although we never meet before or knowing each other because we just comment on the Cyber World,we should keep respectful each other when made some Comments,but keep Polite and not made some Abuses with our Comments also Objective and Fair.

    1. Hi there,
      I think that most people behave the same way online as they do offline, and whether we are offline or online our behavior and speech ought to be respectful and fair minded.

  11. When I started blogging back at the dawn of time, comments were a given. Everyone in the blogosphere chatted. Now ppl seem reluctant to get involved preferring to lurk on the edges. It frustrates me because I want my blog to have a sense of community, but cannot find bloggy friends who interact on a regular basis.

    I like your suggestions & will give them a go. Crossing my fingers that the good ole days of commenting/community will return to my blog. Thanks for the ideas.

    1. Hi Ally Bean
      It sounds like we both remember the good old days. Back in the day when we said we blogged we had to explain what blogging was. These days when every agent, publisher, marketer, teacher and business coach insists that everyone needs to blog, even new moms are creating blogs for babies that may not make it to full term. No, I’m not kidding about that.

      I’ve accepted that the way it was before the blogosphere became a giant marketplace resembling a mall with revolving doors is gone forever – more’s the pity.

      I do hope my ideas help you attract the kind of readers you are targeting. Happy New Year!

      1. I agree with you that the blogging is a whole different animal now. I continue on with mine knowing that adjusting my expectations will keep me happy and that all I can do is write about what I know. If people choose to comment, so much the better, eh?

        1. The change has been a dramatic one and I don’t welcome feeling like I’m in a huge market/mall but that’s the atmosphere now. Some blog to flog products and services. Some blog for an income. Most, like us, blog for pleasure because it’s our passion.

          Researching, composing and publishing a post fills me with a sense of accomplishment so I am happy and smiling when I’m done. Yes, it would be lovely to get lots of comments but I don’t allow myself to have high expectations and become discouraged when they aren’t fulfilled. I don’t want to lose the enjoyment of blogging. So I remind myself that people are busy and they may have read and appreciated the post but had no meaningful comment to leave because I’m frequently in that position.

          1. :) Our blog is not our self. It’s a watery reflection of only some aspects of our self. We are enough just as we are. We are worthy of our own respect and love. We may want more encouragement and support for continuing our own pursuits, and the best way to get it is by encouraging and supporting others in their pursuits. But, if they don’t reciprocate then the timing was wrong for them and that’s okay. What we produce is still good work and it’s important that we recognize it stands on its own. Remaining self supporting, productive and happy bloggers is key to continuing to both enjoying what we do and gaining followers because negativity is neither encouraging nor an attractor. lol :D (I sound like a life coach.)

  12. Great post! IMO, the discussions prompted by posts, the connections made and developed, are the best part of blogging. :) I never understand when I see someone ask about driving traffic, increasing subscribers…and then they say they never comment on others blogs, and I visit their blog and see they haven’t replied to comments.

    1. @mrs fringe
      We get bloggers like you describe posting to the support forums.

      There’s little doubt that commenting and responding to comments generates more comments. Responding when someone speaks to you offline is a given as it’s a common courtesy. Responding to comments we get on our blogs is an extension of that common courtesy.

      However, sometimes we are sick or busy offline and cannot reply immediately. And, there may be times we may approve comments intending to reply to them later and unintentionally overlook them so they fall through the cracks. Those things have happened to me before. I have been embarrassed by them and I know they may happen again.

      Granted that reciprocity can go a long way when it comes to commenting and community building but it’s important not to expect it or demand it. I experienced that gun to your head reciprocity demand years ago at a diary style blogging site that I won’t name here, and it almost resulted in me quitting blogging completely.

      The majority in any society may be extraverts but 25% – 40 % are introverts and that’s significant number. Though extroverts are the overwhelming majority ie. they are as common as the grass, they have no right to bully introverts and shun those, who do not respond to their insecure and childish demands. It’s high time our society began to value introverts and tell the majority to please speak less often and learn how to find the value there is to be found when they aren’t yammering.
      http://thistimethisspace.com/2012/03/05/quiet-and-societys-extroversion-bias/

      No one has ever been successful when it comes to extorting behavior from me (understatement). I will never ever get into a tit for tat – follow me I’ll follow you – comment on all my posts and I’ll comment on yours – type of scenario again. I’m far too deep into psychology and far too much of a free bird to be caged into that kind of thinking.

      As for my own blogs, I do have many followers who don’t comment and I wish them all well. If people sincerely appreciate what I post and prefer to click a “like” button, rather than trying to contrive something to state in a comment box then that’s okay with me, because I’m an introvert, who functions as an ambivert, and I don’t comment frequently or nearly as well as many expect me to.

      Sheesh … this could have been a post. lol :D

      1. LOL, it’s a big topic, and important :)

        I’m glad you took the time to expand and make the distinction, because I agree with you. We can’t *always* respond, or respond right away. I was thinking more about bloggers who never respond to comments on their blogs, and then wonder why they don’t get more comments. :)

        And yes, not everyone comments, and that is completely fine. I also appreciate any and all followers who take the time to read, clicking “like” or commenting is a bonus, but I don’t expect everyone to do so. I don’t, there are many more blogs that I follow, and then more that I read without officially following, but don’t comment on.

        I think that’s part of what I’ve grown to love about blogging, being able to connect with so many, hear the thoughts, learn new things, without the obligation of a strict this is THE way to run a blog, be a blogger, be a blog reader.

        Hope today is a good one for you, TT! <3

  13. You are a blog saver, timethief. This advice couldn’t come at a better time. For that matter, I’m going to bookmark it. I’m not getting the comments desired and now I know to take that even more seriously. I wish you and your family the best of years in 2014!

    1. Hi there dharmabeachbum,
      Do be aware that even A List bloggers get very few comments on their posts. The ratio of one comment to every 700 – 900 views is common. Also know that many of us blogged for weeks and months before gaining any comments or followers. That said, very best wishes for more comment in 2014.

  14. Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well, timethief. Hope you feel better soon! Another fantastic post, full of useful information, especially for a blogger who still has a lot to learn (me!). This is an unrelated question, but you’re the only one I can turn to. My photo & original recipe were published by a website without my permission. I asked that they take them down, but received no response. I found out who the host is for the site, but couldn’t find any legitimate contact except for a company address. Is sending them a letter the only option? Thanks, timethief, for being so helpful all the time. Ever thought about teaching a class on blogging 101? I’d be the first to register! XOXO, Angie.

    1. Hi there,
      I have a cold and it too will pass – soon I hope.Thanks for the get well wishes.

      I’m so sorry to read that you experienced content theft.
      See here for how to file a DMCA complaint http://en.support.wordpress.com/content-theft-what-to-do/
      Some more tips here: http://manolofood.com/whine-journalism-and-how-to-bring-the-splashback/ including in the comments.

      Ever thought about teaching a class on blogging 101? I’d be the first to register!

      I’m not into teaching right now as I have too much on my plate. Staff are running a Zero to Hero 30 day blogging challenge and you ought to join. I registered my new blog in it. We are only on day two and it doesn’t matter if your start late. See here http://dailypost.wordpress.com/zero-to-hero/

      1. Thank you so much, timethief, for your reply and the links. After researching about this issue last night and pretty much the whole day today, I’ve come to realize and understand that I’m dealing with a splog owned by a pretty shady company, and I think they’re doing illegal blog scraping. Wow, listen to me, with all these technical terms! :-) I’m not the only one they’re stealing from, obviously. I’m surprised nobody else had found out and lodged a complaint! I emboldened myself and filed the DMCA complaint to pinterest and the offending pin (using my photo) that directs people to the splog had been removed as all the repins that it had generated. That’s encouraging. I have yet to decide what to do next, but thanks for the help again! Your site truly is one cool site. XOXO, Angie.

        1. Hooray! You scored. I’m so happy to read that. Please do bookmark raincoaster’s article that I linked to because it rocks and content theft is rampant. I’m not going to bother blogging on the subject because she said it all and said it well in that article.

  15. I see your name everywhere and clearly you know blogging. I have a question about SPAM. I tried the forum and searched but could not get my question answered. I hope it is ok to ask you now.
    On 2 posts I created, I had someone “like” them. When I clicked on their picture, it was an ad for something. Then a red box came up like I was getting a virus. Luckily I have good virus software, but now I can’t get rid of these 2 peoples pictures. I tried to report them, but how do I do that?
    Thank you.

  16. When I first started blogging I was very hesitant to comment – I didn’t want to intrude into other people’s spaces. I didn’t get the etiquette. Now I am careful to try to say something interesting and specific to the post (rather than just about me), particularly if the post moves me or I learn something from it.

    Until I read it on your site, I didn’t realize that leaving comments led to links used for SEO rank. But I did notice that some comments I left months ago on other blogs still generate traffic to my blog, which is fun when it happens.

    Feel better- hope you have a healthy and happy 2014.

    1. Hi Jamie Ray,
      I am awkward when it comes to commenting and have struggled with this for 9 years now. The written words scare me. I look at the words in the comment box and decide they don’t express clearly what I want to say and don’t have any value. I delete them and start over and soon it’s a downward spiral of typing and deletion that results in a click out and no comment submitted. I arrived at exactly where you did and you expressed this so well:

      “Now I am careful to try to say something interesting and specific to the post (rather than just about me), particularly if the post moves me or I learn something from it.”

      Thanks for your get well and healthy and happy new year wishes. I appreciate them. I hope your 2014 is an exceptional year for self expression because your writing rocks.

  17. Comments are a way to get to know readers and writers. If someone takes time to leave a comment, the blogger should find time to respond – even a little. Was a little annoying the time you would get a “note” from WP you had used that comment before and had to think of another one.

    If I start another blog, I probably will only have the like button activated…there’s just so much time.- but people seem to want to respond somehow….maybe someday there will be an option for 3-4 different “I was here” buttons for readers to use.

    (and wise not to put original art work out there – copyright/theft is real and people think nothing of it)

    1. Hi Phil,
      You are on track when it comes to commenting and responding to comments. It’s a common courtesy to respond to those who speak to us online or offline. The secret to not getting the notifications you refer to is not to click the “Notify me of follow-up comments via email” box. I don’t click it because I don’t have the time to get into lengthy comment exchanges. Example: Here I am on a Saturday morning with a dirty house to clean, dishes to wash, laundry to wash and shopping to do but I’m responding to 2 day old comments. Such is the reality of life. We have many things to do and limited time to do them in.

      1. I don’t get email notifications either, but make an effort to check blog dashboard’s comment section and respond so they don’t pile up too much…a long list of waiting comments can eat into your writing time when you do actually have time to sit down. Now that would be discouraging for me – and take the fun out of it all

  18. I dislike comment baiting. I feel, in a lot of cases, that it seems forced, contrived. I`ll actually avoid blogs which do that regularly. Sure, there are some situations though when one genuinely may have a need to ask a question at the end of a post but mostly, I prefer for my comments to be neither elicited nor guided in a certain way. Yeah, I`m contrary like that!

    Re: your own new blogging venture and comments… We all get tons of you here in this and in your other blog. Tons of interaction and my goodness, tons of your time, as your posts must take an age to do with all that meticulous linking and the fact that they`re word perfect and highly informed.

    So maybe-if you have the time-go for another blog and with a different comments policy. Image blogs get high traffic anyway and yours definitely will.

    1. OMG! I comment bait all the time and it’s not always contrived. It’s a skill that is worth acquiring and when you do it overtakes you because you want to initiate discussion on things that matter to you enough to blog about them. This post is a prime example of comment baiting. lol :D

      P.S. Being contrary is not problem for me. ;) Last year I came face to face with how `difficult` I really am.

  19. How timely. I was just thinking about this time of year slowing down in traffic. Very good reminder to focus on the fact that blogging is also about engagement. Keeps me from being in my own head too much, and more on connecting with others. :)

    1. Hi Issac,
      I`m also guilty of being inside my own head more than what`s a truly healthy amount of time. For me creating anew post is not as difficult as commenting on other bloggers posts is. Commenting has never been my strong suit and I have to prompt myself to get out of my head and type a comment.

      1. it’s the opposite for me. while I have many ideas in my head for blog posts, I just can’t seem to find the time to create them. I can, however, comment a bunch on all kinds of blogs ;)

        1. Hi there,
          I’m never short of ideas for posts but I’m always short on time. I prioritize publishing posts over commenting and wish I could create a better balance between the two, but I work so that’s not likely to change any time soon.

      2. I also sometimes think that it’s more difficult to write a good comment than to write up original content sometimes. I think it takes a bit of a different mindset to engage someone in a genuine authentic conversation instead of just saying “good work!”, you know? Just like real life haha.

        1. Yes it takes a different mindset to comment and I find that shift a hard one to make most day. I log in with the intent of publishing, I get caught up in answering support forum questions and though I do read posts in between providing answers, I don’t have the time to make the shift while I’m multitasking. I’m currently reducing my multitasking time day by day with the aim of freeing up more time so I can make the shift into being in a conversational mindset.

  20. I treasure comments too, TT. Also’, I think that freedom of expression is worthwhile only if everyone’s freedom of expression is respected. Debate won’t necessarily convince others to change their point of view, but those who only hear one voice or allow for only one type of opinion would mistakenly believe they are right.

    1. You are so right about freedom of expression. I can’t abide the notion of marking anyone’s on topic comment that you disagree with as spam. It’s differences of opinion that can lead to positive change and we always need to hear dissenting voices.

  21. I was reflecting on the same thing today when dwelling my blog goals for the new year. Great stuff and thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  22. I love comments. They have led to some wonderful friendships for me! The tough part is that they can take over my life at times. :)

    1. Hello Gunta,
      Happy New Year!

      I’m so stuffed up with ahead cold I haven’t completed my annual review post yet. But I did update my featured posts page and as soon as it’s quieter at work I’ll complete it and visit your blog.

      I love comments too. Comments are useful in many ways. The most important one of all is encouraging the publication of more content. However, not all bloggers and styles of blogs require comments.

      I intend to start a new blog. It will be image based rather than text based and I’m tossing around the notion of not opening comments. On one hand, as you say responding to them can take over your life. On the other hand, not responding to everyone makes it appear they aren’t valued.

      Hmmm what to do?

      I have our business to participate in and my contracted writing to do. I love answering support forum questions and I have to other blogs to keep up.

      I’m undecided. :S

      1. So very sorry to hear you’re sick. I got hit with something truly nasty the night before Thanksgiving. Just getting energy back again these past few days. Hope you feel better soon and get over it quicker than I did.
        Wishing you a very happy new year to come!
        On topic, I’m sure I’d given up continuing to post if it weren’t for lovely followers and comments from folks like you! :D xxoo

        1. Forgot to reply to your comment about starting an image based blog. I really look forward to that since I tend to lean more to visual than written, but then there’s that part about getting bogged down in comments. It seems that every once in awhile I have to do a purge and limit the number of blogs I follow (no matter how much I may like some of them). This tends to work in keeping the numbers of comments within manageable limits, since folks seem to quit commenting if I’m not visiting or commenting at their pages – and, to be honest, I tend to do the same… somewhat. Though that isn’t always the case.

          Then again, there are some blogs I stay following because I like the so much, but they already have so many comments that there seems to be no point in adding to them. This one is an example: http://stevemccurry.wordpress.com/ He has such wonderful photos, but way too many comments that he rarely answers (how could he?), so I don’t feel I need to add any.

          1. I decided against posting images of my own paintings online for two reasons. Content theft and the fact that the commissioned pieces, which are the majority cannot be displayed online anyway as that’s a term of the contracts. I feel the same way about this blog. http://susielindau.com/ I love her posts but I gave up reading the comments ages ago. There are so many and early on I checked them out and realized most were from bloggers whose blog content failed to interest me. I’m going with free images that can be altered and used for non-commercial use that I can get from multiple sources online. The quotes I will use are ones I have been collecting for years and there are lots of other free sites online I can get more from so I have no fear of running out of them.

Comments are closed.