Google Search Zeitgeist 2013

Google has released its top trending searches for 2013.  Unsurprisingly, the top searched item was Nelson Mandela. Number two was Paul Walker, star of the Fast and Furious movie franchise. The top five included iPhone 5s, Cory Monteith and Harlem Shake.

In our annual Year-End Zeitgeist (“spirit of the times”), we reflect on the people, places, and moments that captured the world’s attention throughout the year. This year marks our most global Zeitgeist to date—with 1,000+ top 10 lists across categories like Trending People, Most-Searched Events and Top Trending Searches from 72 countries.

Google Zeitgeist | Here’s to 2013

The Google Zeitgeist homepage is interesting. You can explore the top 100 searches on Google’s interactive site. There’s also an interactive 3D global map that allows you to explore trends on individual cities around the world.

Most searched – Search topics with the largest search volume.

Related posts found in this blog:
Google Search Zeitgeist 2012
Google Search Zeitgeist 2011

9 thoughts on “Google Search Zeitgeist 2013

    1. Hey there,
      Hubby and I are both sick with a cold. I’m abandoning completing the draft posts I had on the go for both blogs and heading for bed. There won’t be any partying tonight for us. We will be here in front of the tube in our jammies and sipping hot lemon drinks. I hope you have terrific New Year.

  1. I’ve heard of one of top five. How’s that for trending? But I wonder if I could keep up the 20% recognition rate on the top 100.

  2. Wow! It feels like a short time ago my friend called me and suggested I try this new search called “google”. I love that we can acess so much knowledge so quickly. Yes of course one has to check one’s reference sources but that has always been true. My parents used to have to wait six weeks for the news to come from USA and Europe. Love google! Fair dinkum!!! six weeks!!!

  3. No interest at all in the Google search results, but I did want to stop by and wish you a happy Christmas, and a wonderful New Year. I hope the holiday season has been enjoyable, and that all the gifts of the season are yours!

Comments are closed.