Colors! We have colors!

color wave
color wave

There is an exciting new color palette feature addition that WordPress.com bloggers using eight free themes will enjoy. Eight free themes, including Superhero, Writr, Spun, Panel, Zoren, Fontfolio, Twenty Thirteen, and Typo,  now offer free color palettes you can apply. Read the announcement. Hopefully, more themes will be graced with the same feature soon.

Staff enabled a some color palette options for the free themes listed above but there was a bug that overrode some of other users’ color settings ie. it impacted users of completely different themes.  The good news is that issue has been sorted out now.

If you’re still experiencing trouble with this, then go to Dashboard > Appearance > Themes > and click the Customize link. Then and under Colors, select the Default button in the top right, and save the change at the bottom of that menu. That should restore your colors, but you may need to reset your background image.

If you are experiencing any sudden color change issues you can’t sort out, not to worry.  Simply share your details in a thread posted to the support forums and get them resolved by the Volunteers and Happiness Engineers there quickly and easily.

Update: Twenty Fourteen also has free color palette choices.

Related posts found in this blog:

Blog Colors on Different Browsers and Monitors
Changing Your Blog? Start With the Colors
Blog Design: Which colors do you use and why
Why having a well designed blog is important
Freshening your WordPress.com Theme
Freshen Your Theme with Seasonal Touches
Free Christmas blog headers and graphics
More Christmas freebies for your blog

30 thoughts on “Colors! We have colors!

  1. I chose not to answer these comments right away because I noticed Themes Staff might to be adding colors palettes to some other free hosted themes as well as the ones that were announced. I’ll update this post with a list of the others when I know which ones they are if that’s the case.

      1. Me too. Although Twenty-Fourteen is really beckoning me right now. I would switch, but I just don’t have the energy to start converting to higher res feature images. Lot of posts and a lot of work.

        1. I’m into text based blogging and not into spending much time locating and uploading images so I hear you. It’s the blackness in that theme that’s off putting to me.

    1. I don’t help with CSS editing. Other Volunteers and Staff do. If you don’t get any action then type modlook into the sidebar of your thread and that will alert Staff.

  2. Dear Readers,
    Thanks for your comments. I’m going nuts multitasking in the support forum while supervising our business but I will respond tonight after work. Please forgive me for the delay.

  3. Thanks timethief ~ I actually just changed my theme to Cheer (for the holidays) from a previous post of yours! I’ll keep this in mind when I change themes in January. We all need some color in our lives :)

    1. Your blog looks fabulous in Cheer and I’m drooling over your buttery sugar cookies. http://cravingthis.wordpress.com/2013/12/08/buttery-sugar-cookies/

      But I see an important thing you must edit and correct. All reasons for non-appearance of posts on WordPress.com Topics pages can be found here > http://en.support.wordpress.com/topics/#missing-posts

      As you have assigned a combined total that exceeds 15 Categories/Tags to your posts, you need to edit and delete the excess ASAP or you will get no traffic from those Categories/Tags/Topics pages and the WordPress.com Reader. http://en.support.wordpress.com/posts/edit-posts-screen/ After removal of the excess categories and/or tags note it may take several days for your posts to begin displaying there.

      You are inadvertently spamdexing AKA tag spamming. And, you ought to be more concerned about your posts not appearing and being well ranked on Google and Bing SERPS (search results pages) than not appearing on the WordPress.com Topics pages because it’s search engines that send a significant flow of traffic to blogs and they can choose to bury your content where the sun don’t shine for tag spamming.

      The rule of thumb is to assign the least, not the most, combined number of only relevant categories and tags that accurately describe the post content. For tips on tagging see > http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2013/03/15/quick-blog-post-tagging-tips/

      1. Wow!! I had no idea! Thanks so much timethief – for noticing and taking the time to point out the errors, and for your genuine support!

        I have a lot of changes to make!

        I’ve had fun creating my blog and it’s been a real learning experience. I’m grateful to you and other bloggers who’ve helped me along the way!

  4. Update: I was thrown by the message within the customise palette that said it was part of the paid upgrade. But I decided to give it a go anyway and it works. Good!

  5. Thanks for the information, TT … I tried changing my colours (I use the InfoWay theme) last week and at first it wouldn’t let me. Then suddenly and unexplainably they did change to my new colours when I went into my blog site. I was pretty pleased with the new choices. Then they changed back again to the original after a couple of days, so I don’t know at this point what I did right or what I am doing incorrectly … I’ll just keep playing around I guess and keep searching for an answer. Perhaps this was why?

Comments are closed.