Light, Liberty, Goodwill and Gratitude

It can’t get any better than a holiday turkey and lattkes feast. The first night of Hanukkah starts at sundown, kicking off an eight day festival of lights. This also is the first time Thanksgiving Day becomes the new Black Friday, except it’s on Thursday night!

happyhanuka1 Hanukkah a 2,000 year old Jewish holiday, is a celebration of religious freedom and thanksgiving.  In America the harvest day of thanksgiving is a national holiday. This is the first time since 1888 that Hanukkah and Thanksgiving fall on the same day. According to the two calendars this won’t happen again for about 80,000 years.

Hanukkah is supposed to start on the 25th of Kislev,  falling between the end of November and the end of December. This year it’s on November 28th, the earliest date it can be, which also happens to be Thanksgiving. The 25th of Kislev will fall on November 28th again, but not when November 28th is also Thanksgiving (fourth Thursday of the month). – Why is This The Last Time Hanukkah and Thanksgiving Will Occur on The Same Day?

happyhanuka2
The Sunday following Thanksgiving is always the busiest travel day of the year in the United States. Each day of the long Thanksgiving weekend, more than 10 million people take to the skies. Another 40 million Americans drive 100 miles or more to have Thanksgiving dinner. And the nation’s railways teem with travelers going home for the holiday. – Thanksgiving History

Nielsen’s Holiday Spending Forecast study, released earlier this month, shows that 68 percent of consumers say they feel like they’re still living in a recession and estimates only 13% of all holiday shoppers in 2013 plan to hit physical stores. This is the fourth year of declining  Black Friday sales.  88 percent of consumers said they will use their computers again this year to do their Cyber Monday shopping. – Move Over, Black Friday: Consumers Prefer Shopping on Cyber Monday

I have much to be thankful for. We aren’t gift givers and we avoid indebtedness but we love feasting with friends. Canadian Thanksgiving was a wonderful October event celebrating the harvest. American Thanksgiving and Hanukkah will be a double November celebration with our friends this year. As we sit down to our meal, including two of my favorites (turkey and lattkes),  I’ll be giving thanks for all the faithful followers that have chosen to subscribe to my blogs, and hoping your holiday be blessed with light, liberty, goodwill and gratitude.

28 thoughts on “Light, Liberty, Goodwill and Gratitude

    1. Yes we do celebrate both when our American friends come here to be with us on this long weekend. We don’t always have turkey and our leftovers never last more than a day, not for more than a month. lol :D Thanks for the well wishes. I hope you had a good holiday weekend too.

  1. What a fantastic site for the beginning blogger! Or any blogger for that matter! I checked out several of your posts, and then looked at several of your pages as well, and will be back several times in the near future. As a newbie blogger who recently re-activated my own personal blog, I have been struggling with the etiquette surrounding the blogging community, not knowing what was proper or what was not proper. Your cool site comes exactly as it is entitled, and will become invaluable to me as I stumble through my submissions. One Cool Site is exactly as presented, and thank you. Oh, and happy belated Canadian Thanksgiving to you as well. I hope you are staying warm wherever you happen to be in this great country of ours. Now, I am off to build my “About” page, if I can figure the silly thing out …

    1. Hi Peter,
      We are blessed with friends on either side of the 49th parallel who celebrate this time of year with us. Some come for Canadian Thanksgiving and some for American Thanksgiving, still others we will see during Christmas holidays. Keep the home fires burning where you are and we’ll do the same here.

  2. You most surely are a gift giver! I’ve been the recipient of your patience, wisdom and ability to problem solve! Here’s wishing you a season filled with such gifts – not to mention a successful last computer changeover.

  3. I confess, because most of Canada (except for Alaska which is U.S.) is further north than the U.S., I’m glad we celebrate Thanksgiving in Canada earlier (2nd Monday of Oct.). We enjoy the warm, gorgeous flaming fall leaf colour and rich colours of harvested veggies and fruit just plucked fresh off at the farmers’ markets.

    If Canada celebrated Thanksgiving this weekend in November, it would be no leaf colour and more grey in most areas of our country.

    1. Hi Jean,
      I’m with you. Canada has the best Thanksgiving date because It’s harvest season and giving thanks for the bounty of the harvest is what our holiday is focused on. The weather is still lovely, the colors are splendid, and we have time to recover before Remembrance Day and then the crush of the holiday season.

  4. Happy Thanksgiving and Hanukkah to you and your family of friends TiTi! I know we need to keep the economy going with “shopping” etc but we pay so much more than the price on the sticker don’t we . .. .On another note, my internet access has gone slow and sludgy, has the online shopping extravaganza begun already?

    1. Hi Patti,
      Best wishes for a great Thanksgiving to you too. I’m not the line up all night for a deal type of person. I have no objections to buying things online when it’s new things that I need. That’s mostly electronics and shopping online is a good way to get the details of the deals various places offer and compare them. Other than that I’m a buy local shopper with very limited needs and I’m into recycling and/or thrift shopping if I need to replace something.

  5. Happy Thanksgiving and Hanukkah to you, too. I opted out of the gift giving frenzy years ago. Have avoided department stores altogether from now until the first of the year for ages. It’s about spending time and building memories with friends and family. Or should be. :)

    1. Hello Gunta,
      I agree that every holiday is about spending time with friends and family and making good memories. I’ve reached an age where that’s my truth and it’s what I’m doing this weekend. All my best to you. All the best to you.

  6. Happy Thanksgiving – again! It is a rare year with the Thanksgivings and Hanukka (It used to have Ch at the front when we were kids…I thought it will be on the same day in 800 years or so?) and the comet (do hope it makes it around the sun OK). Hope your day is wonderful

    1. Hi there,
      I have seen multiple spellings. Some with the “ch” and some without. Yes this Thanksgiving and Hanukkah on the same day is a rare event indeed. According to the two calendars this won’t happen again for about 80,000 years. I hope you have a wonderful day too.

  7. thanks for the holiday wishes and the history lesson

    Only a couple of people to shop for – others will get some sort of handmade gift –

    Best wishes to you and your family

    1. Hi there,
      We haven’t been into gift giving for years but we do make each other cards. We celebrate every long weekend and we are all into emails, letters and phone calls on holidays. Thanks for the best wishes.

      Happy Thanksgiving!

  8. I would have wished you a Happy Thanksgiving but I know you are Canadian. Didn’t occur to me that you might celebrate Thanksgiving twice, once Canadian and one American. Maybe next year I will try that; we have a much better assortment of local vegetables in October than November, and it would be another excuse to have friends over.

    We are trying to “not shop” this weekend; there is so much hype and competitiveness around presents and holidays. Fortunately in NYC there is a lot else to do (although you can also shop 24/7), so we are going to be in each others presence instead – take Gracie for a walk along the Hudson River, go to the Metropolitan Museum, and hang out and catch up on some reading.

    I am also thankful for having the opportunity to blog and be part of a community of writers; and grateful for the technical support and blogging wisdom that other bloggers (like you) provide to us.

    1. Hi there,

      You’re right about the correct time for Thanksgiving. It’s at harvest time and that’s in early October. It’s amazing and amusing that so many Americans believe the trumped up Plymouth Rock story and have injected religion into what ought to be their harvest home holiday.

      I envy your ability to visit art galleries and museums too. They are among the only places I missed and still miss when it comes to leaving urban living behind. Our walking is done through the forest or along the beaches.

      We have friends and family on both sides of the 49th parallel and we tend to see them on long weekends. So we do a double Thanksgiving every year but this year it’s Hanukkah too.

      Best wishes to you and yours.

    1. Happy thanksgiving to you too. :)

      I just left you a comment and was compelled to log in despite the fact I was logged in. SIGH I’ll deal with that on Monday. I still have one more computer changeover to do.

Comments are closed.