Is Medium For You?

mediumMy friend travels, writes essays and creates image collections but has never blogged before. “All I want to do is write!” she typed in frustration. “Why is this so hard to do? I don’t have the time to learn how to jump through hoops. Where can I go and just write?”

My friend wants to publish travel articles including photo collections of highlights from her travel adventures. She has found both Blogger and WordPress to be too much to cope with and doesn’t have the time to learn how to use the software. She  wants to be up and running before she’s off on her next trip in two weeks time.

My answer was: “I think Medium might be a good fit for you but I haven’t tried it and can’t say for sure. Do you want to try it? It’s supposed to be minimalist blogging at it’s best and it sure looks good to me.  I want to try it so let’s both go for it.”

She agreed and within minutes we were both registered and writing draft posts. Thus far we have only created drafts but both of us love the simplicity and ease of use. Nothing gets in the way of just writing at Medium.

Medium home page“Welcome to Medium

A better place to read and write things that matter.

Medium lets you focus on your words

Medium is a beautiful space for reading and writing — and little else. The words are central. They can be accompanied by images to help illustrate your point. But there are no gratuitous sidebars, plug-ins, or widgets. There is nothing to set up or customize.

When you write on Medium, you’ll know that your words and pictures will look great on any device; they’ll automatically adjust to the latest technology and even get better over time.

Medium FAQ – You’ve got Q’s, we’ve got A’s.”

Launched in 2012 by Twitter’s co-founders Evan Williams and Biz Stone Medium is now open to the general public and may be used by anyone with a Twitter account.

Here’s where you can read about Medium’s features. Posting is not available on mobile devices. If you register and sign in with your Twitter account using a Chrome, Firefox, or Safari browser,  you can write,  easily insert images and basic formatting, embed videos, Tweets, Vines, and music from Rdio into Medium posts. You can also collaborate, leave notes for authors, and recommend the pieces you like.

If you are an essay writer Medium may be your new home.  There’s no blog to maintain.  There is no commenting feature, just Notes and Recommendations.  However, you can easily share your own profile page where all your content is posted, and Medium provides crowd-sourced collections so your articles are shared with  like-minded people.

Medium is a minimalist blogging platform that’s the right place for my friend and I ♥ it too.

50 thoughts on “Is Medium For You?

  1. Hi.
    Thank you for answering my question on wordpress.com
    Do you know how long may take to have a reply from the support team of wordpress.com.
    Kind regards,
    Romeo

    1. No I’m sorry but I don’t. Staff work through all forum threads tagged for their attention in order of datestamps and timestamps – first posted first served, as would be expected. Don’t post again into your thread because when bloggers keep bumping any thread thinking they are going to get service from Staff more quickly they aren’t thinking straight, as that moves the timestamps forward and it takes longer to get a response.

      1. Thank you for your reply and advice.
        I am very upset as I dont understand what happened. Why old posts were coming in search and now none of them is coming. It is very frustrating. I am not writing the blog only for myself(especially in my medical condition).
        Have a nice day.
        Kind regards,
        Romeo

  2. Hello timethief,
    I could not find a general place on your site to comment. I have been on WordPress for more than six months now. Though I love it, I sometimes find it frustrating, when I cannot do things like make a headline appear despite dozens of attempts. I tried the forum and you responded quickly with the solution. I just want to say thank you, that was wonderful. I realize you expect nothing in return, but would be happy to assist in some way if it´s possible.

    You have a great looking site that appears to full of excellent information. I shall return.
    Cheers.

  3. I have clicked on your Follow button but you do not show up as me following you on Twitter. This Follow function must only be for Medium. Let me know if I am wrong on this though!

  4. I’ve cross published a piece on Medium. I love their interface, and it looks fantastic, but I found it difficult to find and be found. Maybe I’m using it wrong, I don’t know.

    I also sort of like having my own corner of the internet to call home, instead of being just one in a sea of voices.

  5. I love it! I have always wished for a simple screen to write on that was not an editor — just a nice clean slate. There’s also some great content. Thanks very much for bringing this to our attention.

  6. That’s an interesting range of topics in the “collection.” Medium may indeed be ONE path of the future especially among younger people not well-versed in both editorial mish-mosh and a bunch of incomprehensible software engineering technology. The developers may well seriously plod on thinking there seems to be a need, and they did it once (with Blogger) and they can do it again … which could mean a lot of money….

    Thanks for an informative topic, but I hope you are not leaving WordPress. In the few times I’ve asked, you have been enormously helpful to me, and I’ve already got too much at hand to take on anything else. :-)

  7. I have a wordpress blog and I also occasionally blog on Medium. I find it excellent for writing occasional posts that do not quite fit in with the themes of my main blog, and also for more creative pieces of writing that I feel no need to justify to anyone. The one minor thing missing from Medium for me is the ability to easily follow on Twitter people who write there. Maybe I am being daft, but there are some great people I want to follow, and the profiles do not seem to have anything to click on.

    1. Hello Simon,
      It’s good to meet you and interesting to know how you use Medium. I agree that there appears to be no way to find a Twitter link for folks we want to follow. A minor annoyance for me is I can’t figure out how to place an image behind my gravatar.

      My profile page is here https://medium.com/@thistimespace
      Where is yours please?

      1. Hi – you can see some of my writings here:

        medium.com/@srerobinson

        Actually, you may not remember but you recommended one of my posts for Freshly Pressed which has been a huge highlight of my blogging career :)

  8. Interesting site, I have just sent them a query re their style sheet requirements for American spelling and so on, will see what they say back, one of my bugbears though I know it is not one of yours :)

      1. They are pretty relaxed :) :)

        Here is their speedy reply to my query ‘These are for pieces that we commission. You may write in whatever style you prefer’.

  9. I think it’s a good idea someone starting out who wants to dip their toe in the water of writing, with the caveat that if someone finds they like writing, then maybe they should think about getting their own corner of the blogging universe.

    1. Hi David,
      I hear you. I also think it’s a good option for micro-blogging. Some folks have micro blogs on Tumblr and Medium may suit the same purpose.

  10. I just came across Medium yesterday and had made a note to check it out. So thanks for posting about it. I think it is wonderful for what it offers. Folks who just want to write and not worry about anything else will like it. It’s not for how I currently blog but I like the diversity of choices available to bloggers.

    1. Hi Kinna,
      From time to time I’m inclined to write essays on topics that aren’t a fit for either blog. Medium provides the ability to publish such essays without having to maintain a blog and all that goes along with that.

  11. I guess the idea is for someone to put their words out to the world. But now that I’ve been weaned as a blogging adult baby, I’m not so sure I want a platform with such minimal features.

    Great for especially someone who doesn’t care about technology but feels the years are marching by but they have lots of stuff to share!

    1. If your impression is that the Medium platform is full of newbie bloggers who aren’t very accomplished writers that isn’t so, Jean. There are articulate writers on Medium. Everything you use in your articles like formatting and images are there except comments. It’s not a step down at all. It’s a very young community and I expect it will remain an interesting and eclectic one.
      Here’s a sample read:
      View story at Medium.com

  12. Titi, Medium seems to offer the best in off-piste free-form quiet zone posting! I love the simple lay-out which enables more concentration on content and, as you have always insisted upon, content is key. I signed up some time ago but have yet to jump in with a post . . .. and great to see that you have brought it up here. Best wishes to your friend, nothing to lose and everything to gain on her own terms. And to you of course!

  13. I took a good hard look at Medium about 6 months ago. Love the very handsome minimalist look but decided it was a bit too minimal. I want more control over my presentation — varied images, subheads, block quotes, etc. Styling is half the fun for me.

  14. Interesting–looks simple enough, looks clean. Not too thrilled that it’s connected to Twitter, though. Going to the Medium page, I can’t even look around without signing in first, let alone browse what other people have written.

    For reading and writing, it looks like it provides everything one needs. One thing it doesn’t seem to have, which is one of things I really like about WordPress.com is the community aspect. There doesn’t seem to be a way to connect with other people. Understandable, since Medium is all about what is written.

    It does have a commenting feature, of sorts, in the “notes” that one can leave on highlighted texts.

    It looks to me like it does a good job with what it sets out to do. I may give it a closer look in the future, just to test it out. But it doesn’t have some of the things I like about blogging, so it’s not for me.

    1. Hi Ken,
      Yes the Notes feature does function rather like comments do. I like the Recommend feature too. It’s similar to a like feature but IMO more powerful. I believe those do combine as tools for community building.

  15. I’m just trying it out, as always when you first find these things it is all a bit confusing. Who or what is out there. So, I’m looking at the moment.

    Jim

    1. Hi Jim,
      It’s simple and intuitive. The one thing I cannot figure out yet is how to delete an image I embedded in a draft post. Sadly, I don’t have the time to play on the Medium site. Hubby is out and the business needs me to keep running.

      Please feel free to return to this post and share your adventures with Medium in the comments here.

    1. Hi there,
      I find it very enticing. I’m a personal development and self improvement blogger as well as a blogging tips blogger. Although this blog gets far more attention than my personal blog simply because I lack the time to publish more frequently there, I prefer essay writing. The opportunity to publish content, without keeping a blog, especially being relieved of all that’s involved in commenting is appealing to me. Medium helps you find your audience and the time saved by being able to focus on content creation is huge.

      Why wasn’t Medium for you?

      1. [ Smiles ] For starters, it’s layout was too simple — very minimal-looking.

        Also, all the themes on Medium look the same!

        I didn’t see the option of where a person can comment on their Medium blog (Although, I am not sure if there is one).

        1. There is no commenting system and you are right there is no theme selection. The site is for minimalist article publication, without the distractions that widgets in sidebars provide. The end product is a simple and beautiful and highly readable document. I ♥ what Medium offers but I know it won’t be for everyone.

Comments are closed.