Weighing Decisions and Options

As a long time WordPress blogger I have witnessed the addition of many new user interface features. Some I have welcomed. Some I have disabled and others I simply ignore as I have no need of them.  I consider options to be a good thing. 

The goal of user interface design is to make the user’s interaction as simple and efficient as possible. The design process must balance technical functionality and visual elements to create a system that is not only operational but also usable and adaptable to changing user needs. One of the tenets of the WordPress philosophy is Decisions, Not Options >  Release Philosophy

In his post Good Decisions, Else Options , Joen Asmussen warns about using the Decision Not Options mantra of WordPress as a “conversation killer.” It’s a good reminder to avoid absolutism in our reasoning.

The problem is: sometimes the right decision is unfeasible, therefore beckoning an option in its absence.

HatTip to Good decisions, else options : Post Status.

6 thoughts on “Weighing Decisions and Options

  1. Interesting, but I don’t understand, I’m afraid. Is the user the reader or the blogger? I suppose this is obvious to most folks, but I’m not always up to speed this early in the morning.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

Comments are closed.