WordPress.com Themes with Automatic Excerpts

spyglassDo you want a WordPress.com theme with a magazine style layout that provides your readers with brief front page previews (teasers) of posts to select from and click into without you having to insert the more tag into each post? 

Are you looking for WordPress.com themes (free or premium) that automatically display post excerpts on the front page of the blog, rather than displaying the full posts? If so then you are in luck as there is a list you can use but do note that it’s subject to change.

This is a list of active themes on WordPress.com that use the excerpt instead of full post content. Fair warning, any of these could change in the future — we’ve moved strictly to displaying full content and requiring users use the “More” tag to truncate content.

via Theme with automatic excerpts « WordPress.com Forums.

19 thoughts on “WordPress.com Themes with Automatic Excerpts

  1. I have mixed feelings about this. True, I could get more statistics by having users click to read a full post.

    But I know myself: I’m lazy. I don’t like clicking too much to read /skim a full blog post. Pros and cons.

    1. If a mobile or tablet user can read your full post in the Reader then were would the motivation come from to click in and create a page view stat? As we move towards a time when many will not own desktops but will be viewing full posts in mobiles and tablets in the Reader then how will we have accurate page view stats?

      1. I guess I worry less about more statistical volume count vs. just knowing people went to my home page and looked at a list of full, recent blog posts.

  2. Thank you for the tips, timethief. I will check that out.

    One thing that concerns me is I am getting tiny type when I print off my WordPress post. I had this problem once before and thought I’d resolved it by copying print from WP onto my Word document where I type my stories. Then, today, bam! It happened again.

    1. Hi Judy,
      I’ve not experienced that but I don’t print out my posts. You ought to post to the support forum to find out why the font size has changed.

      1. Thank you so much for the reply. I hope you are feeling better after the dental and other appointments. I have to see my dentist tomorrow for regular cleaning but I always dread this appointment, since I get a headache after every appointment. Wishing you the best and have a lovely week.

    1. Hi Rahul,
      Thank you for letting me know you found this list to be useful.

      On an unrelated but important issue I spotted something on your blog I want to draw to your attention. All reasons for non-appearance of posts on Topics pages can be found here > http://en.support.wordpress.com/topics/#missing-posts As you have assigned a combined total that exceeds 15 Categories/Tags to your posts, you need to edit and delete. http://en.support.wordpress.com/posts/edit-posts-screen/ After removal of the excess categories and/or tags note it may take several days for your posts to begin displaying there.

      The rule of thumb is to assign the least, not the most, combined number of only relevant categories and tags that accurately describe the post content. For tips on tagging see > http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2013/03/15/quick-blog-post-tagging-tips/

    1. Hi there,
      You’re welcome. Note I disabled the like button on this post.

      I’m LOL :D because I enabled it again and saw several gravatars.

Comments are closed.