Crazymaking Blogger Comment Settings

blogger icon

Commenting is a key element of blogging and nothing is more frustrating than composing a comment only to discover that  the software won’t accept it.

Invalid URL! You do not own that identity is an infuriating error message that no WordPress.com blogger wants to read.

“Getting comments on your articles is a sure sign that you are going in the right direction, since it indicates that you have made an impression on your readers. While it is always great to see positive feedback on your work, even criticism is far better than not getting a single remark. ” –More Comments and 6 Effective Techniques to Get Them

When it comes to forming blog centered relationships, commenting on Blogger blogs is not a cake walk for WordPress.com bloggers. In this article I explain why that is. Hopefully those who need to read between the lines will do that and act on the message which is: make commenting friendly, please.

Commenting on Blogger (.blogspot blogs)

who can comment

Depending on the comment settings you select commenting on Blogger (.blogspot blogs) can result in an Invalid URL! You do not own that identity error message.

WordPress Comment Profile Setting

Click the “WordPress” comment profile setting in the drop-down menu on a Blogger blog comment and the software will not recognize a WordPress.com identity, except in the most narrow sense.

It will recognizes the identity of only those WordPress.com bloggers who enter a WordPress.com username and a blog with the matching .wordpress.com URL. It will not accept any other username and URL combination.

blogspot comment wordpress setting
Blogger comment – WordPress setting

Many WordPress.com bloggers, myself included, have more than one blog registered under the same WordPress.com username and many of those are on their own domains. Trying to use a WordPress.com username to comment on a Blogger blog and have it link to a WordPress.com blog on its own domain using the “WordPress” comment profile setting on Blogger blogs is mission impossible.

Open ID Comment Profile Setting

Technically to use Open ID to comment you need to add the site URL in question as a “trusted” site at settings > Open ID in your WordPress.com dashboard. However, my experience is that selecting the “Open ID” comment profile when trying to comment on Blogger blogs has failed more often than it has worked.

Please try these tips:

Log out of WordPress.com and all sites you’re attempting to log into with your WP OpenID.
Clear your browser cookies.

Log back into WordPress.com
Try logging into the other site with your OpenID again.

If that does not work then go to your OpenID settings at Settings > OpenID and remove Blogger as an authorized site. Then try commenting again and you will be asked to authorize the first time you comment thereafter.

blogspot comment openid

 Name/URL comment Profile Setting

The good news is that by selecting the “Name/URL” comment profile setting to comment on Blogger blogs (when it’s provided) your blog on its own domain ie. without the .wordpress.com URL will be linked to your WordPress.com username on the comments you submit.

blogspot comment name URL setting
Blogger comment – Name & URL Setting

The bad news is that not all Blogger bloggers choose to provide the “Name & URL” comment profile setting in the drop-down Comment as: drop-down menu.

You can register a Blogger blog which will allow you to comment on Blogger blogs but your username will not be linked to your WordPress.com blog when you do. Then you are labeled as a ‘no reply blogger‘.

Commenting on WordPress.org Sites

Many bloggers post to the support forums every day who have issues centered on failing to comprehend the relationships between username accounts and associated email accounts, blogs registered under them, email addresses, cookies and log-ins.

Also note that WordPress.com and WordPress.org are completely separate and have different logins.

Depending on settings on each WordPress.org site you may need to register at the site itself for a username and ID to comment. Typically there will be a link in the sidebar to use to register. Once you are registered, you sign in enter your blog address and submit a comment.  WordPress will then put a cookie on your computer and auto-fill that login information for you. If you clear your cookies, then you will have to enter your blog address again when commenting.

If you are having trouble commenting on a WordPress.org site and you don’t have a username account at WordPress.org yet, click http://wordpress.org/support/ and register one on the top right hand corner of the page that opens, so you can post to the support forums there and receive advice from WordPress.org bloggers.

Discussion: I think making it easy for readers to comment is priority number one for bloggers who have enabled comments on their blog(s). What do you think?

Related posts found in this blog

WordPress.com Comments and Discussion Settings
Why blog comment moderation is a good thing
Crazymaking Blogger Comment Settings
A Comment Policy for your Blog
Crafting Quality Blog Comments

64 thoughts on “Crazymaking Blogger Comment Settings

    1. Hi Elle,
      I appreciate the fact you took the time to comment here. I do love answering support forums questions but I’m so over stretched and over stressed right now. You’re welcome and best wishes with your blog and in all you do.

  1. Thanks timethief.

    I looked at all your answers and tried to leave comments every way possible, including google and use of url. Alas nothing worked and in some cases the captcha was impossible to read yet I did eventually get one.
    The site also said there were problems with my url and the boxes which popped up to insert my name and url were overlapping the text box.

    Overall it said that I do not use my own username as portrayed here.

    Are you on wordpress.com? Just asking since here is no problem here.

    Think I’ll let it lie a few days as am very frustrated over time lost.
    Thanks for your advice.

  2. Boy, did this post strike a chord! And I can understand why. I’ll say the same thing I think every other commenter said: I’m glad I’m not the only one whoever ground his teeth trying to leave a comment on a Blogger blog. Must admit, I don’t even try anymore. My sanity is too tenuous– I can’t take foolish chances… : )

    You’ve answered 74,000 WP forum questions????

    That calls for a separate comment: eeeeeeeeeeee-YOWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!

    I say it with awe, admiration, and my mouth hangin’ open a foot… : )

    1. Hi Mark,
      I’m up to over 75,600 support threads answered now. lol :D

      P.S. Our business is busy today and hubby is away. I’m running the chron jobs for my contracted work which I do in the evenings and when I have “extra” time I blog. lol :D

  3. I started to ask again you could post something about wordpress bloggers linking their blog’s address to their avatars. It is so frustrating to click on their photo and then have to go on a wild goose chase tracking down their blogs. Or am I doing something wrong? Is there another way besides thru someones avatar or their name?
    You’d think that people would want to make it easy to find their blogs! If they w
    Glad I found you agin!

    1. Hi there,
      When we comment on blog posts we provide a URL and that means our garavatars are linked to it. When we click like buttons our gravatars are linked to our gravatar profile pages. when it comes to “likes” it’s frustrating to click and find no blog has been linked to on the Gravatar profile page. That’s where the wild goose chase emanates from and there’s no way around it.
      http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2012/12/10/gravatars-for-global-recognition/

  4. how did I know that you would have this subject?this has been driving me crazy every time I try to comment on a blog that is not WordPress! At least I know it’s not just me. Thank you. I noticed a blogger reemed you for not giving them the answer they were looking for. I loved your answer. Did they not realize you are volunteering for us?!

    I would love it if you could write a post

    1. Hi there,
      It’s good to know my point was timely and on topic for you. I’m feeling better and weill be publishing posts this week. Truth be told I spend far more time volunteering in the support forums than I do blogging. I have answered over 74,000 questions over the course of 7 years now.

  5. Thanks! I found your post to be very informative and thought out. I’ve bounced around your blog and found some very useful information. I have blogs on Blogger, WordPress, Tumblr (to name a few) I’m on FB and have a page there as well..plus I use Pinterest, Indulgy, StumbleUpon, We Heart It and so on..guess you could say I love Social Media :D Going to follow you because I am sure your blog will be an excellent reference tool..Keep up the good work!

    1. Hi Pixies,
      Thanks for the follow.

      Good grief! How you make the time to do all that is beyond me. I’m struggling to help my hubby keep our business running, get my contracted work done and keep up two blogs. I cannot imagine how I would be able to add to that load without giving up sleep.

    1. It’s sad that we are all experiencing this. It would be so easy if all Blogger bloggers simply provided the Username and URL comment profile for us to use.

  6. Great article Timethief. I got so frustrated with trying to register and comment on Blogger’s blogs that I just stop doing it – too much of a waste of time, and these days I’m loosing more and more of what little I have.

    1. Hi Mary,
      I think many WordPress.com bloggers have given up trying to comment on Blogger blogs. As our blog grows our communications grow and it doesn’t take long until we find creating enough time for our blogging becomes increasingly more difficult. Anything that’s a barrier to communication becomes increasingly more annoying and when we have can tolerate not more struggling we stop trying.

  7. Helpful. That popup declaring I’m invalid (LOL) is still an annoying roadblock, esp when I have a well-meaning, if not thoughtful comment, for the blogger.

    “It think making it easy for readers to comment is priority number”
    I think you might want to make a correction. Not nitpicking. Just meaning to be helpful.

    Thanks for the like on “disarmed the sun” and on “Why We Read.” My posts are a real labor of love, as that second one certainly was, and (knowing yours aren’t fake likes ;) ) I appreciate the endorsement. As a fairly new blogger on the scene, I didn’t realize at the start what (unnecessary) time posting awards entailed. I’d rather be offering content, so I put up a no-thank you on future awards.

    1. @Holistic Wayfarer
      I’m a voracious reader and I’m enjoying reading your posts very much. Though I will rarely comment and don’t have time to read all the comments on your posts I do appreciate them all and some more than others, as would be expected.

      I’m not clear about what you want me to correct. Does this read better?

      It think making it easy for readers to comment is priority number one for bloggers who have enabled comments on their blog(s).

      I decided to have award free blogs long ago too. I struggle to make the time to blog and accepting awards means one has to be open to having their blogging schedule, in essence, hijacked ebvery time aan award is received.

      1. “It think making it easy for ”

        Do you see it now? Look at the beginning.

        TT, I am SO touched you’ve been reading. And enjoying. I poured about 8 hrs and my soul into the Why We Read, not counting think time. ThAT is how passionate I am about the word, my readers, your time. And the current series on the writing process has been awesome to be dialoguing over. And guess what?? Just after I left your blog today, I found myself on “one of those” comment boxes…I replied with Open ID and – my – comment – went through!! Xxxx

          1. I wanted to write and thank you again, actually, for the formatting help because I was able to arrange the lines in “disarmed the sun” as I wanted. But something (maddening) happened. I was wiped out, hoping to post and hit the sack, when I saw that once I clicked preview, the [edge] “of hope” and “expecta tion” pulled inward toward the left of the screen instead of hanging off the line as I finally got it to do. I wrestled with it an hour, comatose. Friend suggested I tap the text page (away from the Visual) and though it looked fine there, to space it out. I added about 8 spaces…so that those words I wanted hanging off the cliff looked so so far apart from the rest of the line. But then I got the result I wanted. Turns out, on my husband’s tablet, those words at the tail end still kinda cling and don’t go as far out as I ordered them to. Hub said some phones and tablets just have their own formatting, and I can’t do anything about it BAH.

          2. The first link I reviewed the first time you pointed me to it. The second doesn’t apply to what I described. I did of course use the preformatting with the poem. Anyways, I wasn’t quite asking you to send me anything in your busyness. Was just expressing the frustration. Sorry, I won’t vent again. Thanks so much. And bed sounds great.

  8. Luckily the only Blogger site I currently follow allows Name/URL, but I’ve been frustrated in the past by sites that didn’t. I’m not going to waste my breath trying to comment on a Blogger (or any other) site that won’t even let me identify myself.

    1. G’day to you,
      This summer has been such a busy one that I’m way behind on reading blogs and commenting. The Blogger blogs I follow now have the Username and URL comment profile setting after. I shared my frustration with the bloggers keeping them in email and they changed their settings.

  9. I totally agree that making it easy for commenters –with the blogger to choose if needed, for moderation before publishing a comment. Frankly if there is a Blogger blog that doesn’t allow me to comment, I just don’t bother to visit the blog anymore!

    Time is precious. Other interesting blogs to visit and comment.

    1. Hi Jean
      Time is precious and as your observe interesting blogs are abundant. I’m not happy about wasting any of my time on struggling to comment. I give it one shot and that’s the only one. If I’m not successful than I’m gone forever so I’m not surprised you feel the same way. I expect most others also respond the same way we do.

      1. I’ve informed 2-3 Blogger users.. and they’ve changed their settings.

        What is even dumber are Blogger blogs that don’t offer any contact form to tell them. Forget it…next one!

  10. I absolutely agree, tt! Blog creators and authors WANT to hear from people. if an arbitrary setting, particularly one easily corrected, is all that keeps a large portion of the blogging world from leaving comments on one’s posts, then by all means CHANGE THE SETTING! Although I don’t maintain a Blogger site, this is great advice for those bloggers who do – and may be unknowingly shooting themselves in the foot.

    1. Hi Kerwyn,
      A minority of bloggers choose not to have their blogs set up to accept comments but most don’t. Logic dictates that those who do have public blogs and want feedback ought to use settings that make leaving comments easy. I assume they simply haven’t logged out and tried to experience commenting on their own blogs so they aren’t aware of what struggles others are going through.

  11. Very useful indeed. Thank you! I have often wondered about Bloggers’ settings and I will point people towards this post.

    The other thing that seems to affect one’s commenting ability is trying to comment via a device like a phone or tablet or if one signs up to a reader like bloglovin or Feedly it is often impossible to get the comments to ‘take’, sometimes it is even hard to type the comment into the box, cursors freezing and sticking, I give up at that point and it is sad because I like leaving comments!

    1. Hi Joanna,
      I don’t have a mobile or tablet and wasn’t aware that those who use them have trouble with their cursors sticking. Are they sticking when you try to comment on WordPress.com blogs like mine?

      1. I do 90% of my blog reading and commenting via my iPhone, TT, and generally never have issues commenting on WordPress blogs (via browser or iPhone app) aside from user spelling error or auto-correct, or if I am replying via my notification screen and have a new notification come in.

        However, as above, it is impossible to comment on Blogger blogs via my mobile. I’ve never had success, and have tried via both Safari and Chrome mobile bowsers. The cursor sticks if you try to edit, and/or it freezes on a pop-up screen when you try to enter your identity.

        Another Blogger pet peeve are the security “enter the characters you see in the picture” things. They drive me bonkers.

        WordPress is definitely more mobile (and user) friendly!

        ~ Christy

          1. No problems for me commenting on Feedly, as long as I click “view the article’s website” when I’m in Feedly which is the only way to comment there anyway. I thought Joanna was referring to Blogger, but hopefully she’ll clarify. (Thank you for the visit!) -Christy

      2. i am experimenting today with the wordpress app for iPad which has a nifty reader and lets you see where people have replied to your comments and appears to be letting me reply once more all within the app. (head spinning slightly) so will see if this works better replying from within this than using the tablet browser (I suspect it might be the browser that is the problem – trouble is that is a pain when one has wriiten a comment or got half way and it sticks).

        Ok, here goes, looking good :)

        PS will take a screen grab or two if you like and send it to you so you can see?

        1. Sorry not very clear of me was it? The Bloglovin’ app on an iPad gives you a comment window to comment in on WordPress.com blogs but the cursor sticks and the screen freezes. It is a poor app in my opinion and I am going to stop using it.

    2. Hi again Joanna,
      I failed to let you know how much I appreciate your mobile testing and feedback. Last week was not a stellar one for me nor was the one that went before. I have high hopes for this week.

  12. If a writer wants engagement via comments, then it’s important to make the commenting options as broad as possible. If a writer just wants a readership, then maybe not.

    Sites such as Medium.com have a large readership but don’t allow comments at all.

    I am sure most bloggers would want to get valuable comments. The internet is, however, littered with useless ‘Great post, keep it up’ and similar comments.

    For what purpose? Most commenting systems are ‘no follow’, so the commenter is not going to get any back-link benefit. It’s just mindless.

    Some Blogger bloggers have switched to the Google+ commenting system.

    Enabling that means that not only are comments shown below the posts, but also any comments about the post that have been made on Google+ are also shown in the comments section on the blog as well.

    Confusing, eh?

    1. Hi David,

      Some Blogger bloggers have switched to the Google+ commenting system.

      Wow! Consider Google’s position of duplicate content articles and contrast it with a commenting system that hijacks comments from Google + and auto-posts them to Blogger blogs — the two don’t jibe.

      Like you say the majority of comments are along the lines of ‘Great post, keep it up’ and similar comments and they are no-follow so there is no point in leaving them. I use the like button to express appreciation when I don’t have anything thoughtful to add to what’s been published and that’s most of the time. Hence experiencing a barrier to leaving a comment when I do have something to say is truly aggravating.

      Though I currently have two WordPress.com blogs and both are set up for comments, I do have an idea for another blog and I have been considering making it a no comment blog. That’s why I find medium.com to be very attractive. If I ever catch up with all the things I’ve fallen behind on I may register an account there and use it for posting essays on a wide range of topics.

  13. Hi there – You just hit on my most recent pet peeve. I can’t believe how difficult it is to comment on some blogs. Last week, I let a well-known blogger know about a terrible experience I had with his site. He asked his admin to help me out — but all I got was a dismissive note saying their site is really easy to use – I should just follow the instructions. I noticed there were no comments on the post even though it was a really good one. I was never able to leave my comment.

    I’m extra sensitive about this because I treasure every single comment I get. And I know there are readers out there who are not savvy to all the tricks you sometimes have to use – like sticking around after you click the submit button to see if a Captcha pops up that wasn’t there initially. I want all readers to have a good experience so that commenting is a pleasure for them, not a chore.

    Thanks for helping us understand more of the back office workings (long comment, eh? sorry)

    1. Hi Susan,
      Good grief! That was a negative commenting experience for sure and it doesn’t speak well for either the blogger or for the Admin he pays. I’d give the Admin the boot if I were the blogger and knew how you were treated.

      No matter what work we do or hobby we pursue if we are authentically seeking to create long term relationships then it’s important to forget what we know and go right back to wherever we started. Unless we do that and approach our jobs (blogs) as a customer or client (reader) would, then we haven’t a clue what they are experiencing.

      I’m with you on this:

      I want all readers to have a good experience so that commenting is a pleasure for them, not a chore.

      One doesn’t need a degree of any kind to understand that customer (client, visitor, reader) experience and the emotions the experience gives rise to are key to whether or not they return.

    1. Hi there,
      I have felt like giving up too but I am tenacious by nature. Don’t give up. If you have the email address of a Blogger blogger who is not using the Username and URL comment profile prevail upon them to do so. Maybe if enough of us do that the word will get out and the barriers to commenting on Blogger blogs will evaporate.

  14. I completely agree, commenting on Blogger sites is very frustrating. I follow a few Blogger blogs and am constantly frustrated when trying to leave a comment. When I chose the WordPress option it links to my site but does not recognize my gravatar so I get the crazy symbol while others get their nice little picture next to their comment. I don’t think many of the Blogger sites I follow have the Name & URL option but I’m going to start double checking.

    1. Hi there,
      I was sure I was not alone in this struggle but it’s good to hear from others who have faced the same conundrum. It would be better still if the word got out to Blogger bloggers and they acted on it. Blogger (blospot.com) and WordPress.com are both vibrant blogging communities with bloggers who share overlapping interests. Hence one would think these barriers to submitting comments and cementing relationships could and ought to be removed.

    1. Hi there and welcome. I am a busy person and my time like everyone’s time is valuable. Commenting frustrations are enough to make me scream. I try not scream loudly as it would scare my dogs, but screaming is preferable to teeth grinding, right? That’s the opinion of a woman who has just paid for two root canals and crowns, as well as two other fillings, a woman who is looking a a paid dental bill that could have been enough for a nice vacation. (Note to self: don’t grind teeth, scream instead.) ;)

  15. There are a few Blogspot blogs that I have tried to comment on but the form defaults to a Google+ thing. I don’t have a Google+ account, and don’t want one, so can’t comment. What a pain. And I really don’t like those word verification things. If they want to moderate comments I have no problem with that but lets not make blogs into something they are not…like Fort Knox or the Pentagon or some super important high priority national security site. Ok this is a rant. Sorry, but not sorry enough to delete. :)

    1. Don’t apologize for your comment Patrica. IMHO it doesn’t even score as a mini-rant. I almost published a full blown rant above but I waited for a day or two and then tamed my draft down several times via editing. Now it sounds like a plaintive wail. lol :D

      As you know I’m visually challenged. Did you also know that and I blogged my 10 point case against CAPTCHA use here? http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2010/11/14/the-10-point-case-against-captcha-use/ There are far better spam control systems than CAPTCHA.

      I haven’t experienced the default to Google + when trying to comment on Blogger blog. Like you I don’t have a Google + account so that sounds like yet another barrier to commenting — aarrggghhh!

  16. There’s an old adage, “First you want people to react, then you try to make them react the way you want.” Another is, “If you aren’t hated then you aren’t rated.”

    Your opening remarks about getting comments brought me back to my live performing days in a classic rock band throughout the ’90s. Sure it was great to have people standing on tables and howling while we played, but getting shouted complaints about the type of song we just performed helped us do something different to better suit the audience. The strangest was when we were playing and the dance floor packed with people and they just stood there emotionless looking at us like we were surrounded by the Children of the Corn. When we finished the song the response was amazingly good, but it was a scary moment with that sea of expressionless faces crowded up around the stage.

    1. Hi there,
      Your comment was so interesting Jim.

      Performers are risk takers. The moment of silent admiration following an outstanding musical piece is one we can all relate to. Those who have performed have known what that scary feeling before the applause is like. Those who haven’t performed have been a member of a struck silent audience.

      Authors and publishers ie. bloggers are risk takers too. Introverted bloggers like me have to compel themselves to overcome fear and communicate, both when it comes to publishing and commenting on what others publish. If we want comments then we need to place ourself in a reader’s position and make it as easy as we can for them to do so.

Comments are closed.