Lost comments blues

While doing a spam clean-up a couple of days ago I had two tabs open and I made a horrible mistake. I’m not clear on exactly what happened but I lost 5 comments that I thought I had temporarily moved to Trash. I clicked the permanently delete button while distracted by a phone call  and when I realized what I had done there was not way to retrieve them.

Since then I have been trying to recall the Gravatars and username accounts of those who submitted the lost comments without success. If you are a Reader who submitted a comment this week that did not appear on the blog I beg your forgiveness. I treasure comments and ask you to please use the comment box on this post to re-submit.

61 thoughts on “Lost comments blues

  1. You are only human, and I could write a manual on errors possible within WordPress because I have made most of them. I value every comment, but I’m sure whoever’s is lost will be understanding

    1. Hi there,
      I believe we all value comments very highly and that why I feel so bad. Five people made the effort to connect with me and the connection was cut accidentally. Hopefully, they will try again here.

  2. I wish there was a way I could delete some of the “spam” bloggers that sign up to follow me :)

    1. I share that sentiment but I’m not making it a priority to dwell on it. I’m not to making a strong emotional investment in that as it’s only my attitude that’s affected by the knowledge they exist. While I would like to have an accurate means of tracking blog growth and I don’t want to become negatively focused. I’d rather be emotionally invested in enjoying blogging and postively focused on my next idea for a blog post.

  3. I think there is no need to worry. Mistakes are a part of life. Learn from them.

  4. Not to worry … I’m still here as well. I don’t comment often but, I read EVERYTHING you write. Thanks for owning up to being human :)

  5. Now I feel better, in a pathetic kind of way. Maybe I’m not so alone, after all. I don’t know if you lost a comment from me. I haven’t been here in a week or so, I’m sorry to say! At any rate, you’re a sweetie!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    1. Hi Kathryn,
      I feel embarrassed in a pathetic kind of way because I don’t know if I lost a comment from you or not. What to do? Pretend it didn’t happen or own up? I couldn’t handle the silence so I confessed. Thanks for the kindness and the hug. My best to you and Sara too.

        1. We lead busy lives and don’t always have time to comment on everything we read. Thanks for your faithful reading of my blog. I appreciate it.

    1. Hi There,
      It’s not strange. I have approved it now but be prepared for a wait in the future. I moderate all comments and unlike many who are on the internet forming friendships to replace the emptiness in their offline lives I have a very full offlife that I’m so grateful for.

      You see I have a business to run, I have contracted writing to do, I have a home and acreage to maintain, I have family, friends and pets, I answer many support forum questions almost every day, and in the time I have left over I get to blog. LOL :D

      1. What a wonderful life! A multi-tasked (woman again) blogger!

        The strange thing was — normally we get a message ‘your comment is …moderation.’ But the last time this particular message didn’t appear. That was the reason I sent the message.

        I was worried about bad feng shui that comment was being lost……..

        Hope you have a well deserved break and is fully recharged again.

  6. timethief shows her vulnerability today. timethief is one of us. :-)

    I lost a long post last time. I didn’t know what happened. I did save the post many times like what I normally do, but couldn’t find the auto saved versions. A few of my friends had similar problems. It could have been a technical glitch from WordPress.

    Last time my son lost a post. Weeks later we realised his post actually did appear, as a post in a new ‘PAGE’, not as a blog post. This can happen so easily.

    1. Yes, I am human and I do make mistakes.

      re: I lost a long post last time.

      Support Staff and the developers have been aware of this issue for months. The likelihood you can retrieve it is zero if you posted it here http://wordpress.com/#!/post/

      If and only if a missing post was created on the dashboard of your own blog at Dashboard > Posts > All Posts > Add New then you can recover a lost post or page from revisions if needs be. See here > http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2010/03/21/wordpress-recovering-a-lost-blog-post-or-page/
      http://en.support.wordpress.com/posts/post-revisions/

      But if it was created here http://wordpress.com/#!/post/ there is no means of recovery as the auto-save is not functioning there.

      Always create your posts on the dashboard of your own blog at
      Dashboard > Posts > All Posts > Add New
      The auto-save works there and the post will be Standard post format unless you change it.

      Do not create posts here > http://wordpress.com/#!/post/ where the auto-save is not working and where you are creating an Aside post format.

      Advice: use an offline blog editor so you have a backup of every post and page on your own computer.
      http://en.support.wordpress.com/xml-rpc/

  7. I can empathize! Although I haven’t yet lost a Comment, it’s only a matter of time. That you owned up to the mistake is wonderful. It shows you have integrity, and that you’re human! :)

    1. Hi Kerwyn,
      Thanks for the support. I think I lost 5 comments and not just 1 and the readers whose comments I lost have yet to post here. :(

      1. I’d like to think that we’re both a forgiving and tenacious lot here on WordPress. Let’s hope that means those lost posts get resubmitted!

  8. I find reading comments and responding to comments to be a most enjoyable blogging activity–I’m sorry to hear you lost the opportunity to read the comments that you inadvertently deleted.

    As my blog has aged, I’ve noticed more and more “spammy” followers and comments. It’s time consuming to sift through new followers and comments, and when advertising sites pop up, I find myself disappointed. It’s always nice to connect with real readers. Hopefully, they will comment again.

    No worries, TT. You’re one of the most genuinely responsive bloggers in our little nook of the sphere. And I appreciate your wonderful writings and your willingness to connect with others.

    1. Dear ♡eM

      I do love connecting with readers as opposed to being harassed and harangued by spammers and scammers. The latter two are a huge growth industry and I’m no saint. I struggle not to be angry about the disintegration I am witnessing. As soon as marketers entered the blogopshere the good thing we had going previously was replaced by never ending opportunism. I spend hours turning down guest post requests from people I have no relationship with ie. gamers with cash registers where their hearts ought to be and links or dollar sign in their eyes. But I won’t be doing that any more.

      Granted I’m a has been warrior princess from the political/environmental/journalism arenas who has slayed many dragons, starting with my own but I grieve over what has happened to blogs in the “personal development” niche. I am contemptuous of advertising tactics and marketing trickery brands use ranging from the soft sell “you are entitled” and “you deserve it” lifestyle marketing messages to the green-washing ads and yoga bleaching. The blogopshere I knew and loved has become a huge shopping mall and I’m not a consumer.

      Thanks so much for your kindness. I’m so glad our blogging paths crossed and I found your blog after you commented on mine. I appreciate your thoughtful posts and will try to comment more frequently on them.

      1. Thanks for this comment, TT. It helps me to know that my thoughts and frustrations about blogging are not unusual, even though they still return nearly each time I log in.

        I find spammy comments that make no connection to my blog or posts. I’ve gotten requests to link to spammy blogs and guest post for them. It’s gotten to the point that nearly every time I look into a blogger via its “like” or “follow”, I find no real writer or person. As a result, I no longer click on bloggers who like or follow my blog, but I do visit whenever I receive comments that are connected and make sense.

        I often wonder if I am missing out on an opportunity to connect with yet another wonderful human being, but the time it would take to do so just to end in frustration has prompted me to simply connect via comments only.

        Thanks for your response. I feel as though my joy in blogging has been diminished by all this. What to do, though. I don’t know. I suppose it’s time to visit the forums and support.

    1. I make lots of mistakes and most are noticed because they are in public places and spaces. This one was the kind that could slip through the cracks. Thanks for being so supportive.

  9. I was just wondering last night, ‘What would happen if I never deleted any spam and just ignored it?’ Do they accumulate until WordPress servers burst? Do they only float there for a time before vanishing? Out of many thousands of spam messages only one might have been legit message. I’m very tempted to just ignore the accumulation of spam since I can get a hundred or so each day.

    Another thing, most of the spam I get is targeted at a specific post as if a crack had been found in the foundation. Any way to spackle that without deleting one of my favorite posts? I guess I could repost it and then delete the original.

    1. Any way to spackle that without deleting one of my favorite posts? I guess I could repost it and then delete the original.

      Do NOT do that. Read this to understand why that’s the worst thing you could do. http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2011/08/05/avoid-creating-404-pages/

      It’s possible that you approved a single spam comment or more than one spam comment and if you do that then spammers will continue to hammer the daylights out of that post. But you can close comments on the post and stop the deluge.

      Akismet will maintain comments it has caught for 15 days from the time they were received, and then it will delete the comment automatically. This is by design and cannot be changed. It is a good habit to check your spam comments every day or two so that you can identify legitimate comments and “not spam” them prior to them being deleted by Akismet after the 15 days. http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2012/05/20/mark-spam-as-spam/

      1. Took me forever but I finally found how to close the discussion. Thanks for that. I’ll be watching my spam folder for more spam connected to that particular post as well as others. I’ll be happy to close other discussions if this works.

        It seems like certain legitimate visitors bring along spam with them, people I know in real life. I can’t really prove that but I used to get an influx of spam only when certain people commented on my site. Maybe my imagination?

        1. Hello again,
          I’m glad to read you accomplished that. I’ve never noted what you have observed and recounted in your last paragraph so I don’t have anything I can contribute.

        2. Closing the comments on the entry did seem to do the trick. My wife suggested that some people might have something like a tracking cookie following them and that triggers a spamming opportunity when they visit. I dunno.

          1. She could be right. I would be investigating every comment I had approved on that post and labeling the spam as spam. Akisemt is a learning engine.

  10. I suspect we’ve all done that or something like it…. but how utterly cool of you to confess (and apologize) so publicly! ;)

  11. Could be worse. I once deleted a whole month’s worth of posts! Considered slitting my wrists. Cried a lot. Might have screamed. Wasn’t pretty. Much sympathy, however. I know the feeling.

    1. Hello there,
      OMG! That’s scary. Did you have to go to Google’s cache, copy paste and re-publish them? And/or have to go to your feed reader and re-construct posts from there, assuming you had the RSS feed set to “full posts” rather than “summary” and you had subscribed to your own blog posts?. I have had to do that but not for a whole month’s photos. My case was even worse. I deleted a whole blog in error – no kidding! I did that before there were multiple warnings re: blog deletion being permanent. I wept as worked frantically to reconstruct the posts in a blog with a different URL. All authority and page rank was lost of course.

      Maybe we should treat this post as a blogging blooper’s post and get all of us to own up to the idiotic things we have done.

      Dear Readers – Bring it! lol :D

      1. I had no backup and no way I knew of at the time to recover the posts. Fortunately I wasn’t posting as often in those days, so not as much was lost.

  12. I have an inkling about how you feel. My very first published crochet pattern had a typo in line 11 resulting in the pattern not working. (my fault)Like you all I could do was “fess up” and set about putting it right. I am glad you posted this because it makes me feel better. The sort of thing one can laugh about (with time). :)

    1. Previous to taking up blogging I had time to crochet and knit. I’m was an expert knitter, make your own pattern and knit in the dark without missing a stitch type who started knitting about the same time I learned to read and write ie. age 4. Previous to taking hp blogging I had more time to pursue singing and improv comedy as well.

      This year my long suffering long time friends who are close enough to be family had strong words for me at our Spring equinox potluck dinner. The message was to spend more time with them and less online. Several told me point blank that they felt neglected and were pissed off to find I was choosing to spend time online with people I would never meet, rather than spending it with them. They were correct. I have been neglecting my offline relationships and dropping hobbies I actually love so I have slowly been correcting that.

      1. Thank you so much for telling me that. Perhaps your next crafty project will be a amigurumi Koala? I am planning to post the free pattern soon.It is good of you to help us navigate the blogging world. I wouldn’t have known what a backlink was if it bit me on the arm prior to your blog. Now thanks to you, I know how to track them down and then delete them. Some people (like you) just seem to have the knack of making the complicated understandable!

    1. Yes, I make mistakes and I’m so embarrassed when I do. I hope there isn’t anyone out there whose comment I accidentally deleted that took the non-appearance personally. I decided to stop fretting and own up to my error publicly.

      P.S. I hope you are aware of the images that are producing the 404 (file not found) error messages in your post here http://foundthispaintedthat.wordpress.com/2013/06/20/martha-stewart-would-cringe/ If you delete images from your Media Library you are removing them from WordPress.com servers. Then when your vistors’ browsers call from them to be displayed there is no image the server can present. The solution is to upload them again.

  13. Oh, I do hate when that happens. I’ve lost a few comments over the years, and it is distressing. However: good for you for saying so, instead of using the cyber-equivalent of “the dog ate my homework”!

Comments are closed.