Weekend Blogging Reads and Resources

weekend reading8 Blogging For Business Tips You Still Mess Up – You might know a lot about blogging. But there’s also a few things you don’t know. Information that, if used correctly, can help you better your current strategy or even build a new killer one from scratch.

.EDU Link School: Tips & Tactics for Snagging Authoritative Links From Higher Ed – There are a ton of ripe link opportunities at schools, if you know where to look. Here are a few actionable and high probability tips and tactics for snagging .edu links.

3 Essential Blogging Tips For Your Author Website – Blogging is a great way to update your author website with fresh content: an incentive for visitors to keep visiting regularly. Some writers have even started successful writing careers because of their blogs.

Four reasons to upgrade to the new Pinterest  – Everything is bigger and bolder.

5 New Ways to Think About Guest Blogging

6 Interesting Facebook Tricks You Might Not Know

10+ Ways To Use YouTube Annotations – YouTube annotations can really help get your viewers to take action or understand what you are saying.

Do You Give Your Power Away At Work? “While there is certainly a need for courageous leadership, we should be careful not to confuse courage for bravado or the sheer force of will. Rather, courage arises from a clear sense of purpose grounded with the integrity to commit to realizing it in concordance with one’s values.”

Blog Exercises: The IKEA Effect for Bloggers – The Ikea Effect was coined by researchers who found out what we all know but rarely admit, we put too much ownership into our own brainchild ideas and concepts. … It’s time to recognize if you are suffering from the IKEA Effect when it comes to your blog.

Authors Sue Self-Publishing Service Author Solutions – Three authors have filed suit (note this suit seeks class action status) against self-publishing service provider Author Solutions, and its parent company Penguin, airing a laundry list of complaints and alleging the company is engaged in deceitful, dubious business practices.

8 thoughts on “Weekend Blogging Reads and Resources

  1. I’ve never heard the term “IKEA Effect” but it’s so true. I sometimes wonder if I suffer from it even though I didn’t know there was a name for it. It’s the times when a post I’ve put a lot of heart and soul into doesn’t get the response for numbers that I thought it would.

    I find that I have to get other bloggers to look at my blog or a fresh or honest opinion. For me, it’s almost impossible to look at it objectively b/c I’ve invested so much into it.

  2. Oh dear, now I’m wondering if I’m suffering from the Ikea effect. Probably. I’ve had my blog for so long that it’s almost impossible to see it objectively anymore.

Comments are closed.