Slowly Catching Up

catching upI love reading your comments and don’t want to do you the disservice of tossing off quick thank yous, but I’m beginning to wonder if I ought to continue attempting to reply to each comment. It seems I have been playing catch-up since the year began but it’s just the last two months that have been the worst for me. Combine business year end, annual tax preparation time, add dental appointments for fixing two broken teeth, then tack on a monthly contracted writing deadlines, and you will understand why I’m so far behind in answering your comments. Thanks for your patience while waiting. It’s appreciated.

 

51 thoughts on “Slowly Catching Up

  1. Introverts, feel the need to respond to commenters, to return visits to one’s blog, etc– I’m exactly the same way, and it’s a sure route to the loony bin. I hope they send you to the same place– we could bang our heads against the wall together. You know– kinda like a drumming circle, only more vertical… : P

  2. Not that this was at all your intent (your intent is a reflection that you care about the folks who visit your site) but the comments following this post hopefully have been validating! You ARE appreciated!
    Many of us are just glad to get ONE comment :-) Maybe someday we’ll “grow up” to be a big blog and have too many comments to worry over, too.
    Enjoy your success and know you have touched many!
    And how very cool is that?
    No comment needed :-)

  3. You will never catch up and you will burn out trying – I know; that’s what happened to me.

    Just answer those to which you can give a proper reply rather than an acknowledgement. And even then, don’t overdo it.

  4. I’m new to blogging (5-6 months) and new to your site, but it’s SO HELPFUL. Very happy I found it. I have 100 questions but no desire to bog you down! I’ll keep clicking and reading and looking for my answers—I’m pretty sure they’re here. Thank you for what you do!

  5. I also like the “slow blogging” idea. I have to remind myself given limited energy stores, that I am blogging (and studying music, and gardening, etc.) to enhance and bring joy to my life, not to add stress and pain. When I am feeling undone about having blogs to read or comments to reply to, I know it is time for more balance. perhaps replying to the comments that promote the biggest possibility of more dialogue on the post topic would be an option, given the huge number of comments you receive. or if there is a distinct theme to a group of comments, they may be the basis of another post, where you can acknowledge the commenters. (BTW don’t even think you need to reply to this – I am just tossing thoughts out there, having taken a week’s break from reading blogs so I could do more recorder practice.)

  6. I don’t know what I would do if hundreds of people commented regularly and I often think my answers sound a bit flat in tone. But I do try to answer because I like the dialogue almost more than the blogging bit, but that is me. I know that people are busy so don’t expect them to comment. I tend to read the blogs I follow once a week, like I am doing now when I have a calm and quiet moment and leave a comment then.

    I am always pleased to see your comments but I don’t expect them. You can’t be everywhere at once. It’s a numbers thing to a certain extent. I try to leave comments and go back and see if the person has responded. It is nice to get feedback. I assume that people like comments, otherwise they would switch them off, so I leave them if I spend time reading because it is just a way of saying thank you for giving me something interesting to read. I hope you come up with a solution for your own situation. Sending love, Jo

    1. I was thinking the same thing myself about liking the dialogue as much as the blogging. I suppose you can have too much of a good thing, but I have never come close to having an overabundance of comments–often it’s no comments at all.

  7. What a thoughtful way to deal with the sometimes overwhelming task of keeping up with comments & life. Thanks for sharing, I’m sure your blog commenters appreciate your concern :)

  8. Oh, TiTi, I can relate. As someone stated above, I also become discouraged when there’s no response to a comment (well, not all of my comments, because some of them are just dumb). But if there’s a pattern of silence, I begin to wonder why I bother. One of the beauties of blogging (for me) is the dialogue. And if someone takes the time to read and respond to something I’ve written, I want to show my appreciation by telling them so, even if it’s just a word or two.

    That being said, you have to take care of you!! You pour so much of yourself into your posts, comments and your tweets, and it can wear a person very thing when the demands of daily life grow too…well–demanding. I think your readers would understand a little disclaimer that said you were spread too thin, or even one big bulk reply or two instead of individual ones. Whichever you choose, I’m still following.

    I know I’m rambling here, but I have to mention a big lesson I learned recently. There was a blogger whose work I really loved, but he never, ever replied to my comments (though he did occasionally response to the comments of others). I began to think less-than-kind thoughts about him and decided to stop reading. Then, in my reader, I saw a post from his wife, talking about his struggles with terminal brain cancer, She wrote about how much he loved his readers, and how, although he could no longer post or reply, she was still reading the comments to him, because they meant everything to him. It put things into some strange sort of perspective for me. I’ve been leaving comments again, and I couldn’t care less if I ever get a word in return.

  9. I feel like such a slouch compared to all the above commenters. I do follow certain blogs…but guess what: I only bookmark the blogs I enjoy reading. Nope, things don’t even appear in my wordpress.com Reader area. I just don’t want the guilt/stress feeling of being bombarded of stuff to read/click on.

    Instead I just go visiting and commenting whenever I feel like it.
    And you should too, Timethief. I’ve always been grateful for your visits/comments. Even if it’s over 2-3 months after I’ve published or commented on your blogs.

    1. Dear Jean
      You aren’t a slouch. For goodness sake you work full time and many don’t so they have the time that you don’t have. Moreover, you’re comments are always meaningful and on point. Sheesh I never realized I was 2-3 months behind in commenting on your posts. I read them all several times. Commenting isn’t my strong suit so maybe I was too busy running around in circles to be able to count. :( I may revert back to bookmarking like you do rather than using the Reader. I’m indecisive about what to do at this point.

  10. Oh TT, I have always been in awe of your energy and commitment to blogging what with your wonderful posts and help on the forums. I trust you find the time and space you need for some much needed R & R.

    I sometimes feel like a crazy chicken with the dilemma of reading and commenting on other posts, versus replying to much appreciated comment on my posts, versus posting new work, versus taking more photos and sorting them out, versus working out what to cook for supper each night etc etc . . . oh, and staying in touch with friends and family!

    1. Oh Patti,
      You second paragraph summarizes my state of mind – confused and running around in circles like a headless chicken. My energy level is low right now so I’m re-energizing. I know I must do that from past experience or my health will crash.

      1. TT, there’s a food following in Europe devoted to Slow Food http://www.slowfood.com/

        Perhaps we should start a Slow Blogging campaign!

        Inactivity is often seen as being slothful when it is a vital component of the re-charging process, where thoughts and creative processes . . . you know the drill! Pull that plug and go and rest!

        1. I’m into slow food – how did you know?

          Slow blogging – How brilliant!

          I’m off to eat dinner now and may choose to lay on the couch rather than returning here this evening.

  11. I really don’t mind if you don’t reply all of the time! It’s gracious to reply to first time commenters – as you did to me, for instance – but I wouldn’t feel affronted if you didn’t reply every time. As someone has already mentioned, not every comment needs a reply and probably wasn’t given with the expectation of one. Your blog is so interesting and helpful, I’ll keep visiting regardless of whether you comment or not. I wish you well – no need for a reply! – Josephine

    1. Hi Josephine,
      You are back from your trip and planning to take part in NaPoWriMo this year. I know what you mean about daily exercise being helpful for getting into the daily writing mode. I’m Re-energizing After a Lay-Off http://thistimethisspace.com/2013/02/27/re-energizing-after-a-lay-off/ When it comes to exercising for me that means working through pain from arthritis and fibromyalgia. I do stretching and yoga asanas daily to help prevent injury, increase my range of motion, reduce stiffness, and reduce pain. Walking briskly is my 5 days weekly aerobic exercise.

  12. tt, go easy on yourself. Your health and real-life life are more important than any blog. Blogs as popular as yours draw a ton of comments and although we appreciate your replies, we certainly don’t want you stressing over them. And don’t you dare reply to this.

  13. I don’t need a reply each time either … you might want to try this … combine several replies to comments that each say basically the same thing into one reply… like for this post, you could say ‘Helena, Widder, (etc) – thanks for your thoughts’.

    1. I used to do that when I first began blogging and may return to it. It doesn’t work well though with new comments set to display on top as I have this blog set up to do now.

  14. I can really relate to your wish for a break in which you do nothing. I’m having a break between online courses next week and I aspire to do at least some of nothing. As we’re in the process of gradually moving, I don’t think it will be fully nothing. But even a taste of nothing would be a blessing. I hope you will have this pleasure too.

    1. Gradual moving sounds sensible to me. Doing the big push all at once is exhausting and can result in all kinds of unexpected events like breakage and loss and even injury.

      Thanks you as nothing to do and nowhere to go would be a blessing in any dose.

      ♫ A taste of nothing — tasting much sweeter than wine. ♫

  15. While it’s a fact that replying to a comment is a basic courtesy, it’s also a fact that many comments don’t actually require a reply.

    Just saying . . .

  16. I’ve had the same thoughts (I’m two posts behind on responding), but to be honest, I don’t generally leave comments anymore if the blogger doesn’t respond. It doesn’t seem worthwhile if I’m not sure they’re even reading them.

    BTW – I don’t care how late you are getting back. Plus, if you’re really behind, just start with the newest ones and forget about catching up. Or respond to just a few old ones that particularly appealed to you.

    Nancy

  17. I think WordPress itself suggested making only substantial comments or only replying to the same. I appreciate when you do respond, but have no trouble if you don’t. Likes are nice. Stay strong from an up in the air trying to get my feet on the ground old one. Thank you for all you do.

    1. Hi Katherine,
      I have always tried to answer every comment. I even respond to like button clickers and hunt for their blogs so I can visit. When I answer comments I also click into the blog and read 1 – 3 posts. Then if I like the post(s) I click the like button and Tweet the links. Until recently I was able to keep pace. The only times I did not respond were when I was sick (I’m chronically ill and do experience flareups), or when I accidentally missed responding. I appreciate your comment here very much as it assures me that I won’t lose you as a subscriber and that is important to me.

    1. Dear Moose,
      I was in tears over this and I’m close to tears now again. I have to make a decision about what I’ll do after I catch up with outstanding comments. I don’t want any reader who took the time to submit a comment to feel like I ignored what they had to say. I treasure their comments I’m just short on time is all.

    1. Hi Becki and thanks for your kind wishes.

      Becki you need to edit your posts and reduce the combined number of categories and tags on them. What you are doing (inadvertently) is called spamdexing AKA as tag spamming.

      Will you please check out the reasons for non-appearance here?
      http://en.support.wordpress.com/topics/#missing-posts

      The rule of thumb is assign the least number of relevant categories and tags to any post. Also be sure you do not exceed a combined total of 15.

      As you have assigned a combined total that exceeds 15 Categories/Tags to your posts, you need to edit and delete. http://en.support.wordpress.com/posts/edit-posts-screen/ After removal note it may take several days for your posts to begin displaying there.

      For tips on tagging see > http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2013/03/15/quick-blog-post-tagging-tips/

      1. Thank you. I was not aware of that. I actually pay someone that does this for me. The volume of views we are receiving has exceeded all and any expectations I ever expected.

  18. I totally understand. I’m feeling the same, perhaps I’m following too many bloggers plus I belong to several very active artist on-line communities, so that means my art gets pushed to the back burner or I fight trying to play catchup in looking at the blogs I follow. Oh well, a decision is coming because painting has to move up the priority list if I ever expect to reach my goals. So, I do understand – BTW, your blog is one of the best.

    1. Hi Mary,
      I like Rough Sea a lot. I live on a little island.

      After that catastrophe of deleting blogs I follow from the WordPress.com Reader to move theme to the Google Reader only to find that it was shutting down I was at my wit’s end.

      I took a break two weekends in a row so I could catch up on housework, laundry, getting my garden seeds, cleaning my studio and and visiting with friends. Both were very busy breaks. I think I need a break of the kind where one does nothing. I’ve never had a break like that but I sure could use one now.

  19. You do an amazing job and have really helped me on many occasions … take it easy – and no need to reply to this!

      1. Thank you so much time thief. It’s good to know there’s someone out there reading it!

        1. Never allow yourself to be discouraged. According to many sources, extroverts make up 60% to 75% of the population, and introverts make up the remainder. Always know that though the majority are extroverts and may post comments there is a significant minority of introverts like me who read and who may not comment. I am a voracious reader and blogging has helped me become more communicative but I remain an introvert.

Comments are closed.