Weekend Blogging Reads and Resources

books stackedAnother week is  almost gone and I’m wondering where it went.  Here’s my weekly offering for you readers.

Blog Log #2: The One Thing I Wish Someone Had Told Me When I Started Blogging – When you first start out blogging, you’re hungry. You’re excited. You have a million ideas. But nobody talks about how you’ll feel five years in.  … Blogging for fame and fortune usually leads to burnout. Blogging as a creative outlet or to support a business usually has longevity. Do what you do because you love it but also have a goal.

How to Develop Yourself as a Blogger – The best way to make your blog a resounding success is to develop your expertise.

How to Identify an Online Community for Your Business – Before you even get started doing the work to identify your online community, get very clear about why you’re even in business in the first place. Why do you matter? What are your values? What do you have to offer? How are you unique?

Should Freelancers “Waste” Time on Social Media? – How to make the most of your social media usage so that you aren’t wasting time. Some healthy social media practices for freelancers and some things that don’t benefit freelancers.

Lessons On Effective Leadership From A Nobel Laureate – From Nobel laureate Dr. James Watson’s book, “Avoid Boring People: Lessons From A Life In Science” and the lessons he shares with the reader from his experiences both in and outside of the lab.

Career Advice from Dog Sledding in the Arctic

5 Techniques to Have a Productive Day Everyday – The key thing many of us tend to forget is that life is not just about winning or losing but it is more important to live the moment, cherish it and enjoy each day to its fullest.

The SEO of Responsive Web Design – Responsive design has been a hot topic in online marketing for the past few months, but is it really going to become an industry standard? Short answer: yep.

How to Conduct Scientific Research On the Internet (Without Getting Duped) – Before you just fire up Google and start researching blindly, you have two big obstacles to watch out for your own confirmation bias and questionable sources of information.

Why This Oscar-Nominated Disney Short Looks Like Nothing Made Before – Director John Kahrs had a vision for his animated short Paperman. There was just one problem. The technology to make it didn’t exist yet.

Never Again Hate Self-Promotion – After reading this, you should never again feel uncomfortable with “self-promotion.”

8 Not-So Obvious Ways to Make More Out of Your Blog Posts – 8 ideas are sure to improve your productivity and results

My next book: “The Art Of Not Sucking”

“SUCCESS IS EASY”

Don’t let the drama queens and mar­ke­ting dorks fool you, suc­cess is actually pretty easy… or at least, sim­ple. It basi­cally has four elements:

i. Work hard.

ii. Be nice.

iii. Have great pro­duct or service.

iv. Don’t suck.

Of the four, “Don’t suck” is the most daun­ting. The other three are fairly straightforward.

Your guide to life under the Copyright Alerts System  – it’s an agreement between the five largest Internet service providers (ISPs) in the country and major content companies, such as music studios and record labels. It aims to cut down on illegal filesharing. If you use AT&T, Cablevision, Comcast, Time Warner, or Verizon to get online at home, then yes. It’s either now part of your terms of service or it’s about to be.

ProBlogger Challenge: Put a Value on Your Blog – By the end of this challenge, you should have a rough valuation on your blog.

13 thoughts on “Weekend Blogging Reads and Resources

  1. First of all: love your new header image with that smoky sun shining thru the pines. Excellent metaphor for what you do here, too: dispelling darkness… : )

    Some good reminders: reaching out to others first, and not being so self-conscious about self-promotion.

    And one of the articles suggested spending more time in the shower. Hm. How’d they find out about my personal hygiene?? : P

    1. Hi Mark,
      I think shower time can be a time for forming a plan but I don’t use it for that purpose myself. I tend to sing in showers. Truth be told I chant and sing a lot.

      I missed posting a weekly blogging reads and resources post last week deliberately. It wasn’t on the top of my priority list as I describe here http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2013/04/24/blogging-yoga-style/ I have been deluged with email from bloggers who wanted me to feature their posts. Well I visited their blogs and it was a fruitless waste of my time. I avoid posting links to posts on make money blog sites.

      The image is lovely and it’s very much like what I see when looking out into the fir forest from my windows. Aside from my fencing I cannot see a single man-made structure or a single human being when I look out any window in my home. I can see only gorgeous meadows, forest and sweeping sky-scapes.

  2. Thanks for sharing the links! Always trying to get better at what I do, the blogging ‘how to’ links or ‘how to be a better blogger’ articles were informative and instructive! Now, time to become an expert at something :)

    1. Hi there,
      I’m happy you found a couple of articles you liked in the mix. I think most of us are interested in becoming better at what we do ie. blogging. But when it comes to experts then how doe we define that? This earlier posts may interest you or not http://wp.me/paTVO-2wa Hope you have a great upcoming week.

  3. I ended up spending quite a bit of time at the site linked to via 8 No-so-obvious…It kind of makes me feel like a traitor, spending more time on some other guy’s site than this one. But the difference is I always come back to you, Time Thief! Thanks again!

    1. Hi There Julie,
      I frequently get lost when reading SEO articles too, not to worry. Don’t feel bad about clicking into any site that your find useful information on. But thanks for letting me know you intend to remain a loyal reader as I do appreciate that.

  4. Thank you especially for the link to “The Art of Not Sucking.” That’s a great read that I will be going back to, particularly when I need a reminder to just sit down, shut up and do the work.

    1. I loved it too. It was an excellent reminder to get rid of the distractions and focus on content creation. I’m looking forward to the book being published.

Comments are closed.