Image uploading? Size is everything

Size is everything. Lack of image preparation prior to upload leads to loss of image quality, waste of upload space and the frustration involved in troubleshooting. Worse still, it can lead to creating a bad experience for your readers.  Take note of this timely post titled How Big Am I – GIF, JPEG, PNG and learn how to prepare your images prior to uploading them.

I originally reblogged this post only to experience that facts that (1) the images  were included in the reblog and (2) the largest image in the reblog replaced my own images in my own posts in the sidebar Top Posts and Pages widgets. Hence, I deleted the reblog but that means that the comments on it will disappear also. So I simply copied and pasted them below. Aararaggghhh!

Related posts:

Mike Hardisty |

I stopped using WordPress to host my images, instead keeping them on Flickr and then embedding them into my blog using Live Writer.

Hi Mike,
I’m happy that works for you but I don’t recommend third party image hosting. I prefer images to be on the same servers my posts are on.

10 thoughts on “Image uploading? Size is everything

  1. Thank you for this post. I’ve recently gotten a bit more serious about my blog and to be honest, I never really thought about file size. I thought that the largest files were the best. Looking over this site, I’ve seen the errors in my ways. 2 quick question for you: Is it worth my time to go through my backlog of posts and edit the file sizes of my pictures (Currently 187 pics at 302 MB)? And if so, is there an easy way to download all of those media files from WordPress and re-upload the edited versions without causing problems? (I know how to batch edit so fixing the downloaded pics won’t be too much of a problem) Thank you for your insight. I’m certainly a regular reader now.

  2. Ah, ’tis a sad thing to find one’s browser is out of date, and that one’s current operating system can’t support a browser upgrade!! : (

    But many thanks for the info! : )

  3. There’s something to be said about being more conscientious on server memory space use..especially if it’s free. While I don’t blog frequently and resize my images off-line before uploading them into the Media Library, I might end up blogging more frequently several years later.

  4. I’ve been blogging on wordpress since 2006, and I always use 3rd party hosting for my photos. For those of us that are primarily photoblogers, it makes the most sense. I can upload photos, full resolution to my smugmug account and so I have online backup as well as a sales site. And then I can just use them from that. No re-uploading, no resizing, no having to buy more storage space on wordpress. It just saves time, hassle and money. And I’ve lived primarily overseas, on 4 continents during that time, with slow internet – my blog photos have always loaded quite quickly. Plus, honestly, the photo quality is just better by going the smugmug route. I think sometimes the answer for what is best is not the same for those of us who are photobloggers. I’m sure it’s good advice for other bloggers. But when you are dealing with thousands of photos a year, time management is an issue not to be ignored. And for us, quality always counts. Small is not better for view photos.

  5. Well your post is perfect timing! As a reader I just experienced the most frustrating 5 days trying to figure out what was was going on with my computer 8+ hours, only to finally figure out the slow down and hang up with my computer had to do with the section “blogs that I follow on wordpress.” WordPress bloggers are posting images that are way too large for wordpress to manage and computers to process all the postings. As a result hang time for me was not seconds, not minutes, but became hours – and seriously that ‘s not why I started a blog. I can tell you from an artist view – my frustrating had me finally dump many of the wonderful blogs I was following and this morning it has started again, so I will probably have to dump several more.

    Every blog on wordpressers will have to pay attention to image size (especially photographers their beautiful photo’s are killing our computers hang time).

    On a personal note, I can’t get the time back taken from actually painting that I lost going through this experience, and I’m rethinking whether I’ll continue having a blog. This has been a very bad experience for me.

    One question, could there possibly be a problem from WordPress’ end.? Perhaps they have a bug in their system, because I don’t experience this problem anywhere other place on wordpress or the internet for that matter except when “Blogs that I follow” on wordpress opens – it just hangs and doesn’t finish connecting.

    It took me 25 minutes to type this post – guess what, I’m done for today with wordpress. I was going to post something on my blog, so not worth again the time, and frustration. I need to get back to painting.

    Thanks Timethief. Mary.

    1. I’m so sorry this has been a negative experience for you. Perhaps troubleshooting with uncover the cause of your issues or at least eliminate some possibilities.

      If you are not running one of the browsers and versions listed at http://browsehappy.com/ please try upgrading or switching first.

      Note: If you are using an IE9 browser in compatibility mode that makes it render as IE7 and IE7 is not supported. To disable see > http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/1196-internet-explorer-compatibility-view-turn-off.html

      If you are running one of the browsers and versions listed at http://browsehappy.com please do these four things:

      1. Try clearing your browser’s cache:

      http://www.google.com/support/accounts/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=32050

      2. Make sure that you have third-party cookies enabled: http://en.support.wordpress.com/third-party-cookies/

      3. Try with all browser extensions or add-ons temporarily disabled.

      4. Try enabling HTTPS: http://en.support.wordpress.com/https/

      If it’s still happening, post to the support forums http:;/en.forums.wordpress.com and let us know exactly which browser (and version of it) you’re using by checking here if necessary http://www.whatbrowser.org/

  6. For what it is worth, I also don’t recommend third-party image hosting because if the image hosting site is down or the images are deleted, then the post is not going to display the images.

    1. I’m a bit divided on the 3rd party image hosting issue. There are times when I find it advantageous to host single images elsewhere, box.com (with a paid subscription) mostly. It gives me the ability to easily change the image without having to continuously change the URL in a text or image widget, as well as receiving stats data on images that I wasn’t getting from WordPress.com. This was particularly useful when I had a continuously updated counter for Gilad Shalit.

      As far as flickr, unless they’ve changed their policy, even with a free account the images that you’ve embedded in a site or shared with a group will continue to display long after you’ve uploaded more than the 200 images that display in your flickrstream.

      As far as reblogging, I agree. It would be good to make images optional, like with the current “press this” utility. On the other hand, when you reblog with images, you are essentially hotlinking them, which as WP.com is concerned, is not a problem.

Comments are closed.