My Blog Has No “Links” Section in the admin? « WordPress.com Forums

I spotted this thread in the WordPress.com support forum today:

The Links section was removed from the core WordPress.org software, which means that it will probably be removed from WordPress.com soon.

In preparation for that, new blogs no longer display the Links section.

Instead of using Links and a Links Widget, I recommend creating a Custom Menu and a Custom Menu Widget.

See this for more info and a video tutorial: http://en.support.wordpress.com/menus/

via My Blog Has No “Links” Section in the admin? « WordPress.com Forums.

38 thoughts on “My Blog Has No “Links” Section in the admin? « WordPress.com Forums

  1. Sorry I could not find a place to message you other than here in the comments. I had a question about using forums on wordpress.com. I know basically you cant, but when you do the third party option are there any forum website that have a log in with wordpress option? If not if I upgrade wordpress to be able to style css, do you reccomend or know of any site that have embeddable forums comments and chat?

    1. Hello there,
      There are no chatboxes we can use on free hosted WordPress.com blogs and there is not FTP access so we can’t install forum plugins. You cannot use CSS to change functionality. CSS can’t be used for anything at all except appearance changes to the theme and fonts. There are no upgrades your can purchase. You have three free WordPress.com workaround forum options: http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2012/04/23/wordpress-com-forum-options/

      If one of those does not suit you then you will have to hire a web host http://wordpress/org/hosting/ and set up a WordPress.org install. http://support.wordpress.com/com-vs-org/

  2. Hallo! I’m Antonella Brogi: many mounths ago I asked help on forum, and I’m discovering the answer now! I have lose my question! WordPress is not so easy but I’m learning.
    So just a Thank YOU!
    Antonella

  3. I know that link for creating Custom Menus will come in handy someday– many thanks.

    Lovely to have you back, don’t neglect your rest, best wishes for your continued recovery. : )

    1. Hi Mark,
      Custom Menus are the future and we can create as many as we need with Custom Menu Widgets. However, the ability to display a small set of random links is not currently available in the Custom Menu system.

      I still have many comments to answer from last week and I do intend to answer them this weekend. This upcoming week I have several medical appointments as I’m still symptomatic and I’m taking things easy right now.

  4. I have my links on a Page called Blogroll too.
    I’ve recently added the ‘My Community’ widget to my blog, and I’ve called it The Rogues Gallery. I include the gravatars of my commenters, but you can choose likers and followers as well. It is fast and easy to set up, and I think it is a good way to acknowledge those people who take the time to leave comments regularly.

  5. Your blog is very informative. With that said, I am a “simple” blogger with the objective of getting information out there to those who are looking for specific information on cancer. I do use the link widget; I found it straightforward and easy to use – a simple widget for a simple minded blogger!

    I often refer to links listed on other blogs. I click on them to get a feel for the type of blog I am reading; the links help me in understanding what or who influences the blogger.

    If the admin should make an eventual change, I am asking you to simply give us simple bloggers a step by step in how to transition over. For me, change is hard!! : )

    Thank you again,
    cyndi

  6. I forget now why at some point I set up a Links page to use instead of the Links widget. I think the widget was just too long and it was unnecessary clutter on the home page. A Links page instead of a home page widget is perhaps a bit of a disservice to the linked bloggers, but I thought it a valid design decision.

    Some themes have dedicated Links page templates, but most don’t, and I used to change themes so often that I needed to maintain a Links page of my own to make sure it would always carry over. It can be tedious to set up a big Links page from scratch, but I’ve been adding to mine for quite a long time.

  7. This was “as clear as mud” to me until I got to the post about the change being delayed until next year. I think I have a lot of learning to do in the meantime :-(. Thanks for the heads-up. I may do the separate page option, but I still need to learn more about the guts of blogging.

    Hope you are feeling better and the healing continues. I don’t know what we’d do without you!.

  8. Nothing is stable on wordpress.com. I have a page for my blogroll and links and I don’t even use a custom menu (my theme needs a widget in the side panel to show it but I choose to have an image map in the footer instead.)

    But for bloggers who don’t know about this – it’s going to be yet another ‘that’s news to me’, eureka moment! (If it happens.)

    1. Hi Kathy,
      It’s going quite well as we decided to put some of our renovation items on next year’s list. The lions’ share of the work is done. That has resulted in more rest for me and I’m slowly recovering.

      1. Yes, they haven’t decided yet, but if they do decide to remove it, the existing links should be backed up, or converted in some other format, or dumped in somewhere, so that they are not lost. Although i know that wp people will handle the things very well.

  9. Oh, a custom menu widget…Have no idea how to do that. I like the links widget, easy to use, maybe my theme doesn’t have a custom menu. I think my theme only allows for (2) custom menus. Well, then guess have to change themes.
    Thank you. :)

        1. I don’t. When I first began blogging the mile long blogroll of reciprocal links was the order of the day. “If too many of your links are of low quality it may make it harder for your site to rank for relevant queries, and some search engines may look at inlink and outlink ratios as well as link quality when determining how natural a site’s link profile is.” http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2008/11/09/understanding-reciprocal-and-non-reciprocal-links/

  10. I made a Page for my links instead. Works like a charm! And I called the page…”Links.” On my blog it’s on the left under Home and About. I have some explanations and pictures as well as pure links. Hope that gives you another option!
    Miss Maura,

      1. Seriously, timethief, I made up my way of doing it! I had no idea anyone else thought of it or blogged about it. I just started blogging in May 2012 so I hadn’t seen any of your posts. And yes, great minds…… Hope your journey to good health is moving forward. BTW you seem to be a vegetarian; there are several early posts on my blog that may interest you. Please look at the one called Whole Wheat Couscous Salad — it’s my fave and I know you and your family will love it too. Kind regards.

        1. Your Whole Wheat Couscous Salad recipe is almost the same as the one we make. :) The Rosemary and Pepper Drop Biscuits are on my list of recipes to try too.

          1. Glad you like ’em! Please note that the post & recipe for the biscuits is from Beth Moncel, a totally wonderful cook and baker who blogs at Budget Bytes on blogspot! She also has a link in there for her Kale and Chickpea Soup that sounds delicious and easy and nutritious and all that good stuff as well as many, many other cool recipes. Thanks for stopping in again, timethief, and for all your likes & comments. Good health to you. *smooch* Miss Maura P.S. Early on in my blog I posted a recipe for something like “Tofu with Broccoli and Peanut Sauce” that you and your husband might enjoy too.

  11. Ok i am going to have to do some research. I am SO STUPID when it comes to this stuff (I don’t mind saying it) and that is precisely why i have joined your site. Thank you for the heads up.. c

    1. You aren’t stupid. Learning to blog is a steep learning curve. There are many things to learn but keep posted on this one because it’s being reconsidered now.

Comments are closed.