WordPress Image Carousel Update

Eight months ago the WordPress.com image carousel made its debut.  That first iteration of the carousel made it possible for an image gallery to display a set of thumbnail images attached to a particular post or page.  The gallery shortcode could also be used to display the post or page’s gallery.  Now the improved version 2 of the carousel is avaliable to WordPress.com users and to WordPress.org users via the Jetpack 1.5 with Carousel plugin.

If you haven’t yet to discover this excellent resource on working with galleries in WordPress.com blogs then do yourself a favor and visit Random Acts of Photography AKA Not The Official WordPress.com Gallery FAQ. It’s been updated and contains the answers to almost every carousel and gallery related question you can ask.

28 thoughts on “WordPress Image Carousel Update

  1. Sorry … I am back! I promise I will not bother you again just one more thing, please! I just visited your blog http://thistimethisspace.com/archives/ and love it – following for sure. There is one feature you have and I wanted to have it on my blog but cannot make it work for life of me, (I do not have anyone to help me with it). On the left hand side you have this wonderfully user friendly pages that help navigate your site … how do you do that? Is it to do with menus? I cannot work those out at all! I would love to have a page where people can click and then click on articles they want to read, just like you have… sorry I am really in love with my blog! After only blogging for two months it has just been freshly pressed so I am ecstatic and wont to make it as best as I can!

    Many thanks,
    Daniela

  2. Hi,

    As always – really helpful information, thank you -! I would be very grateful if you can help me understand something I am really struggling with at the moment. I just changed from Manifest theme to Suburbia but unfortunately cannot see any of my images unless open each individual post … I have tried to resolve this problem and have seen other blogs that use Suburbia have images displayed as soon as blog is displayed … can you please let me know where I am going wrong? Thank you very much!

    1. Hello there,
      Suburbia description notes http://theme.wordpress.com/themes/suburbia/
      live demo site http://suburbiademo.wordpress.com/

      On the main page, Suburbia doesn’t display regularly inserted images. It displays only featured images. Regularly inserted images only display when a post is viewed on its own page but not on the front page. To have front page image display you need to set a featured image to each post and make each post a sticky post. Note that the size of the featured image does matter. The featured image works best with images at least 350 by 248 (width, height).

      Setting a Featured Image > http://en.support.wordpress.com/featured-images/#setting-a-featured-image
      Sticky posts > http://en.support.wordpress.com/posts/post-visibility/#sticky-posts

      If you don’t see the Featured Image module on your Add New or Edit Post page, please make sure you’ve selected Featured Image in your Screen Options. http://en.support.wordpress.com/screen-options
      Post – Likes and Shares, Format*, Categories, Tags, Excerpt, Send Trackbacks, Discussion, Comments**, Slug, Author, Revisions, Writing Helper
      Page – Likes and Shares, Page Attributes, Featured Image, Discussion, Comments**, Page Revisions, Slug, Author, Revisions, Writing Helper

      The “S” is the header image that you can replace with one of your own. The custom header image is 155 by 155 (width, height). That header image can be replaced here > Appearance > Header.

      See my personal blog which I have the Suburbia theme on http://thistimethisspace.com

  3. Thanks for pointing out Jennifer’s expertise on galleries. I’ll have to find time to figure out if my slidehows …become carousel galleries???

  4. Reblogged this on Cheryl Andrews and commented:
    Why is it so many of my writer pals are also photographers and vice versa? Well, check out Timethief’s recent post on WordPress Image Carousel Update and other posts on her site to happily marry these two passions.

  5. Perfect timing … I’m trudging through setting up a new blog for the construction of our log home in norther Ontario, Canada. I have a gazillion photographs of all the stages so far. Want a main shot with slideshow beneath for those crazy enough to want to see every bit of the process. This might be the answer. Thanks.

    1. Hi Cheryl,
      It’s good to hear from you and about you new blog to be. I think front page slideshows can be very attractive.

      You new About page is fabulous. Your recountinbg of flow experience resonates: “When writing I slip willingly into a brightly lit and infinite time orientation, as if there was no such thing as time.”

      Best wishes with your new blogging project.

      1. Thanks! You and One Cool Site are a wealth of ideas, tips and sources, resources to lean on (heavily) to get the photoblog up and running! Che

    1. @pocketperspectives

      It’s good to see you. :) Jennifer is another support forum Volunteer. She answers lost of gallery questions on the forum and her blog is an excellent resource. Bookmark it and follow it because every time I had a question I couldn’t answer I found the answer there. :)

  6. I’ve not tried it yet, but hope to soon. Thanks for the info.

    Another great look your blog is sporting this week. Love it!

    Hope your weekend has gone well.

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    1. Hi Kathy,
      Hope the work on the stairs is progressing well. I’ve been sanding like you as we move foward with the home reno. Thanks for the appearance comment. I like refreshing my blog’s look. This one is a zen reflection. :)

  7. Thank you for the reference to the FAQ at Random Acts – a very good read.

    I happened to put a gallery in an article recently and I kind of noticed that the result looked a bit different when it opened up compared to galleries a while ago.

    It reminds me of the way images show in Google+

    I was glad to read others have trouble constructing galleries in WP. I always assume I am just rubbish at understanding these things. I manage to do it, but there is a bit in the middle while I am adding images where I skip along and hope I land safely on the other side.

    One thing – the ‘drop your images here’ feature in WP makes making galleries much easier.

    1. Hi David,
      Many struggle with galleries and Jennifer’s blog is an excellent resource. I’m gald you visited it and assume you will follow and return to it. I haven’t worked with galleries except in my test blog. When I couldn’t find answers by doing I went to Jennifer’s blog and/or searched forum threads for her answers. I still do that.

      What you say about the Google + similarity was observed last November here > http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/wordpress_adds_photo_carousels_goes_even_more_soci.php I followed the forum thread as it developed http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/new-gallery-features-exif-data?replies=89

      I haven’t worked with galleries except in my test blog. When I couldn’t find answers by doing I went to Jennifer’s blog and/or searched forum threads for her answers. I still do that.

      1. Thank you for the extra information – that’s great.

        Like a lot of people do, I strip out EXIF data to reduce the file size whenever I upload for the web.

        One thing I noticed with Google+ is that when someone adds a comment to an image in the gallery, nothing shows up in the post that features the gallery (or in the case of G+ that is true even if there is just one image in the ‘gallery’) but only in gallery when you click to open it up.

        As an experiment, I added a test comment to one of the photos in the gallery I included in a recent article here on my WP.com blog.

        When I look at the post itself, there is no reference to the comment – which means the comment is buried within the gallery, which I don’t think is the best way to promote the fact that someone has shown interest in a photo.

        What do you think, or am I missing something?

        1. I think your observation re: comments being buried placement is right on. That needs to be addressed. Comments generate more comments. The comment number ought to be referred to on the post as discussion is a vital part of blogging and that’s no different when it comes to image galleries or posts (text).

Comments are closed.