Reposting content from other sites

In one ear we hear that to increase reach cross-posting a blog post or update on a number of other sites and social media platforms will lead to success. In the other we hear cross-posting too many automated links will class us as spammers. In this post you can view Matt Cutts of Google in a video where he answers a cross-posting question.

Duplicate content is content that can be accessed on more than one URL,  and generally refers to substantive blocks of content within or across domains that either completely match other content or are appreciably similar.  While it’s true that there is no ‘penalty’ for duplicate content what happens in most cases is that Google drops all but the original to prevent repetition in its results.

Auto-posting or manually posting content that is already published on internet creates no value to the site where it’s republished and in this post Panda world it can be viewed as thin content or loe value content or worse. There have been at least nine major updates to Google’s “Panda” algorithms since they were introduced last February to purge search results of duplicate content.  And auto-generated content is clearly something Google’s doesn’t want to rank. That’s why I’m surprised when new WordPress.com bloggers arrive in the support forums seeking ways and means to auto-post content from other sites to their blogs.

Is it useful to have a section of my site that re-posts articles from other sites?

Many sites have a press release section, or a news section that re-posts relevant articles. Since it’s all duplicate content, they be better off removing these sections (even with plenty of other unique content)? Gus, MA

34 thoughts on “Reposting content from other sites

  1. I have been contacted by site that wants my permission to republish any of my post they see fit. In return they will link to original content.

    This site is doing great on Google, even though it should be penalized (it virtually has no original content). Why do you think that is?

    It seems like a nice oportunity to get links from such a big site, but I feel uncomfortable giving them permission to repost every single post I have ever written.

      1. I can’t thank you enough for solving this dilemma for me. I will thank them and refuse their offer.

        P.S. I think it’s incredible that you reply so fast to every comment on your blog and wordpress forums. You’re a good example for every blogger. :)

        1. I suggest you politely decline the offer without saying why that is. I try to keep up with answering comments promptly. However, do be aware that I work long hours and I do have health issues that flare up from time to time so I can’t always answer immediately.

  2. Hi,
    In this case they are saying that having a sort of auto-posting inside our main blog is not good. And that’s ok, there’s no point to do it if we want to have high valuable blogs. But what about if others use our rss feed to aggregate their news. That will also be duplicate content and how google is going to recognize which is the original from the others? Would that affect our blog too? This point could be tricky to understand.

    1. Hi David,
      Yes, Google can detect what’s drawn into a site by RSS feed and yes the original feed source can be determined. When you listen closely to what matt Cutts said in his video you can see how value is determined on the curation side of things. “The most successful curators include sites like The Huffington Post, that embrace the three-legged-stool philosophy of creating some content, inviting visitors to contribute some content, and gathering links and articles from the web. Created, contributed, and collected — the three ‘c’s is a strong content mix that has a measurable impact. Why? Because your visitors don’t want to hunt around the web for related material. Once they find a quality, curated collection, they’ll stay for related offerings.” http://mashable.com/2012/04/27/tips-great-content-curation/

      1. Well, I’m not sure if I really understand what all that mean. I understand when we are creators but not really when we are curators. Or at least, it doesn’t happen to me to paste a part of another article and link the rest of it to an external blog. Is that what a curator is? Usually I write the article on my own and I link out only some reference, for example, if I talk about a product, I will link where to buy it, or to the company. I’m always in doubt if to riblog a short piece of article and link it outside. There are pros and cons and I’m not sure how to manage them at the best.

  3. Good to know bloggers with sticky fingers are paying an SEO price, anyway. Pretty acerbic first line there in your answer to the Tumblr question… : )

    P.S. Haley was always getting spell-checked for leaving a comet on blogs… : P

    1. I was previously a fully sighted perfectionist with barely detectable dyslexia, until a head injury humbled me. When I can focus well enough to see my typos and witness that my dyslexia has become pronounced I feel discomfort but the alternatives like crawling into thw woodwork don’t suit me. I’m living my imperfect life to the fullest, until I shoot off to the stars with my comet tail trailing behind me. :)

      1. I’m a worrier, and right now I’m worried my Haley’s comet/comment joke might have been misinterpreted. I was just trying to make light of typos in general. I would never make fun of you or anybody else for making a typo. We all make tehm… : )

        Crawling into the woodwork is never a viable option. For anyone. But especially not for a Force For Good like yourself. So make all the typos you want. They add up to nada.

        P.S. You oughta copyright that last line and license it as a mantra: “I’m living my imperfect life to the fullest, until I shoot off to the stars with my comet tail trailing behind me.” I love it!! : )

        1. Hi Mark,
          Don’t be worried. I knew you were only joking and didn’t take your comment personally. You could say that was the cheerleader within me speaking up and encouraging me to blog on. Thanks for being so supportive. :)

  4. Regarding press releases specifically, this problem can be solved with press “feeds”. By resyndicating the content only as a feed (which can be plopped down on the front page via widget) you’re not duplicating the post functionality and technically not duplicating content, since it’s still linking to the originals. A short summary and link — maybe an image — are all that’s required.

    The added bonus is that anyone can subscribe to “best of” or “headline” type feeds as soon as it arrives without being cluttered by fluff.

    WordPress already accomodates this with category specific feeds. If you have a “Headline” category already, people can sub to the feed or you can put a feed widget on the sidebar.

    example.wordpress.com/category/your-category-name/feed

    Or to see a live example (like on this site) :
    onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/category/better-blogging/feed.

    No need for a duplicate content “section” when “category” will do.

    One thing to keep in mind is that this will only look good, if you have set :
    Dashboard > Settings > Reading > For each article in a feed, show “Summary”

    Otherwise, everyone will see the full content of the post which may work for feed readers, but won’t work so well on the space-constrained feed widget. The feed summary should show the abstract (Excerpt), if you’ve specified that separately on the post, which a lot of news sites already do as a small blurb and maybe also a small image thumbnail. If not, it will clip a part of the main content for the summary.

  5. Hi, do u think this works the same for tumblr. Which is why tumblr blogs hve poor search results as compared to WordPress blogs :) on google.

    Reblogging is much more common on tumblr than on wordpress. I think.

    Thanks

    1. You will have to ask Tumblr staff why the SEO on their blogs sucks. Yes, I do think the fact that Tumblr bloggers do reblog, and that it’s hard to find any blogs there that have original content is a contributing factor.

  6. Hmm.. I am fond of posting published “bios” to add relevant info to the article but I didn’t know that there is a downside to this. So I better watch out what i blog about in the future. Thanks for this wonderful post.

Comments are closed.