Notify Me Coment Box: Default Change RollBack

email symbolWithout prior warning Staff changed the default setting on WordPress.com comment notifications. Many WordPress.com bloggers found their email overflowing with comment notifications re: posts they had previously commented on and weren’t impressed by the change. Staff responded to user feedback and the default has now been rolled back.

May 6, 2012, 11:27 AM The reported behavior of email notification for comments is not a bug. It is a new default setting when commenting.

This feature was a recent change to the way comments work on all WordPress.com blogs.

Once you click in the Leave a Reply comment box, you will see the “Notify me of follow-up comments via email” check box appear. Simply un-check this box before you submit your comment and you will not receive email notifications.

If you ever forget to un-check the box you can always unsubscribe here:
https://subscribe.wordpress.com/

May 6, 2012, 12:57 PM The previously posted link above is where both blog and comment subscriptions are managed.

At the top of the page you will see:
Sites | Comments | Settings

You can manage your comment subscriptions under Comments.

May 15, 2012, 5:21 PM  It’s now much easier for you and your commenters to keep track of the conversations you’re involved in across WordPress.com. Some recent tests have shown that by subscribing commenters to new comments by default, they are more likely to stay engaged and come back and comment more on your blog. With that knowledge, we’ve changed the default comment following behavior to help you get more conversations going on your blog.

We made the initial changes last week and after great feedback from you we just launched an update. Here’s how it works:
http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/follow-comments/ You can set your own default at http://wordpress.com/#!/read/subsettings/

May 17, 2012, 9:57 PM Update (May 17): Since this feature went live we’ve had a bunch of feedback and it looks like following comments by default is not a good fit for a lot of bloggers (and their readers) after all. We looked at a few different options, but for now we’ve just changed things back to how they were before. To follow a conversation, make sure you check the box when you post a comment. http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/follow-comments/

32 thoughts on “Notify Me Coment Box: Default Change RollBack

  1. I’m so glad they reverted back to the original option! The worst moment was when I commented on the WordPress.com blog. Talk about an avalanche of email!

  2. Ah! Reading this post was good for the soul.

    I can’t remember ever commenting on an official WP announcement, but I was moved to comment on their May 17th rollback blurb (which you cited)– I sent a one-liner about it being one of the dumbest, most poorly thought-out ideas ever.

    I liked your comment a lot better– a true scorcher!! And the mental image of you cursing and swearing away as you deleted comment emails– must admit, I enjoyed that, too! (but not the corresponding pain and rage you felt, of course)

    Great recap, many thanks. : )

    1. They moderate comments there and mine is in “moderation” forevermore. That post brought out people who had enough guts to politely tell Staff they did NOT appreciate the change. What blows my mind is seeing the bloggers who post butt-kissing schlocky comments in response to official announcements. If I were not focused on being nice person, I could feature some of the worst examples in a future post. Hmmmm …

  3. Hi Val,
    I’m sorry you are tsill having internet connections problems. You sound like you are as tired as I am of the succession of changes and also as happy as I am that this one was rolled back. I guess I opt to make a folder like you and David have. Sigh … I was having fun working in the backend of my personal blog now that I’ve made a theme change on it. So many things to do and so little time to do them in. Best wishes with the new blog.

  4. I’m so glad they’ve changed this back. I’ve been working on a new blog and it’s been doing my head in trying to work out how to explain to my prospective readers how to cope with it. But I know them (and so do you) – this’ll be temporary, they’ll get another bright idea and back it’ll come – checkboxes opt out, something chosen for us, not much say at all. Maybe I’m just getting too pessimistic in my old age!

    I subscribe to a few comments here and there, but very rarely from wordpress.com blogs, mostly from others.

    I do something similar to your commenter David Bennett and have a folder on my computer into which I drag and drop the URLs of all posts I comment on, then every once in a while I revisit them to see if there are any replies. However, one of the things I wasn’t sure of at first that I like now are the notifications of wordpress.com comments in the header. Though if I were to get hundreds, I am sure I’d hate that!

    Now let’s see if my internet connection will let me post this! (If it duplicates, please delete the other one).

  5. It was quite a shock to open up my e-mail and discover almost 200 hundred messages. I am glad they are rolling this back.

    I subscribe to the WordPress blog that announces themes and roll-outs; I wonder why they didn’t give us some warning.

    1. Many of the changes to existing features and functions as well as the new ones being tried are not reported in the official WordPress.com blog. As WordPress.com is on continuous rollout and we are not informed of the many code changes that take place every day.

      Lately, some major changes were made without prior announcement. They gave rise to negative responses in forum threads. However, there are 31 million of us and there is only a small number of people who do post to the support forum and respond to these changes. I assume the others simply suffer in silence or that these changes did not have any negative effects on their blogging or community building.
      http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2012/04/27/wordpress-phenomenal-growth-2/

        1. I rarely visit the WordPress.com home page. I’m too busy answering forum questions, working in our business, and doing my contracted work and blogging on the side to hang out anywhere anywhere online. But as I do spend so much time answering support forum questions, I’m aware of the unresloved issues with regard to moving what used to be in our individual dashboards to the main page of WordPress.com.

          1. My reference was poorly worded, when I went to see why I had 200 e-mails on the Support page there was nothing, nor in the WordPress blog I follow – that was all I meant.

  6. I was actually a bit surprised to see they had rolled this feature back to its previous setting. Happy, but surprised.

  7. Thinking outside of WP.com, not every blogging system has a check box to be notified about follow-up comments, so I have a folder in my browser (that I have named ‘comments’) where I store the URL of the page where I commented – so I can periodically check to see what comments (and replies) there are.

    1. Wow! That’s brilliant and I’m wondering why I never thought of doing that. To be honest I don’t have the time to enter lenghty discussions in comment boxes on blogs. I read many blogs and comment on few. Commenting is not my strong suit as I need to to think before I have anything to type. I rarely ever clicked the notify me of follow-up comments box as I have a life to live and I’m not living my life online. By choice I’m not available 24/7 online and I never will be.

      When the comment notification default was changed I was innundated with a flood of unwanted email and though I rarely ever swear I used every obscenity I could think of as I deleted them.

      I’m so sick of the WordPress “nannying“. We are WordPress.com customers and it’s long past time for Staff to start consulting with us before major changes are made. This “surprise! we changed stuff again and don’t you just love it?” approach SUCKS.

    1. My comment is still in moderation and may not be approved. Here it is:

      May 18th, 2012 at 7:11 pm

      Your comment is awaiting moderation.

      Thanks for letting us know about the global setting that we can change. Those of us who have active, vibrant offline lives were not well served by the change in the default setting which resulted in an avalanche of emails. I do not now nor do I ever want a flood of email streaming in from other commenters. Since the default opt-in on subscribing to comments was brought in, I disabled the subscribe to comments options on my own blog and know some of my readers did too.

      In addition this surprise! change was the last straw for several long time WordPress.com bloggers I know very well, who are sick and tired of not being consulted when major changes are made without prior warning, let alone, community consultation. Those blogger have already set up WordPress.org installs and moved their content into it, or are in the process of setting up WordPress.org installs.

      I don’t appreciate being “nannied” by Staff who arrogantly presuppose they know what I a paying customer will or will not want or like. I’m a paying customer and I expect to be consulted prior to major changes being made.

  8. I love the euphemistic “great feedback” in that email. The complaints must have scorched the WP servers. :-)

    1. I think you are right. There are many angry bloggers that I’m in touch with and a considerable number who are or who will be moving to self hosting. These last few months punctuated by a succession of unannounced and unwelcome changes have been like a roller coaster ride through hell.

  9. I think it is a good thing that they reverted back to what it was before. I think in all (if not most) scenarios in life I would like to make a conscious decision and chose something if I want to. I don’t feel good if some options are set by default somewhere, and it is not always easy to spot — either by design or by accident. I am sure most people have been annoyed when they found out that some annoying “toolbar” got installed by default (because some check-box was NOT unchecked) during installation a software.

    By the way, timethief, the new background of your blog is pretty interesting….I am trying hard to figure out what it really is?

Comments are closed.