A Freelance Writing Business

dream ladderA freelance writer is a writer who works for an individual or company under contract.  You can become either a full-time freelance writer making a living from your writing or a part-time freelancer supplementing other income. There are a wide variety of freelance writing jobs available such as business writing, copywriting, magazine writing, newsletter and brochure writing, press release writing, technical writing, travel writing, writing marketing copy, and writing for the Web.

Do you dream of a becoming a freelance writer? Would you like to earn your living by writing full-time, working from anywhere and at a time that suits you? Those are the three main benefits of freelance writing and why people often ask me how they can become a freelance writer too.

Annabel Candy of Get In the Hot Spot and Successful Blogging shares her tips one becoming a freelance writer including the drawbacks, Freelance Writing Training, Skills and Qualifications and Resources to Help You Become a Freelance Writer in How to Become a Freelance Writer.

Excellent Writing Skills

Successful professional freelance writers are highly skilled, audience focused, informative, powerful and  persuasive writers.  Powerful writing resonates with competence, vision, and service. Powerful writing  persuades readers to read and respond.  The more you write, the more powerful and persuasive your writing will become. — Better Blogging: Powerful, Persuasive Writing

A Freelance Writing Business Plan

A well crafted business plan is necessary to get your freelance writing business up and running successfully. A business plan consists of a narrative and several financial worksheets. The value of a business plan lies in the process of researching and considering how to establish and develop  your freelance business in a systematic way.  Successful professional freelance writers are small business people, who insist on written contracts setting forth the details, terms, payment rate and due date for payment, the format for submission and the deadline. Resources: SCORE Business Plans & Financial Statements Template Gallery and One Page Business Plan Template.

A Freelance Writing Marketing Strategy

Developing a marketing strategy and projecting income is an important thing for a freelance writer to do. Successful professional freelance writers create a marketing strategy to generate business and attract customers by researching what works best for their business. For example, if you want to become a scientific writer, research the field to find out what other business writers charge, how lucrative the scientific writing business is, and to project your potential income. There are a number of websites where freelance writers can look for work and promote themselves. Most offer various levels of membership and some are free. The largest is Guru.com.

Freelance Writers Blog or Website

Freelance writing for the Web requires purchasing your own domain and  creating a blog or website to showcase of your writing portfolio, social networking profile, practice your skills, advertise your availability and to provide contact information. Resources: Create a WordPress.com Website and Setting up a self-hosted WordPress.org install

  1. Bloggers are passionate writers
  2. Bloggers are powerful communicators
  3. Bloggers are audience targeted
  4. Bloggers are organized and productive
  5. Bloggers are social networkers

Using social media to expand your freelance writing network takes hard work and time but will yield opportunities you won’t find elsewhere. Paul Douglas provides eight simple steps to master social networking to increase your online sales of products and services in this video:

Internet Marketing : 8 Steps to Succeed in Social Networking

Envision Writing: Compelling Communications

I’m delighted to announce my friend’s new writing site: Envision Writing.  Sandra is a seasoned professional freelance writer who specializes in creating compelling content for individuals (professionals, solopreneurs, creatives) non-profits, and small businesses. If you intend to become a freelance writer I think Sandra’s professional freelance writing services site is an example of what to aim for.

Futher reading and photo credit: Are You Ready For Your Dream Job?

Discussion

I agree with Bob Brooke, who advises: “To be a successful freelance writer, you need to be equal parts creative, inspired wordsmith and detail-driven businessperson.”  Are you such a person?

Related posts:
12 Plus Ways for Freelancers to Focus and Stay on Task | FreelanceFolder
How a Dream Blogging Job Found Me
Promoting Your Writing or Poetry Blog
What’s Your Paid Blogging Dream Job?

11 thoughts on “A Freelance Writing Business

  1. What a terrific overview of freelance writing! I’m glad you focused on both the business plan and marketing strategy. You are so right that becoming an successful freelance writer – at whatever level you define for yourself – requires more than setting up a website and imaging that people will just magically arrive there. Thank you for highlighting the essential elements and mentioning my writing business too. I’m very appreciative.

  2. As a freelance illustrator, it’s easy for me to identify with freelance writers, and I’m always cheering them on. Nowadays, it seems like there’s been a decline in basic writing skills: good grammar, sentence construction. Perversely, that’s good news for freelancer writers, and makes their skills more valuable (I hope).

    Can’t say I cared for the animation design in that video. Seeing those letters come slowly spiraling in made my eyes hurt. Down with gimmickry, up with simplicity!! : )

    1. Hi Mark,
      Freelance writing is all about value and without excellent grammar and writing skills, so it’s important for writers to recognize that their most valuable tool is not their computer — it’s their skills.

      P.S. You are right about the video. :)

  3. I received a message “more conversation” without a direct link therefore I’m asking here. I’m not a very good writer. I want to write but at the same time don’t want to be a whiner. Currently, I can’t seem to get people to comment on anything. I do get visitors for the free patterns and to see what I’m making next. No one will comment. Perhaps I should operate it like a website without the option to comment. I’m also getting a lot of spam attacking one or two posts. Need help.

    1. Hello,
      I apologize for you receiving that. It was a draft post I’m working on and I accidentally clicked “publish”. Yikes!

      When it comes to spam simply mark it as what it is and move on.
      When it comes to comments it’s not easy to get them. The best way is to leave meaningful comments on related blogs. Don’t look only here at wordpress.com.
      knitting site:blogspot.com
      Google search results http://tinyurl.com/8y9duhc

      knitting site:wordpress.com
      http://tinyurl.com/7jfmmpc

      knitting site:livejournal.com
      http://tinyurl.com/72bj694

      knitting site:typepad.com
      http://tinyurl.com/6pq4sv2

  4. I am torn about being a freelance writer, as an aspiring author, building a platform is so important to getting published, I do not know the ins and outs of freelancing, but I will figure it out, so I can make a decision based on fact, I know I would love to write for a living, I also know I want to build my own platform, which I am doing, I also know I would love to make a living authoring my own books.
    Great post timethief, thanks for the info :)

    1. I’m wishing you well with your writing, Jim. Annabel’s post is a comprehensive one and I hope you click through to read it. Many dream of being successful writers but without a realistic business plan in place few will achieve their goal.

Comments are closed.