Official Google Webmaster Central Blog: Raising awareness of cross-domain URL selections

Now Google will alert you if  they canonicalize your URLs to a different domain.

To be transparent about cross-domain URL selection decisions, we’re launching new Webmaster Tools messages that will attempt to notify webmasters when our algorithms select an external URL instead of one from their website. The details about how these messages work are in our Help Center article about the topic  via  Official Google Webmaster Central Blog: Raising awareness of cross-domain URL selections.

Related posts found in this blog:
Can Google detect which content is original?
Duplicate Content in the SERPs Sucks!

8 thoughts on “Official Google Webmaster Central Blog: Raising awareness of cross-domain URL selections

  1. Hey timethief, I followed you here from your lifesaving trip to my site. You could easily turn your blog into hardcopy. I visited a few of your posts, will be back to visit more. Thanks again, Joe

    1. Hi Joe,
      I do hope you continue to find useful information here. There are over 600 posts now and I hope I have organized them well enough so they are easy for readers to locate by topic. Thanks so much for your kind words.

  2. Thanks for the heads up about unauthorized copying and that we can request that Google remove the infringing page from our search results by filing a request under the Digital Millennium Copyright Act.

  3. I don’t know exactly what to do now, coz when I almost simultaneously publish my article of 2 more webs other than my blog. Will it hurt me in any way? Though I give a a referal link for the original post in secondary webs.

    1. Yes, it can hurt the positioning of the blog you originally published the article on if you duplicate the content by publishing it on more than one site. Duplication is not a good practice. Myself and millions of others using search engines for our work are sick and tired of finding duplicate entries on multiple blogs in search engine page results. What’s really annoying is when we see advertising on the blogs. It tells us that the person is not blogging because it’s their passion, and is duplicating content on multiple sites to make money from advertising. Google has acted and will continue to act to deal with those who keep doing this.

  4. Frankly, I think you are talking way over my head her, but on off-subject question as you seem so knowledgeable, please. Would owning my domain protect my contect from being lost if my host shuts down?

Comments are closed.