Between My Ears: Why Facebook’s ‘Frictionless Sharing’ violates HTTP

“Why Facebook’s ‘Frictionless Sharing’ violates HTTP

Facebook has this new feature, whereby the act of simply reading a web page, under certain conditions, gets it posted to your news feed, for your friends to see. Here’s how ReadWriteWeb puts it:

With these apps you’re automatically sending anything you read into your Facebook news feed. No “read” button. No clicking a “like” or “recommend” button. As soon as you click through to an article you are deemed to have “read” it and all of your Facebook friends and subscribers will hear about it. That could potentially cause you embarrassment and it will certainly add greatly to the noise of your Facebook experience.  Facebook calls this ‘frictionless sharing’.”

via Between My Ears: Why Facebook’s ‘Frictionless Sharing’ violates HTTP.

There are 3 key themes  which are highlighted by Mark Zuckerberg – Timeline, Social Apps and the new ‘Verbs’ they enable in his Mark Zuckerberg F8 Keynote Introduction video


23 thoughts on “Between My Ears: Why Facebook’s ‘Frictionless Sharing’ violates HTTP

  1. Well, I guess such social networking sites need to make profit that’s why all these are going on. And yeah, I agrees with you that no matter how “privacy” it is, there is still a risk of information leakage. Although Fb users had the privacy setting done, when we play games or use any apps on fb we often have to allow such apps to gain access to our information before proceeding. And often, some would not have realised that the danger he/she had exposed himself/herself to. People had been putting up too much personal info on fb and this is quite a worrying factor as there is no guaranteed that the information is being safeguard.

  2. One thing is obvious the potential for fraud, abuse, and malfeasance is pretty huge and the latest rollout of Timeline is no doubt going to increase risks for the average Facebook user.

    Recent “Flash from the past”
    US computer security firm Symantec on Tuesday said that Facebook accidentally left a door open for advertisers to access profiles, pictures, chat and other private data at the social network. For the last four years, Facebook has inadvertently been giving advertisers and other third parties access to user accounts and personal information. May 11, 2011

    Facebook has put in a lot of effort to getting users to enter their mobile numbers. But now the social network is giving developers access to numbers in addition to home addresses with a single click. Is this just trouble waiting to happen? January 16th, 2011

    There is more of course, but one really has to think hard about this stuff and then wonder if a rapid hyper growth company is capable of managing end users privacy and security in any kind of efficient and credible manner.

    An aquaintance of mine said also . . .Facebook would be transparent if it included a Miranda Rights after login: “You have the right to remain silent. Anything you say or do on Facebook can and will be used against you at some unspecified point in the future.”

    1. It seems that people are confused. Clearly Facebook is a datamining operation that siphons personal information to 3rd party apps providers, advertisers and internet marketers. Assuming one has and can maintain privacy there is silly. One does not need a Facebook account to be in contact with their family and true friends.

      Like you I have read Symantec’s report and I have been reading other sources as well. But I don’t frequently publish about what I read as many of my subscribers are not Facebook members. Some are former Facebook members and I’m choosing not to stir the pot, if you know what I mean. Re: security breaches http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2011/05/10/google-ad-probe-facebook-security-breach/

      The gullibility factor is high and once a person gets even a trickle of traffic from Facebook the likelihood they will leave is low. Moreover, if one does determine to leave then all their data stays behind. Even if they strip their account first it’s all in the Facebook database and is never removed. If they do log-in just once within the 2 weeks following deactivation of their account it will be automatically reactivated.

  3. I do have a very small FB presence, and I have just spent half an hour trying to fathom the mysteries of their latest batch of changes and tightening up who has access to what. I have minimal personal info on my profile and fairly locked down preferences. Having said that I look at it once a week maybe, though I have noticed that FB are now sending out emails telling you ‘what you are missing’ in order to get you over to their site. I can’t quite bring myself to leave but it’s just not very interesting to me. There are only so many social networking platforms one can use at any one time, and I prefer Twitter by far, though why I couldn’t really say.

    I love the new look by the way, really suits the onecoolsite :)

    1. Hi Joanna,
      I’m happily without a Facebook presence at this point in time and now I have heard from you and others that they are receving “what you are missing” emails from FB, I laughing even harder than I was before. I find that Twitter meets my needs. I also follow blogs using the RSS feeds. Evertually I hop to blend the two as the last think I want or need is more email.

      P.S. Thanks for the theme change compleiment. How are your viewing this blog and my private blog? As I don’t have either a laptop or a mobile I’m eager to know what the experience of those using them is like.

    1. The impact on privacy is unquestionable but IMHO Zuckerberg will shrug it off. After all it’s FB members who choose who to designate as a “friend”, right?

      Thanks for your comment on the theme change. This one is more mobile friendly and has highly readable fonts. From an accessibility POV I think it’s a better choice for my readers.

    1. Every time Facebook makes substantial changes that impact privacy there’s an outcry and after the wailing dies down, a small exodus takes place, as an influx of new members floods in. What boggles my mind is that anyone thinks they need to be a Facebook member to remain in communication with their “friends”.

  4. Not on FB. Too much else going on.

    By the way, I’m trying to get used to your latest theme design. Very different. Not sure if I can relate to this new ‘you’.

    1. Hi Jean,
      I will be sticking with this theme as it does resize when viewed on mobiles. The header and the background will be frequently changed. This color combination I have now is very corporate, business-like and calm in tone. The next one may be black and white and red all over. ;)

  5. You would think they would ‘get a clue’…when sooo many are complaining about these changes. Free or not free…stupid is stupid…and that place has gotten stupid.

    They turned what was once very simple and satisfying into public chaos.

    1. IMHO Zuckerberg doesn’t need to get a clue – he’s totally clued into the power of what has created. He’s an extremely smart dude – make no mistake about that. I’m sorry if this sounds harsh but IMO the Facebook members are the ones that need to clue into the facts, and leave if they value their privacy. After all does anyone actually have hundreds and even thousands of friends in face-to-face life whom they are in continual contact with? The answer is “no”. In face-to-face life we have a few close family members and a few close friends who we are in continual contact with, and we don’t need to be Facebook members to connect with them, do we?

  6. Don’t the people at Facebook sit around a table and talk about the implications of such a “feature” before announcing it to a horrified public? It’s insane! Now even sites visited for a few micro-seconds by mistake will be sent to my FB page? Stupid, stupid, stupid!

    Now for some practicalities: Is it already live? Is it a default setting Do I have to go in and change my settings asap?

  7. I’m afraid that I hate Facebook and I make no apologies for that. I was a member of the site a couple of times and each time I left when they made privacy less possible. The last time I left, I left for good. What they’re doing now doesn’t surprise me in the least.

    1. I don’t think of myself as a Facebook “hater”. I think of myself as being savvy and self protective. Businesses used to pay a small fortune to get the data they are getting from Facebook users free of charge. They couldn’t get it if people were savvy to what’s actually happening and didn’t join Facebook. However, many people are both gullible and bored so they are helping the Facebook marketplace grow and achieve world domination as that’s Zuckerberg’s goal. I don’t wish to enter a data mining operation and then protest that my data being mined, as that would make me look stupid. If you aren’t marketing a product, or purchasing one, then odds are that you are the product being marketed.

  8. Frictionless? I can think of plenty of things I click to via Facebook that I wouldn’t want posted for my friends to see.

    1. I’m not Facebook member. Consequently I don’t click any links on that site. I’m also fully aware that every time a member does click an ad, or use an app to play a game, etc. that information is siphoned off by the apps providers.

  9. Is this right? Under what conditions does it do this?

    I find this hard to believe – not because I think it would go against FB ethics, but because I think what would result is a lot of resentful people. Recommendations are so important to the web that the idea of taking over someone’s right to decide whether to recommend or not would be to take away the main power that mass followers have.

    1. I don’t find it hard to believe at all. Privacy and Facebook in the same sentence make me laugh out loud. Zuckerberg is fixated on accommodating third party app providers, advertisers and internet marketers, whilst buidling the largest social network in the world.

      I surmise that the defense is that Facebook users choose who their friends are. Of course in face-to-face life we have concentric circles of friends with some family members and some friends who are as close as family member in the circle closest to us. From their our next circles of friends move outward to include business associates and acquaintances. But in Facebook there is only the designation “friend” and each member is control of who they designate as a friend.

Comments are closed.