“Me on the Web” for reputation management

eyeGoogle has launched Me on the Web.  It’s  a reputation management tool allowing anyone with a Google account to monitor personal information about them appears online, and  makes it easier to remove personal information from the search engine.

Your online identity is determined not only by what you post, but also by what others post about you — whether a mention in a blog post, a photo tag or a reply to a public status update. When someone searches for your name on a search engine like Google, the results that appear are a combination of information you’ve posted and information published by others. This tool, Me on the Web, appears as a section of the Google Dashboard right beneath the Account details.  — Me, Myself and I: Helping to Manage your identity on the web

Part of Google’s Me on the Web feature is a set of directions on simple reputation-management procedures. Users are encouraged to do searches for their own name to see what comes up, create a Google profile, set up Google Alerts, and work to remove defamatory or inappropriate content from the web. via Google’s New “Me on the Web” Feature | Search Engine Journal.

See > Keeping personal information out of Google

The Cloud Computing in Plain English Video
Using a simple story of a growing florist business, this video explains the basics of cloud computing: how it works and why it makes sense for businesses
and individuals.

  • The difference between on-site computing and cloud computing
  • The financial benefits of cloud computing
  • What makes cloud computing secure and efficient
  • How cloud computing impacts consumers

View the video introduction 3 minutes..

For managing your  online reputation, consider these tools:

  1.  Google Alerts  keep you aware of what’s being said about you, where and by whom.
  2. BoardTracker – a free service helps you locate and track comments made on issues posted to forums and discussion boards.
  3. CoComment –  a free service for managing, powering and tracking conversations online. There is a Firefox extension for cocomment too, and you can get a free cocomment: your conversations widget from widgetbox for your blogspot or self hosted wordpress blog as well.
  4. Commentful – This is yet another free service that tracks comments/follow-ups on blog posts, Digg submissions, Flickr galleries, and many other types of content. When ever there is an update,  a new follow-up, you will be notified instantly. To use it, either login to blogflux or register.
  5. Twitter Search – allows you to search terms and subscribe to the RSS feed for the search results. There are also additional free services such as Twilert, and Tweet Beep that will deliver search results and updates by e-mail that help you track comments and online conversations.
  6. Yahoo Pipes 
  7. Social Media Fire Hose Technorati 

Related posts found in this blog:
Cloud Computing:Changing the way business is done
Handle Online Attacks Effectively
How to remove data from Google’s cache
How to Become a Better Blogger 2: Online Privacy
How to Become a Better Blogger 5: Your Online Presence
Blogging: Online presence and authenticity

8 thoughts on ““Me on the Web” for reputation management

  1. Useful? You are the Guru of all things! One thing I’ve discovered, when you follow someone on your Google Reader, you don’t know that, do you? Or when I comment on one of your posts? I tried following on BC, but something’s wrong with my Reader, so I refreshed all my feeds with RSS (Google dropped the tracking feature.) I’m just finding this out recently. I have known, that if you aren’t paying attention to your reader, you’ll miss people that are following not your blog, but your reader. I have a number of people–anon from Iran, Pakistan, etc. And when I say “you” I obviously mean the general ‘you.’ thought I’d mention it, b/c I came to read the post again. Thank you so much!

    1. I confess that I have bombed lately when it comes to following people on my readers. I have blogs I follow on a rotation. I may visit just after they publish or I may not,. During this season we must make enough income to survive and thrive, so that’s primarily where my energy and time are focused. My contracted work has also picked up, and I’m slugging my way through a very large project at present. Thanks so much for the visit.
      Love,
      TiTI

  2. Wow. Great advice! Thanks for the links. I will definitely look into the comment tracking tools.

  3. Great post! I know I’ll get a lot of it. Funny story. I used Google Alerts on a bill that was both in the House And the Senate. So my alerts looked for HR756, and it worked–but HR also stands for home run! Had to fix that up. I still have one for tracking chronic pain legislation. But you have so much more information, so I will be looking at my reader. Thanks so much; you are so helpful. Sweet tides

    1. Thanks Jean. It seems to me that we all need to become vigilant given the troll comments I have seen some publish, which is not to mention the libelous statments I have also witnessed. This is not, of course, by any means an implication that you would ever affect such behaviors. My concern is that I have seen decent bloggers attacked by sickos who need to become aware that the law applies online just as it does offline.

Comments are closed.