Help! I can’t see my images

don't panic buttonMy images are not visible on my [wordpress] blog. They are visible on my friend’s computer but not on mine. How do I make them appear please?

Whenever we experience these kind of problems the first thing we suspect is a browser issue so we troubleshoot beginning with checking for browser issues.

Where are the images hosted?

  1. There are various ways of linking to images and you will find the three permitted ways described in Images: The Three Link Options.
  2. Did you upload the images from your own computer? If so then be sure the images are accepted file types ie. check the image file type extensions.
  3. Did you link to images in your Media Library?
  4.  Did you remove the images from your Media Library?
  5. Did you link to images in your account on an image hosting site? If you do not have unlimited bandwidth and have exceeded it and/or have not paid for additional bandwidth, then the image host can prevent the display of the images.
  6. Are you “hot-linking” to someone else’s images?

Bandwidth theft or “hotlinking” is direct linking to a web site’s files (images, video, etc.). An example would be using an image tag to display a JPEG image you found on someone else’s web page so it will appear on your own site. Displaying an image or file that doesn’t belong to you could be a violation of copyright, making you open to litigation. Some sites have prevention measures in place so if you attempt to hotlink you can’t. Others have messages that replace the images with a message to the effect of stop stealing our bandwidth as they are paying for it and you aren’t by hotlinking you can cause them to exceed bandwidth limits and have to pay extra. — How do I know I am hotlinking?

There’s another reason not to hotlink images. As the inages are on the other party’s server they can change the image you are “hotlinking” to which results in you having an image you didn’t intend to display on your blog.

If you have tried the troubleshooting strategies above and you still cannot view the images on your blog  then WordPress.com have provided additional troublehooting tips you can try. if those do not work for you then f none of those work for you contact Staff and provide them with all details about what you did and what happened.

12 thoughts on “Help! I can’t see my images

  1. Thank-you for this discussion…as a new blogger, I am confused by the different terms and wording–such as linking to other sites vs hot-linking. I am always concerned about correct citation and honoring copyright, but still am not sure I’m doing it correctly.

    For example: If you use a Wikipedia image (Creative Commons designated) when posting. You click– Upload/Insert. Then in the box “Add an Image”, choose ” From URL”. Is this the correct way to do this? (The caption under the photo says “Image via Wikipedia”. Clicking on the photo takes you to the original Wikipedia page.)
    Thanks for the help in understanding this better! joni

    1. Many, in fact, most providers of free images request that you post an image credit attribution link back to their site ie. a photo credit. That text link is not linked to the image itself on their site. When you link directly to an image on another site without their permission to do so you are stealing their bandwidth. Most the terms of service state the protocol is to capture the image and upload it from your computer into your blog and post an image credit attribution link back to their site. Many bloggers also store the images on free image hosting sites. The terms of service usually siate they can hotlink back to the image on the image hosting site. That’s why it’s important to read the Terms of Use and comply with them.

  2. This is a bit off topic but I had a great exchange in the Apple store with a trainer (!) yesterday. he cheerfully told me that it was ok to copy any image that I could see using google images and use them on my blog. I felt my inner time thief rise up. I said, I don’t think so. I demonstrated that we could see photos from my blog that way and that google says, the images may be subject to copyright. He was surprised. if the trainers are giving this advice to break the law it is no wonder that people get confused.

    I hope I’m not hot linking, I try to stick to using my own photos or ones I have been sent or am allowed to download or copy. I don’t really understand about embedding you tube videos though, is that the same as hot linking? Btw I have been reading your tweets and send you healing thoughts.

    1. Hi Joanna,
      That’s perfect example of being misinformed. Some folks think that Googles’ cache of indexed images is a place they can just go and take images from. I have had similar conversations with some bloggers and have even had one call me a liar when I pointed to the copyright notice. As everything is so accessible on the web and as the population has become dumbed-down I don’t know what the future may hold. What I do know is that the law applies in cyberspace just as it applies offline and some laws need updating because they were not made in contemplation of the development of the interent.

      Youtubes that are under copyright protection state that on them. Many of the videos contain restricted content under copyright to EMI or UMI. So you can embed them but there is a warning message on the screen and visitors have to click through to watch them on the youtube site.

      Thanks for your healing thoughts. My foot hurts. :(

    2. TimeThief: This is great information, especially for newbies. It’s never fun when you know an image should be there, but it doesn’t display. It’s best to always get permission before hotlinking to a site. With free image hosting available, you can use that option instead. But then, there’s the issue of copyright as well, like Joanna @ Zeb Bakes said.

      How sad, TimeThief, that you had to explain yourself to the blogger who was misinformed about using your photos. It definitely shows how misinformed a lot of people are. Thanks for educating us on the right way to do things.

      1. Hi Allyson,
        For beginners blogging is a major a learning curve and many things that arise are simply addressed. I answer support forum questions so it helps me have a handle on what useful information I can share here. For example, I have a Resources page that has 70 sources of free images listed. There are others and I will be updating that list when I’m up to it. The same page also has a list of free image hosting services. Sigh … so little time and so much to do.

        Thanks so much for your comment. :)

  3. I didn’t even think to do hot linking on images. But, like you say it’s not good practice for the reasons you stated.

    I really prefer any browser to IE lately – you could have a page looking great in Firefox, Chrome, Safari, and then view it in IE and the left margin is all screwy. But that is a different topic. Cool!

    1. Hotlinking can result in some heated exchanges. It can also lead to the person on the other end posting a very ugly notice in the place of the image. At it’s worst one could be faced with ugly copyright issues. I want to be sure those readers who are new to blogging know the three correct options and don’t hotlink.

      P.S. IE is is a funky browser — let’s leave it at that. ;)

      1. I realized I had been hotlinking after I got one of those ugly notices. I wouldn’t even have seen it if I hadn’t just recommended that particular article to a friend and was double-checking my link. :P So, that was my slap on the wrist. ;) No more hotlinking.

        1. Oh oh! I’m glad you received this heads up and it was only a slap on the wrist. Some folks become so peeved off that they replace the hotlinked images with others that are not nice at all. I know a blogger who was unwittingly hotlinking. She was shocked to find what the images she hotlinked to were replaced with. If a commenter hadn’t told her she would still have very ugly images in her posts on a “family” blog.

Comments are closed.