Twitter Purchasing Tweetdeck

tweetdeckThe Tweekdeck Company Description and Overview states TweetDeck aims to help users organize their Twitter feeds in an intuitive, easy-to-use interface. Tweetdeck allows users to group people together and search across Twitter. Columns automatically update with the goal of providing the user with a dashboard of real-time information.

That site states TweetDeck is your personal browser for staying in touch with what’s happening now, connecting you with your contacts across Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, LinkedIn and more.

On reading today’s report by the Wall Street Journal that Twitter is in talks to buy TweetDeck, I believe the only reason it is doing so is to protect its turf.   — Five Reasons Why Twitter Will Kill TweetDeck

TweetDeck competes directly with Twitter’s Web and mobile clients and the executives at UberMedia, who have been planning to acquire TweetDeck themselves must have been surprised to hear that Twitter may buy Tweetdeck out from under them. Many think Twitter’s motive for buying TweetDeck is a purely defensive move.

Ben Parr of Mashable notes that TweetDeck founder Iain Dodsworth, will hasn’t confirmed or denied any rumors regarding the sale so keep tuned for an update.

Further reading>  The Story of TweetDeck’s Rise from Obscurity to a Rumored Sale for ~$30 Million In Less than 1,000 Days


Discussion
I’m wondering how many of my readers use TweetDeck and what they think of it and the impending sale.

9 thoughts on “Twitter Purchasing Tweetdeck

  1. Hi TiTi,
    I’ve used tweetdeck in the past, but somehow found the interface too much. I prefer simplicity hence stick with Echofon for Firefox or the traditional twitter.com itself.
    There are times I get enticed into trying tweetdeck again..but the constant chatter is too much for me to handle sometimes. Maybe its my simplistic mindset hmmm… But I do get why tweetdeck would be lucrative business for twitter itself…it has become the preferred app of many in my network. Not mine..just as yet….who know what the future holds :)
    Lots of love,
    Z~

    1. Zeenat,
      Thanks for letting me know you use Echofon for Firefox and for commenting on TweetDeck too. I appreciate it.
      Love and peace,
      TiTi

  2. I like tweetdeck and its my tweet platform of choice. That being said, I havent logged in in a very time. Ill have to remedy that. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. Hi,

    I just started tweeting last week. I resisted it for a while because I thought – why? Now that I’m tweeting, I really like it. I’m huge fan of brevity and twitter is an excellent vehicle for it. So, I’m not familiar with tweetdeck and as such I would say the purchase does not really mean much to me. I’m always a day late and a dollar short but it’s alright with me.

Comments are closed.