Highspeed, Hawaii and Google

flowersHawaii has been on my mind and that’s no surprise as many of us dream of visiting one day. In my case Hawaii has been on my mind since my Co-Admin, Richard moved to the Islands. He has been missed on the WordPress.com forums, and I’ve been wondering about how he’s doing when it comes to access to broadband access. In the last few days I have been reading about the attempts to secure a spot for Hawaii in Google’s Fiber for Communities project.

The Hawaii Broadband Task Force is proposing the creation of a Hawaii Communications Commission that would serve both as a regulatory agency and as an advocate for consumers and industry development.

Hawaii ranked 47th in download speeds nationwide in 2009, according to Speed Matters, a Web site run by the Communications Workers of America that tests and compares Internet users’ connection speeds.

The state of Hawai’i  is making a bid to be part of Google Inc.’s  Fiber for Communities project that will provide ultra-fast internet service to areas it selects around the country. Hawaii submitted its application to Google on, the day before the company’s deadline for city governments and citizens to express interest. Winners will be announced by the end of the year. — Hawaii seeks partnership with Google in ultra-high speed broadband experiment

Through online petitions, a Facebook fan page and a YouTube video by the governor, Hawaii wants to persuade Google to choose the islands for one of its experimental fiber-optic networks, which could bring Internet speeds 100 times faster than those currently available to most Americans. … — Hawaii searching for Internet answers with Google

gigabit hawaii chart Gigabit Hawaii – Become a fan to show support for bringing Google’s Gigabit broadband initiative to Hawaii. This chart provided by Bruce Campbell of Hawaii Green IT shows growth in support from the Gigabit Hawaii Facebook and PetitionSpot pages (Facebook fans + PetitionSpot signatures) over the past four days.

See the video – Google’s experimental fiber network

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

11 thoughts on “Highspeed, Hawaii and Google

  1. Thanks TT for putting up this post.

    My partner and I are intending on moving to Hawai’i in the very near future and I hadn’t even considered that the internet there would be a factor. I suppose, we are considering going with satellite internet, but it’s good to know that they may be getting a boost from Google.

    With Love and Gratitude,

    The Intentional Sage

    1. I haven’t looked into this for a long time. But I do have some blogger friends like Richard and Sandra who both live in Hawaii so maybe they can update us.

  2. We are in the world of Mobility and Speed, everybody wants their news, gossip and whatever else the net has to offer them fast in a hurry. I have even had issues with trying to view blogs on my mobile (including our own) and it would tick me off waiting for it to load or i’de get a error message telling me it “timed out” now with laptop screens for the person on the go anything less than 16″ is great for me
    I wish they had them down to a 10″, but I am not a big fan of external HD’s.

  3. I have wondered about the internet service there for some time now, thanks for bringing this up. Hopefully things are looking up there and that number 47th spot will switchout one day for a lesser number. Would be great it all area’s worldwide had the same existing amount of high speed, same range all the time more so a “true” universal output and input….we’re getting there slowly, but surely.

    1. @webmistress
      What amazes me is how many Americans I meet online who assume that high speed service is available everywhere in the USA. The USA is ranked 28th in the world for download speed.

      My monitor is 17 inches and that’s the average size for most surfing the web. More and more are viewing blogs using laptops, notebooks and mobiles so what’s with this trend towards creating wide blog themes that I need to use a scrollbar to see the totality of? And what’s with the embeds and other useless tat that slows page loading time? Nothing is a worse put off than waiting for a blog to load and watching your bottom browser bar and noting much of it is not necessary and not useful to readers. http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2009/06/13/blogging-strategies-for-reducing-page-loading-time/

  4. mm. well you know how I feel about hawaii TT. You should go if you can. It did wonders for me! I wrote an article a bit back about Kaua’i (where I lived) if you fancy going out that way. Let me know, I could make some calls for you :)

    Interesting post. I didn’t know Hawai’i was looking into this.

    1. @Kymlee
      Thanks for your gracious offer but I won’t be traveling any time soon and it’s highly unlikely that I will every visit Hawaii. If that changes I certainly will contact you. :)

  5. Hey there!

    I was taken back by the terms, “gigabit broadband.” Did it mean, like, gbps… as opposed to mbps and kbps? I didn’t know that Internet speeds are that fast now!

    Cheers!

    1. @Rogue/Hero
      You may be as surprised as I was to find that the USA ranks 28th worldwide in download speeds, according to Speed Matters. If Google does choose the Hawaiian Islands for one of its experimental fiber-optic networks, that would mean Hawaiians would enjoy Internet speeds 100 times faster than those currently available to most Americans.

  6. Aloha, high speed internet access is very on again, off again on a daily basis here in Hawaii! Glad there is some movement in the faster direction. As always, thanks for the information and links.

    1. @Sandra Lee
      I didn’t realize the situation until I began reading these news reports. I assumed that Hawaii had been included in the trans-Pacific cables, and was surprised to read that all fiber-optic systems built since 2001 connecting Asia to the United States have bypassed Hawaii.

Comments are closed.