WordPress.com down and up again in 110 minutes

Among the very best things about WordPresss.com these last 4 years has been the up time. WordPress.com going down is a rare event and Staff acted as humanly possible quickly as possible to get 10.2 million blogs up and running again but 5.5 million pageviews were lost.

Akismet was not affected. The WordPress stats plugin used by self hosting wordpress.org bloggers was. The most comforting thing was that our data was safe even though WordPress.com couldn’t serve it.

Matt Mullenweg has just made an announcement:

What Happened: We are still gathering details, but it appears an unscheduled change to a core router by one of our datacenter providers messed up our network in a way we haven’t experienced before, and broke the site. It also broke all the mechanisms for failover between our locations in San Antonio and Chicago. All of your data was safe and secure, we just couldn’t serve it.” Read more in WP.com Downtime Summary

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

7 thoughts on “WordPress.com down and up again in 110 minutes

  1. If you are just using the word.press “domain” default can you still get a page ranking? I never saw anything about that I probably missed it. I saw the sites about getting on google and that sort of stuff.
    What about page ranking?

  2. oooh the core router change by the provider pit fall.
    That hurts.
    Well they got up quick and their providers screw up is certainly not their fault.
    I was on here quite a bit that day and I didn’t even notice any down time. Must have been while I was off.

  3. Ahh I thought as much (I follow both of your blogs and I love the contrast between the two, suits my brain to a T!).

    This blog is going great, so much useful information so I know it will pay its bickies soon! lol

    I bet next time wordpress falls over we wont even notice the rumble :)

  4. I think WordPress.com did amazingly well in the way they handled this outage. I actually didnt really notice it until I went to publish a post and when I couldnt I just assumed my internet connection was bad (like usual). There is the odd glitch now but nothing too drastic, I published a new post which appeared then disappeared. Stats showed it had been viewed but now there are no stats.

    Which to me is pretty damn good, all things considered. I think WordPress are the bees knees and the way they handled this outage just shows how dedicated they actually are to making this a great place to blog.

    Thanks WordPress!

    1. Hi Lola,
      It’s good to see you here. I’m always here these days while my personal blog starves as I feed this one. If all goes well (fingers crossed) it will take 4 – 6 months for this one to have a restored PageRank.

      Consequently, this one needs to be fed every second day … SIGH

      Lately it seems there just isn’t enough time in my day for work and blogging too.

      Anyway on the downtime issue, I’m pretty sure they will be developing a disaster plan for situations like this one where a core router broke down. In fact, I’m assuming they are hard at work crafting a disaster plan and backup servers for all foreseeable contingencies.

      Thanks for the visit. :)

    1. I’m glad is was short too. As I said above I’ve been around for nearly 4 years and any downtime at wordpress.com is a very rare occurrence. As for Google well, lets take that up another time. ;)

Comments are closed.