Friendfeed: An Introduction

View my FriendFeed

FriendFeed is a service that makes it easy to share with friends online.  Sign up for FriendFeed, invite some friends, and get an instant, customized feed made up of the content that your friends shared — from photos to interesting links and videos to messages just for you.

And your friends get their customized feeds, full of the cool stuff that you’ve shared.

You don’t need to install anything to use FriendFeed. You can read and share your FriendFeed however you want — from your email, your phone or even from Facebook. If you make your FriendFeed publicly visible, your friends can see what you’re sharing without creating an account, and you can embed your feed in your home page or blog. FriendFeed also lets you pull in updates from other sites around the web, and even publish your feed to services you already use, like Twitter.

A short while ago I joined friendfeed and I’m  currently learning how to use it. Once I have figured out exactly how I want to use it I will make adjustments so it suits what I want to accomplish. Today I discovered a video I’d like to share with you.

11 thoughts on “Friendfeed: An Introduction

  1. @ Hesham!

    Dear the way you tell us here is very useful i worked on it and found its very nice tip for the Friend feed and increasing the blog feed with the help of feed burner!
    Thanks for sharing your information with us!
    Have a good day!
    cheers!

  2. very interesting review of FriendFeed, I would like to share the trick that I have learned about FriendFeed, it will help to increase your blog feed subsribers that I would like to share with you and other readers of your blog.

    this trick will add your FriendFeed subscribers to to your FeedBurner stats button that reflect the number of your blog feed subscribers. you can do this by adding your FeedBurner account to your FriendFeed!

    1. @Hesham
      I believe that you and I may be operating on different wavelengths, so to speak. I’m not into quantity. I’m into quality and accuracy. I’m not into using tricks of any kind and I never fudge numbers. You will note that although I do offer subscriptions via feedburner on my blogs, I do not post a feedburner icon. This is because I am keenly aware that some bloggers have false figures reflected on their icons.

  3. You are right. I have been testing widgets to see which ones are more effective. I don’t like my blog to be cluttered because I find that some readers get confused with too many options. They are not sure what to click, so they end up leaving.

    I had both the search and recent post widgets in the past but I couldn’t tell if they were being used (especially search).

    You always have such good advice that I will make the changes shortly.

    Thanks for your help.

    I mentioned you and gave credit in a post that I added on my Posterous blog. Please take a look when you get a chance.

  4. Thanks for your comment. I have visited your blog and found that you do not have the search widget activated and do not have the Recent Posts widget activated either. I think these are useful tools for readers to use to access your posts. I wanted to use them myself but couldn’t find them and that’s why I’m mentioning this to you.

  5. timethief,

    I have been using FriendFeed for a few months now and I agree that it’s a great tool. The latest post on my blog discusses the use of FF for lifestreaming (online social network sharing). FF also allows you to join groups, which is another nice feature.

    Thanks for sharing the video. I follow Garin on Twitter and now I know to follow him on FF also.

    @ileane

  6. Never heard of this- i’m about to check it out. I still haven’t even gotten the hang of facebook. It’s confusing because as soon as you get used to one social networking site, another one pops up and everyone migrates there.

    1. I’ve yet to tackle Facebook. I had an account ages ago but deleted it due to privacy issues. I’m considering setting up a fan page but that’s in the future.

Comments are closed.