Six free comment tracking services for bloggers

berryIf you have ever posted comments or questions on blogs or websites and then forgot to bookmark them, then you may be happy to learn that there are free blogging tools and services  that will do the remembering for you.  This post will introduce you to some of free comment tracking tools and services you can use so you will never miss another response.

We all have the ability to track our comments made in response to the those we receive on our own blogs from our Admin panels. Some blogs like wordpress.com blogs and self hosted wordpress.org blogs also offer the ability to subscribe to comments via RSS feeds.  But, did you know that there are several free comment tracking services available for your use?

(1) Update this service has been removed.

(2) BoardTracker

This free service helps you locate and track comments made on issues posted to forums and discussion boards.  You type in your search terms and click enter. You register for a a free account and there are a number of other tools available to you that can be used for tracking.  The search results can be delivered by RSS feed.

(3) CoComment

This is a free service for managing, powering and tracking conversations online. When using it, you can keep track of your comments across any site, share them with friends, and be notified when you get a response. If you’re blogger or site owner, you can integrate  the service to power or track your conversations across the internet.
There is a Firefox extension for cocomment too, and you can get a free cocomment: your conversations widget from widgetbox for your blogspot or self hosted wordpress blog as well.

(4) Commentful

This is yet another free service that tracks comments/follow-ups on blog posts, Digg submissions, Flickr galleries, and many other types of content. When ever there is an update,  a new follow-up, you will be notified instantly. To use it, either login to blogflux or register.

(5) Google Alerts

Google Alerts are email updates of the latest relevant Google results (web, news, etc.) based on your choice of query or topic. Some handy uses of Google Alerts include:

  • monitoring a developing news story
  • keeping current on a competitor or industry
  • getting the latest on a celebrity or event
  • keeping tabs on your favorite sports teams
  • comment tracking

The default setting for Google Alerts is set at “comprehensive,” and will include search results gained from blogs, web sites,  news outlets and Google groups. When you set up your Alerts you also specify  the e-mail address  and the frequency of searches.

(6) Twitter Search

If you tweet (who doesn’t these days?),  then twittersearch allows you to search terms and subscribe to the RSS feed for the search results. There are also additional free services such as Twilert, that will deliver search results and updates by e-mail that help you track comments and online conversations.

Reference: The 5 Best Ways to Track Your Comments on the Web

If my readers know of other free comment tracking services, please feel free to post a comment with a link to the service you recommend.

22 thoughts on “Six free comment tracking services for bloggers

    1. @Lola
      Setting up a Google alert for your own username and/or your blog means you will receive a report of every place in the web where that term or those terms are used. Using one of the comment tracking services will allow you to track every comment you have left regardless of where you left it.

  1. I think this would be a great tool. WordPress keeps tabs on all the ones I leave on WP blogs but I’ve been trying to increase traffic by leaving comments on other blogs as well. Thanks for the information. By the way, I hate leaving comments on Blogger. They make you jump through so many hoops. It’s almost like they don’t want you to leave a comment.

  2. Backtype and Board Tracker look promising.

    However, for me, best friend is the “Notify me of follow-up comments via email” option! At some times, it can be messy to have so many update notifications but otherwise, it is best method to track comments.

    1. When it comes to the “Notify me of follow-up comments via email” option as it creates a huge email burden, I don’t consider it to be the best option for me. I only use it when I have posed a question and I’m awaiting an answer to it. Something that truly annoys me is receiving auto-generated comments by email thanking me for my comment. Yet, I know some bloggers rely on the receipt of the same as a means of tracking comments. IMO CoComment is the better way to go.

      1. I agree with timethief on the email burden thing! I am giving another try to Cocomment [I have used it before briefly].

        P.S.: Why not make the t in timethief capital T?!

        1. @Vikas
          Please let me know what your experience of using CoComment is like. When I used it I found it to be very good.

          P.S. I don’t bother to capitalize the first letter of my username as search engines don’t discriminate, and as it’s only a “handle”.

      2. Well, it’s really annoying when someone uses a auto plugin to send mails. It becomes funny when bloggers make every possible attempt to make this automatic mail look like a human written one. When I got my first one, it was “I was checking your comments and found that….”, almost like a real one.

        But the end is always same, “please do not this or that”!

  3. Great info TT. I was surprised when I had found that BackType indexes comments suo moto [and you can later claim it]. I use Google Alerts profusely for various purposes.

    P.S.: I can’t believe you are using the Feedjit widget! :o

    1. Backtype provides a comprehensive service that’s very useful. I also use Google Alerts as it’s important for reputation management purposes to know what is being said about your site, who is saying it, and where they are saying it.

      P.S. I’m trying out the feedjit widget on an experimental basis for a 24 hour period. ;)

      1. I see the experiment has ended and it is a happy ending! :)

        p.s.: Your comment on my blog had gone to spam queue! I luckily spotted it! I think hosting is a poison word these days!

Comments are closed.