Buddy Press demo site

In his March 4th, 2008 blog post, Matt Mullenweg of WordPress announced Automattic was backing “Buddypress,” that Andy Peatling has joined Automattic full-time and further stated:

It’s clear that the future is social. Connections are key. WordPress MU is a platform which has shown itself to be able to operate at Internet-scale and with BuddyPress we can make it friendlier. Someday, perhaps, the world will have a truly Free and Open Source alternative to the walled gardens and open-only-in-API platforms that currently dominate our social landscape.

For an update on what’s happening with the development  you can check the Buddy Press forum.

I found this quote today when I was out blog hopping:

What is BuddyPress?

If you thought about it as a kind of publishing tool for buddies to share  discussions about things of common interest amongst themselves, you may not be totally off target, because the aim of Andy Peatling and his buddies was just that – to put the power of user generated social media within the reach of literally anybody, no matter the level of their knowledge about the internet or of IT.

What I like about it is above all – its simplicity. If you can read and write – you can create your social network in a flash – Why? Because it is coded in a “what you see is what you get” format. For those of you who do not yet have a BuddyPress account –

go here and try it out here – its  free.360wellnessguy, Topranked Wellness Sites, Dec 2008

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: seed the vine :: reddit :: furl :: TailRank

12 thoughts on “Buddy Press demo site

  1. Hi,
    Yes, I agree that it is not direct feedback to BuddyPress, and thank you for your comments and suggestion/link. The point that I was trying to make was that in all the praise for such software, no one seems to be saying that it is a difficult process to engage in. In the quote above it is spoken of in terms of how ‘wonderful’ it is, and of course it is to some extent, but the statement that it can “put the power of user generated social media within the reach of literally anybody, no matter the level of their knowledge about the internet or of IT”, I believe is quite misleading and needed addressing. So, rather than just complain, I was hoping to encourage those who understand such issues to maybe share their solutions via video tutorials (similar to VideoPress). That is all.

  2. I have just downloaded and installed BuddyPress on my WordPress.org site, but could not get it to work. I see a lot of references to how ‘easy’ it is to set up WP and BP, but they are not always that easy. I also have a WP.com blog, which indeed is easy to set up and use, but is very limited in what it offers. Hopefully, this will improve in the future. I would encourage those who can do these set-ups to use the popular medium of video to record the processes involved and to post them online so beginners like myself can more easily understand how to set up these wonderful pieces of software. There is a great need for such training and whomever gets such a site up and running will have quite a following!

    1. Are you aware that BuddyPress was conceived to add social networking features to a WordPress MU powered site. WordPress MU, or multi-user, is designed to running hundreds of thousands of blogs with a single install of WordPress. It is most famously used for WordPress.com where it serves tens of millions of hits on millions of blogs each day. Also I don’t think you comment here will in any way qualify as direct feedback to buddypress and I don’t understand why you didn’t post there instead. http://buddypress.org/support/topics/

  3. In this site I am aiming to speak directly and simply to beginning bloggers and to advanced bloggers as well. Wherever possible I try to keep my writing very simple and brief. If you look in the footer of this blog you will find “Popular Posts”. May I suggest that you check out the How to Become a Better Blogger series?

    Best wishes :)

  4. Yes timethief, they mostly visit Lorelle which is because WP has a link in support to Lorelle.

    From this moment onwards, I assure you that whenever I will leave a reply in any forum, I leave a link to your site and will suggest people to visit this blog.

    Lorelle is very exhaustive and I am often lost in the maze! This site is more direct and more useful.

    All the best to you and this endeavour!

    Vikas, New Delhi.

  5. Hi there,
    Yes I do answer questions in the wp.com forum but no I have never been an employee. I’m so happy to hear that you like my blog. Thanks for letting me know that. :)

    P.S. I also read Lorelle’s blog. I suspect most wordpress bloggers do. :)

  6. I am glad to discover you! I have seen you in WP forums and I used to think you are a WP employee always helping others!

    This is indeed one cool site! I never looked beyond Lorelle! Alas!

    Thanks a ton!

  7. I love the idea of BuddyPress, and am enthusiastically looking into it for a major project in the near future. I just need to get better at it.

    I teach blogging and social media to the marginalized for empowerment, and BuddyPress looks to be the kind of compelling (what we used to call ‘sticky’) tool that will give users an emotional reward for engaging with it. This is exactly what I need for this project.

    Also: Andy is a great guy!

Comments are closed.