Thanksgiving08: A Time for Gratitude

Thanksgiving has come and gone. Then I was and now I continue to be grateful:

  • to be alive and to be healthy enough to heal from my head injury, hopefully, without any residual brain damage;
  • to have the companionship, support and love of family, friends in my everyday life offline and online too;
  • to have pets who love me;
  • to have a home of my own and the ability to make enough income to keep it in good repair;
  • to have good quality foods to eat and clothes to wear;
  • to make enough money to pay my bills without going into debt;
  • to be free of religion and superstition, and able to meditate and experience my true nature;
  • to be able to be a friend to myself and others;
  • to be able to set goals and achieve them;
  • to be able to learn new skills every day;
  • to live in a beautiful environment;
  • to live in a community full of self reliant, positively focused and compassionate neighbors;
  • to be able to enjoy the days of my life fully.
give-thanks
give-thanks

Health Update
My body is healing. The muscle tearing has been replaced new muscle tissue. The vertebrae in my neck are now back in place and wearing a neck collar helps to provide some support. However, I’m not wearing it so often as to become dependent on it.

My brain is healing. The swelling has been greatly reduced and the pressure on my optical nerve has subsided. I still wear an eye patch when I experience symptoms and that helps me avoid getting eyestrain.

I still have problems with being able to concentrate and focus without provoking migraines. But I’m optimistic. I’m looking forward to a full recovery.

Gratitude for guest authors

Thanks for the support you gave me by becoming guest authors and writing terrific post for my readers during my healing process. I appreciate your kindness and generosity very much.

Ten Causes of Social Media Meltdown by Doc Nicole Sundene
Writers Block Exists No More by MeghnaK
Why having a well designed blog is important by Glen L Graham II
Synergy: The human side of Blogging by SBA
The importance of mutual friends on Digg by Benny Greenberg
Music in WordPress.com using goear and deezer by Roads
Google Chrome: not shiny yet by Richard
New settings for Media at wordpress.com by Richard
Avoiding the “more tag” woes by Richard
Adding scroll bars to text widgets by Richard
WordPress 2.7: What could it mean for WordPress.com bloggers by Richard
Post revisions feature at WordPress.com by Richard
SEO isn’t rocket science by voodookobra

Special thanks for his personal support to Teck, who has published 3 very useful posts for bloggers here:
Few Tips On How To Make A Successful Blog
Top 6 Ways To Get Your Blog Noticed Fast On The Interweb:
How To Lock In A Potential Audience

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: seed the vine :: reddit :: furl :: TailRank

16 thoughts on “Thanksgiving08: A Time for Gratitude

  1. @SBA
    Thanks so much for your understanding and for your support. You are correct. I must respond to this accident by loving and caring for myself ie. I must be my own best friend or I will not have what it takes to be a friend to others.
    Be well and happy :)

  2. @Bunka
    If you look in my footer at Popular Posts and find the How to Become a Better Blogger series you will find that those posts, as well as, many other posts in this blog do contain lots of useful information for all bloggers, regardless of which blogging software they use. :)

    Here are two more examples of posts with information that is not specific to wordpress bloggers but applies to all of us:
    Understanding Backlinks
    Understanding Reciprocal and Non-Reciprocal Links

  3. You are truly ‘blessed’ in every sense of the word. Not many people who’ve gone thru your recent woes take time to be thankful and in so doing include everyone around them. “to be able to be a friend to myself and others” – you have to first love yourself before you’re secure enough to share. Althought easily mistaken, this is very different from ‘ego.’ Continue to get well. I won’t bother to tell you to ‘take it easy’…again. lol

  4. Thanks for all great posts…I learn a lot…ok i am on blogspot, but maybe i will migrate to wordpress someday. :)
    This thanks is REALLY: THANK YOU VERY VERY MUCH! :)

  5. Thank you Time thief, for the special thanks & link love
    I’m happy to here your recovery is moving along with
    minimum complications. :)

  6. @Jennifer
    Thanks so much for clicking through and commenting. I really appreciate it. It’s been a long 3 months and there are many more months to go. I’m trying to remain positively focused on what I can do, rather than focusing on what I can’t do and feeling bad about it.
    Love & peace

    P.S. Thanks for the blog compliment. Believe it or not another blogger decried my use of this theme.

  7. timethief, just want you to know that I think about you and your recovery often. I hope everything remains positive.

  8. I’m so glad to hear that your body and brain are healing. It’s been quite a long haul.

    Things are looking good around here and in your other blog (it’s been a while since I’ve been here in person). Very crisp and clean.

    Take care, timethief.

Comments are closed.