How to get your gravatar

Image representing Automattic as depicted in C...
Image via CrunchBase

Automattic Inc. is the company that has wordpress.com as a project and it also owns Gravatar.  A gravatar, or globally recognized avatar, is quite simply an avatar image that follows you from weblog to weblog appearing beside your name when you comment on gravatar enabled sites (for example, on wordpress sites and sites with Haloscan).

I registered mine long ago and it appears on the comments in make in this blogging tips blog and in my personal development blog,  and in comments I make on other gravatar enabled blogs.

Registering a gravatar costs nothing. It’s connected with the email address you use to register. You will receive a confirmation email including a link that will activate your account and allow you to set your password. To register a gravatar the image submitted must be 128 pixels by 128 pixels in size.  When displayed it will be 80 x 80 pixels in size. Then when you input your email address and username on a gravatar enabled blog your little gravatar appears along with your comment.

Plugins are available from Gravatar for leading weblog software and there are tutorials as well. If you are comfortable editing theme files take note of Connor Wilson’s tutorial on how to setup Gravatars on your WordPress blog without the use of a plugin.

To request a gravatar from the servers, you simply add an image to your comments area with an “src” attribute that points to our gravatar image generator and includes an MD5 hash of the commenter’s email address. Since all gravatars are rated with an MPAA style rating, you can restrict your site to show only gravatars whose content you are comfortable with.

So what’s stopping you? Get your gravatar now.

Related posts found in this blog:
Gravatars included in upcoming WordPress release
Got your gravatar yet?
MyWord or FacePress?

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: seed the vine :: reddit :: furl :: TailRank

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

4 thoughts on “How to get your gravatar

  1. I’ve been trying to make my logo appear as my gravatar but it just doesn’t show. I’ve already uploaded it to Gravatar, but I still always see this default graphic. Please help. Thanks.

    1. This is not an instant process. It takes time for a new gravatar image to appear as it must propgate throughout the internet. Provided you have followed the best practices I have posted above and you have no issues related to those found in the FAQs it will appear in a few days. If it doesn’t then use the gravatar contact link.

  2. Just the info I was looking for so that I can have an avatar on WordPress blogs. I always wondered how you did that and now I know. Off to see if I can register my little brown bag avatar like I have for Blogger. Thanks TT,
    Cindy

Comments are closed.