Google Chrome: A New Browser for Windows

google chrome
google chrome

Today my Blog Catalog friend, sayzlim notified me that Google has released it’s new browser Google chrome and that he loves it. I’m interested in hearing feedback with regard to how it works with wordpress so please feel free to share your feedback.

Google Chrome (BETA) for Windows

Google Chrome is a browser that combines a minimal design with sophisticated technology to make the web faster, safer, and easier.

Features:

One box for everything
Type in the address bar and get suggestions for both search and web pages.

Thumbnails of your top sites
Access your favorite pages instantly with lightning speed from any new tab.

Shortcuts for your apps
Get desktop shortcuts to launch your favorite web applications. Learn about Google Chrome »

Google Chrome is a browser that combines a minimal design with sophisticated technology to make the web faster, safer, and easier. Read about why we built a browser.

See also the youtube video: 10 features of Google Chrome

Realted post found in this blog: Google Chrome: not shiny yet

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: seed the vine :: reddit :: furl :: TailRank

18 thoughts on “Google Chrome: A New Browser for Windows

  1. Frankly I don’t believe that they will. It will take an awful lot to get Firefox users to switch and these days most are savvy enough to use more than one browser. Gone are the days when foolish folks swore allegiance to a tool – a browser is just a tool. It makes sense to load more than one and to use the one that’s best suited to the specific job you are doing.

  2. Thanks for the feedback. I’m not a chrome fan at this point. When it’s stable and it has all the addons that I use on firefox now I may choose to install it again.

  3. @sanjay, If you installed Chrome, uninstall it and then try installing it again, but this time, when the page with the license agreement comes up, deselect the box to the left of the line that says, “Optional: Help make Chrome better by automatically sending usage statistics and crash reports to Google.” That is what spy sweeper is getting caught up on. Teck verified this in a comment on a later post on Chrome on this site.

  4. Ender, a friend at Blog Cataolg has discovered a hole for malware. It does not warn b4 downloading .exe
    http://bit.ly/2uFJWF
    It’s mind boggling. How the heck did Google even go beta with that as a security hole? I have uninstalled Chrome and I’m scanning (bleaching) my PC.

  5. Chrome is aimed to have an advertising component, according to what I have read. It’s hanging for me every now and then and it has problems on some flash sites. I will also be scanning the heck out of my pc today.

  6. I’ll have to scan my PC laptop after I uninstall it. If you think about it though, Chrome could very well be another vehicle for ads, since that is becoming a large part of who Google is. The browser and the search engine are simply channels for ads.

    I’ll stick with FF and Safari.

  7. Thanks for the update TT, I will be
    on the look out for Richards report…
    Also did you notice we have a new theme.
    here is the article link Albeo Theme Launch
    Teck

    Hi Teck,
    I switched to the new theme. At first I could not get the search box and categories that automatically displayed as default to budge. Then miraculously the servers must have caught up (caching) and this seems to be a problem that has now been solved.

  8. Hi Teck,
    I downloaded Chrome and was not as impressed as others seem to be. I did not encounter the problem you did though. Richard is torture testing Chrome with wordpress and will post his report tomorrow.

  9. I went to download the Google Chrome Browser to try it out before I blogged
    about it to get a better understanding from it. And I ran into problems right
    at the beginning of downloading the browser…

    I scanned the file and it came back clean so I started the download process…
    And I got this message that my spy sweeper found a harmful program in the download
    files… so I check it out and it was a 4 bar rating…

    What spy sweeper found was Adware that displays pop up ads on your desktop and
    and browser which can slow down your computer…

    P.s. I did download the browser from there official download page…

    Here is a screen shot for proof…

    Teck

Comments are closed.