What to do about copyright

I’d like to say a warm thank you to all those bloggers from both wordpress.com and wordpress.org who keep hitting on this forum post and coming to my blog looking for information.

Update: Not all of the sites linked to in that forum post are still online.

Related Post – What is copyright?

If you have downloaded a blog template from wordpress.org then you can use these plugins:

  • Angsuman’s Feed Copyrighter
    Inserts copyright message in Feeds. The message is of the standard format (can be customized): Copyright © 2007 YOUR BLOG NAME. This Feed is for personal non-commercial use only. If you are not reading this material in your news aggregator, the site you are looking at is guilty of copyright infringement. Please contact legal@BLOG_ADDRESS so we can take legal action immediately. By Angsuman Chakraborty.

If you are a wordpress.com blogger then you cannot use the rss feed plugins listed above. Your choices are limited to posting the following notices:

  • Creative Commons licenses provide a flexible range of protections and freedoms for authors, artists, and educators.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

  • iCopyright – “This is a great opportunity for those who like Creative Commons-style licensing but have not found the exact terms to suit them to easily make their content available for limited reuse.” — Jonathan Bailey in Creating a Custom License.
  • Defend your rights online, fight against online plagiarism and content theft. Copyscape finds sites that have copied your content without permission, …

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape Search for copies of your page on the web.

References:  text widget

 

8 thoughts on “What to do about copyright

    1. Hi there,
      Thanks. That post dates back to 2007 and so does the forum thread I linked to. Not all of the sites mentioned are still online and I edited in that sentence. I suggest you use creative commons instead.

      1. Currently using Copyscape but going to review Creative Commons again. In truth, my mind turns to mush trying to sort out the different options. sad. thank you for the suggestion. :)

  1. Hello again :)
    would you suggest signing up for iCopyright and in addition to MyFreeCopyright? I was wondering what legally would put me in a better situation, in case if ever comes to a court case. My thinking is that with iCopyright I am registered, but My work is not associated with me unless I add the copyright line to it. So in return, couldn’t just anyone take my works, add them to his/her blog, adding his own copyright mark to it? Furthermore what I was wondering is, I used to go by the ‘poor man’s copyright’, just sending my own works to my own email so I have time and date stamp on them. So would it be better to keep going by that or would you consider MFC the better alternative?
    Tanks a lot in advance! I hope I am not too much of a hassle with keeping to nag you about this sort of stuff xD

Comments are closed.